We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way it used to be -- and still is”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #23 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The way it used to be -- and still is”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel General has perfected the balance of cordiality and correctness. They are well-staffed at the front desk and door with engaging and helpful people. Breakfast is a white-glove experience, attentive and flexible. You want soy milk? But of course! And Ibrahim is there with a little pot of it. Our rooms were a small suite with two baths, and delightfully ornate golden trim. The location is far enough from the tourist centers that you feel what life in the capital really is like, but is an easy walk, tram or subway to the center of action.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlecWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear AlecWalker,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    141
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
177
867
54
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and stay here - it is an experience in itself. The hotel is so charming and has military decorations everywhere. It's like staying in a hotel out of the late 1800's/early 1900's.

It's always so hard to choose hotels when there is so much choice in a city. But I looked at everything and of course you read the good comments as well as the bad. And have to say that these guys were extremely honest. The hotel is about 15-20 mins walk along the river to the old town. It's really a beautiful walk along the river and the buildings are amazing to look at that it's not a long walk at all. And if it's too long a walk, the metro is around the corner from the hotel and they will quickly explain how easy it is to use.

First off want to mention that they serve a delicious breakfast with white glove service. We had an amazing waiter the first morning (Ibrahim). He was so friendly and attentive and we greatly enjoyed the service.

The front desk staff were so amazing as well. I can't recall the guys name, but he was a young guy working on the front desk on the mornings of (aug 14 and 15). He honestly spent about 15 mins talking us through the map, other points of interest we were interested in and even what trams to catch. Honestly the city is not that big. Just walk it if u can. Great exercise and it's a good idea after eating Czech food (delicious but heavy).

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinaheath620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tinaheath620,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking time to post such warm and detailed review on our hotel.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services and you had a lovely and memorable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and send our best regards from all hotel team.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Prague at this wonderful hotel in early August. It is located in a quiet part of Prague approximately a 20 minute walk from the main tourist centre,this we saw as an advantage as it is away from the rowdy tourists that often congregate during the summer months. The hotel has impeccable service and is very comfortable with a lovely bathroom and bedroom to ensure a good sleep. Breakfast is very generous and the offer of an additional hot menu item for breakfast is unheard of but welcomed. We found transport services nearby to be a great way to get around Prague and on a lovely day walking is easy to do and safe also. A wonderful stay that we would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Scat0,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet (and even exceed at some points) your expectations and you had a lovely and memorable stay.
We thank you for your kind words and send our best regards.

Ringaile Radojevic & hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this property. Small hotel with 20 rooms but fantastic hotel staff .. Friendly, helpful and smiling. Wanting to go out of way and help. From the reception to bell boy to restaurant ... Well trained and consistent.

Located 5 mins to Andel station ( bus, team, metro) ; well connected and near city centre at the same time very quiet and peaceful. Easy walk to riverside too.

Recommended

Room Tip: Do not miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Niraj M,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers,
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel General has been my permanent hotel over a dozen times for the last six years.
I am visiting the city twice a year and choose the hotel with the great service and personal attention. The staff is very benevolent to arrange tickets, table reservations and personal advice about places to eat and experiences. The staff is very courteous and a maintains a consistent level of service at any time. The rooms are clean and well kept, and they have very talented maids that meets all my requirements for clean and tidy rooms, without seeing their presence. The breakfast is rich and they offer an a-la-carte menu of hot breakfast dishes like omelettes, pancakes and cereals etc. Always helpful waiters who remember your previous choices and serves a good breakfast. The hotel is outstanding and menmber of the staff like; Ibrahim, Rami, Vicky, Dasha and Mr Pavel, and ofcourse always helpful mr Honsa makes your stay hassle free and very plessant.

I am already looking forward to my next stay in May 2014, or before :-)

E. Lystad

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Esplys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear E. Lystad,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for being our frequent guest and for taking some time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to see that over the years we have become not only your natural choice in Prague and hopefully a kind of home away from home during your travels,
We thank you for your king words and look forward for your next visit.

With warmest regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great hotel and friendly staff. The rooms were clean and the service worked very well. The breakfast was good, especially the coffee.
20 min walk from the center.
shuttle from the airport was very convenient and easy way to arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dohnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear dohnoh,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Amazing hospitality by the staff. It's a boutique hotel with very few rooms but excellent accommodation fit for royalty. The beds were soft, the decor was late 19th century. Ample storage space and royal bathrooms which at the same time was homely. Breakfast was served in an atrium which again was personal. Had excellent bakery section, eggs done to personal choice and coffee served by charming staff. The ambience transports the guests to a time lived by the Generals and Royalty.
Only drawback is that it is far from city centre and once you are out, you will not be back for a rest before going out again. That can be taxing for both elderly and the children. Taxi drivers are not reliable so it can get expensive to stay in this hotel and see the city.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always good. All rooms provide nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Rita745,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking some time to post this review.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and that despise the hotel's location you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

We thank you for your king words and send you our best regards from Prague

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#25 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#27 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#5 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing