We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the reviews - you won't be disappointed”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

These days, choosing a hotel is no easy task. Of course, TA can be really helpful but you can't help feeling a little apprehensive, even when you choose somewhere with glowing reviews. Well I'm pleased to say that this hotel lived up to its reputation. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, helpful and charming. We were sat down with a welcome cup of coffee and provided with lots of information about the hotel and getting around Prague.
The hotel is located away from the main tourist areas but, in my opinion, all the better for it. It was good to get back to a quiet part of town after a long day taking in the sights. And the walk along the river is great exercise and a good way to take in the view.
Our room was excellent. Comfortable, a good size, with a great shower and some nice touches - a free safe, bottled water and the use of a gown and slippers! The only tiny fault with our room was the lack of a view but that really didn't detract from the experience.
A really good breakfast. The usual selection of buffet food supplemented with a choice from the cooked menu - for example, scrambled eggs, omelettes, that sort of thing. All delivered with friendly white-gloved staff. Ibrahim was particularly helpful and welcoming.
I would highly recommend this hotel. We found a good deal with e-bookers so if you shop around you can enjoy a bit of 5 star comfort at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tommo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear tommo46,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us joy to see that our hotel had lived up to the reviews and your expectations and you were not only satisfied with your choice but also had a lovely and memorable stay with us.
We thank you once more for review and and hope to welcome you back at the General during your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

First off, as shown in the title we were very pleased with our stay at Hotel General. Well trained, well mannered staff who stand on your entrance into reception ready to help should you need it. You will never feel you have to await the end of a conversation between staff members to ask for help here.

At check-in, we had welcome drinks and Dasha had a very informative conversation with us regards the sights, public transport, restaurants etc. marking clearly on a map she supplied to us.

The room was very comfortable and well decorated.

The breakfast was very nice, with the hot plate selection of bacon, sausage, egg. Cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and a menu selection of pancakes, omelettes, scrambled eggs with choices of topping/filling. Even a bottle of Champers on the breakfast bar if that floats your boat in a morning. All included in the room price.

The cellar wine bar is comfortable and cosy at the end of an evening with reasonable hotel pricing comparable to tourist area cafe prices.

This isn't a large hotel, only 20 rooms so don't expect a gym, but do expect a more personal service. There is a sauna which we had every intention of using, but never got round to it.

Good WiFi throughout all floors with multiple SSid indicating repeaters throughout with decent enough speed to enable daily Skype video calls.

It is in Prague 5, so a distance to any of the attractions, but my wife and I still didn't bother with public transport or taxi once during our stay. A nice walk up the river to Charles bridge/lesser town of 20-25 mins. We reached the top of the hill and castle in an hour including sauntering through the streets doing this journey twice in one day, returning to eat in the evening. Wenceslas Square (25 mins) and the old town (other side of Charles bridge) were also walked to/around. If you don't mind a walk, taking in the sights distance is not a problem. Either walk the river, or walk 1 block away onto a high street, turn right and follow it all the way to the Lesser town. Of course the tram stops nearby if walking isn't for you though, just remember to validate your ticket! (Buying a 1 or 3 day ticket doesn't mean it's valid on purchase, you can leave in your pocket for days before starting to use but you must validate in a machine to use it or risk a fine, explained by Dasha - but I did hear some stories of people caught out particularly using the funicular railway up the hill)

In fact we saw more by foot in equivalent time than when on a boat trip (Jazz Boat hour cruise) which went incredibly slow and only passed 3 bridges at slower than walking pace (I actually found it annoyingly slow and it felt like they were killing time to stay near the mooring and still only managed to stretch it to 50mins! Try a different boat or a longer cruise, every other boat overtook us.)

Around the corner is the Admiral Botel 3*, I would say staying here isn't for us (party boats passing nearby and no air conditioning), but don't be put off by the gaudy exterior, the covered outdoor deck restaurant is a lovely place to catch an evening meal or just a few drinks returning from an evening out.

Jazz Dock just up the river on the same side proved to be a good choice for another evening with live jazz/blues music and food, again reasonable with entrance/cover, 2x main courses, a bottle of wine and a couple cocktails adding up to about 1400 (at present roughly £42). You may need to book though depending on the act that evening.

We would return to Hotel General again, very nice, comfortable, helpful and I consider reasonable being a little further from the centre.

On another note, the weather can be changeable in our short experience, take a light weight rain jacket even if setting off in shorts/T-shirt (unless you are clearly in a heatwave!), or take the umbrella supplied in your room or available in reception.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Stuart C,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General for yur stay and for taking time to post this warm and detailed review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a lovely and memorable stay with us.
Once more we would like to thank you for your kind words on our hotel, it's services and our team and invite you to visit us once more whenever your travels will bring you back to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel General has perfected the balance of cordiality and correctness. They are well-staffed at the front desk and door with engaging and helpful people. Breakfast is a white-glove experience, attentive and flexible. You want soy milk? But of course! And Ibrahim is there with a little pot of it. Our rooms were a small suite with two baths, and delightfully ornate golden trim. The location is far enough from the tourist centers that you feel what life in the capital really is like, but is an easy walk, tram or subway to the center of action.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlecWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear AlecWalker,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and stay here - it is an experience in itself. The hotel is so charming and has military decorations everywhere. It's like staying in a hotel out of the late 1800's/early 1900's.

It's always so hard to choose hotels when there is so much choice in a city. But I looked at everything and of course you read the good comments as well as the bad. And have to say that these guys were extremely honest. The hotel is about 15-20 mins walk along the river to the old town. It's really a beautiful walk along the river and the buildings are amazing to look at that it's not a long walk at all. And if it's too long a walk, the metro is around the corner from the hotel and they will quickly explain how easy it is to use.

First off want to mention that they serve a delicious breakfast with white glove service. We had an amazing waiter the first morning (Ibrahim). He was so friendly and attentive and we greatly enjoyed the service.

The front desk staff were so amazing as well. I can't recall the guys name, but he was a young guy working on the front desk on the mornings of (aug 14 and 15). He honestly spent about 15 mins talking us through the map, other points of interest we were interested in and even what trams to catch. Honestly the city is not that big. Just walk it if u can. Great exercise and it's a good idea after eating Czech food (delicious but heavy).

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tinaheath620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Tinaheath620,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking time to post such warm and detailed review on our hotel.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services and you had a lovely and memorable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and send our best regards from all hotel team.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in Prague at this wonderful hotel in early August. It is located in a quiet part of Prague approximately a 20 minute walk from the main tourist centre,this we saw as an advantage as it is away from the rowdy tourists that often congregate during the summer months. The hotel has impeccable service and is very comfortable with a lovely bathroom and bedroom to ensure a good sleep. Breakfast is very generous and the offer of an additional hot menu item for breakfast is unheard of but welcomed. We found transport services nearby to be a great way to get around Prague and on a lovely day walking is easy to do and safe also. A wonderful stay that we would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TripMember072520171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Scat0,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet (and even exceed at some points) your expectations and you had a lovely and memorable stay.
We thank you for your kind words and send our best regards.

Ringaile Radojevic & hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this property. Small hotel with 20 rooms but fantastic hotel staff .. Friendly, helpful and smiling. Wanting to go out of way and help. From the reception to bell boy to restaurant ... Well trained and consistent.

Located 5 mins to Andel station ( bus, team, metro) ; well connected and near city centre at the same time very quiet and peaceful. Easy walk to riverside too.

Recommended

Room Tip: Do not miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Niraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Niraj M,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers,
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel General has been my permanent hotel over a dozen times for the last six years.
I am visiting the city twice a year and choose the hotel with the great service and personal attention. The staff is very benevolent to arrange tickets, table reservations and personal advice about places to eat and experiences. The staff is very courteous and a maintains a consistent level of service at any time. The rooms are clean and well kept, and they have very talented maids that meets all my requirements for clean and tidy rooms, without seeing their presence. The breakfast is rich and they offer an a-la-carte menu of hot breakfast dishes like omelettes, pancakes and cereals etc. Always helpful waiters who remember your previous choices and serves a good breakfast. The hotel is outstanding and menmber of the staff like; Ibrahim, Rami, Vicky, Dasha and Mr Pavel, and ofcourse always helpful mr Honsa makes your stay hassle free and very plessant.

I am already looking forward to my next stay in May 2014, or before :-)

E. Lystad

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Esplys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear E. Lystad,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for being our frequent guest and for taking some time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to see that over the years we have become not only your natural choice in Prague and hopefully a kind of home away from home during your travels,
We thank you for your king words and look forward for your next visit.

With warmest regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
716 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 647 in Prague
1,054 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 647 in Prague
779 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £73 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing