We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great hotel! Highly recommended”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the best hotel experiences in recent memory. The staff is excellent and is probably the best part of the hotel. I'm an American, and I'm fairly certain that their English is at least as good as mine. There are lots of nice and unexpected personal touches that you'll notice that show that they really want you to remember their hotel and come back in the future.

Pricing is very competitive for a hotel as nice as this. I paid roughly $125 a night for two nights and was treated like I was their only customer.

The location is probably not what some people would call ideal, but you could certainly do a lot worse. You can be in Old Town Prague (one of the best city sections in Europe) in 10 minutes by public transportation or 20 minutes by walking down the scenic Vltava River. Unless you have difficulty walking that distance or are uncomfortable trying to figure out the public transportation system (or if you want to get hammered at a bar and drunkenly stumble back to your hotel room), then the location is great.

A/C and wifi. I think many Americans expect those now since most chains in the US offer them, but those niceties are not as common in Prague hotels. Just because a place says it's got WiFi doesn't mean its very good. And just because a place says it has a/c might just mean that the lobby has a/c and not the rooms. Hotel General has excellent free WiFi and air conditioned rooms.

If you're going to Prague and you're not physically unable to walk for 20 minutes and want a very nice room for not a lot of money, I can't recommend Hotel General enough.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms, while still nice, are a little small. Spring for the extra $20 and get a queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aardvark404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Aardvark404,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking some time to post this warm and detailed review on our hotel and it's services.
It gives us joy to see that you have found our services to meet your requirements and that you had a lovely stay with us,
We thank you for all points that you have mentioned in our hotel and hope to welcome you back at the General in the future.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We checked in late and we're greeted at the door by name. We got a welcome drink and a free upgrade to a suite for our stay!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone was very polite and explained everything we needed to get around the city and attractions.

Breakfast was included and man was it a great breakfast!!

Location is a quiet area a block from the river and a very scenic walk to Old Town. Also waking distance to all necessary amenities.

On our last night we received a thoughtful note and a complimentary bottle of wine in our room.

Will be recommending this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nicoby,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our best experience to say the least !

From the time we pulled up to the front door in a taxi in the pouring rain we were greeted with an umbrella to the front door. We were then greeted by the front desk and asked if we would like a welcome drink ... what a pleasant surprise. The service from start to finish even dined in the restaurant and found the service to extend in a very professional manner throughout the hotel. The room was very well presented and very well appointed, comfortable beds and very quiet room. The hotel is in a good location to most highlights of the city if you like a good walk or trams are nearby. Try out the Brewery nearby for dinner, only a block away ... fantastic meal and a good beer.
Again would highly recommend this hotel, the only complaint we have is that we didn't spend enough time there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mario Fiona G,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking some time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

We thank you for your kind words and send our best regards from Prague.

Hotel General team and
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here three days and we had a very pleasant time. The bedroom are quite and offers everything you need for a peaceful and invigorating stay.

Check in is fast and efficient, the staff is friendly. From the welcome drink to the check out it was a very nice experience.

Breakfast is served at the restaurant and offers a nice variety of dishes to start the day in a good way! However, I find it a bit surprising that the breakfast menu offers sparkling wine and not some sparkling water, but that's neatpicking.

Amazing stay at the Hotel General. As others users are saying in their review, it's a bit far from the old town, but nothing dramatic.

One last thing: roof windows (velux) needs a proper horizontal curtain, or the sun can get through the vertical ones...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilon13007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Machu_13007,

On the behalf of our hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
Your review is very important to us as a guidance for the further possible improvement therefore we are grateful for all the points and tips that you have mentioned in your review. I may assure you that they are given to the person responsible for the further implementations,
We thank you for your kind words once more and hope to welcome you back at the General in the future.

With warm regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

It was a bit of a last minute reservation as our originally planned hotel did not live upto our expectation. It was a real welcome change. The rooms were very nice and clean but the real standout was the service..everyone from the door man to the janitor had a great attitude. The complimentary breakfast was a really nice spread as well. The real standout though was Vicki at the reception. She was really passionate about sharing her knowledge of the city etc. The location is probably one drawback, the hotel is slightly away from the centre of action but certainly not a show stopper. I would definitely go back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Canon7D_Si,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for taking some time to post a review on our hotel and its services.
It gives us joy to see that were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us,
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General in the future.

With warm regards from Prague and the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel, lovely Room, walking distance to most of the attractions and the hotel staff was superb , the little extras added a special touch, such as the fresh flowers one day and the free bottle of wine the other...made our stay that much more enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharoud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sharoud M,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent three nights at the Hotel General last week, could not have been easier. Staff were very attentive and sorted out tours and transport, room was great. Location is a short walk from metro and trams which made the short trip into the Lower Town and Old Town very easy. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HookyMeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear HookyMeads,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for staying at the General and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
749 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing