We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“solo African American female traveler in prague- hotel general”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“solo African American female traveler in prague- hotel general”
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Hotel General is very cozy, clean and what it lacks in extravagence it makes up for in service. The staff is really helpful and friendly. They speak enough English and are very accomodating. I booked a single room and when I checked in, was upgraded to a double. Very nice, and much more than what I expected. Toiletries are plenty, including a toothbrush and toothpaste in case you forget it. They also provide free slippers and robes to borrow. BTW no bed bugs!!! best reason to stay here!

The resteraunt in the hotel is just okay and is over priced. Last night i ate there and tonight i walked ten minutes to the supermarket. Picked up some salad stuff and fruit since I am finding it hard to find elsewhere.

The hotel is in a quiet and somewhat sketchy looking suburb but dont let that deter you from staying here. It is fine and I haven't been bothered or harrassed at all. The hotel also has a lap top for use. I am using it now in my room. All in all a good experience.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nosenseofdirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    141
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
177
867
54
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Super nice hotel! Excellent, very friendly and helpful staff I'am coming back soon:)

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank narciswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Not only did they assist as as soon as we got there with our things, but also gave as a very interesting briefing about prague, how to get everywhere, gave us lot of brocheurs (did not try to sell us anyhing!).
Very warm and helpfull people. The room is definitly a royal-style suite. Incredible services on the rooms, from massage in the shower to highspeed internet in everyroom! free and 24/7. Definitly, if you go to Prague, THIS IS THE HOTEL. True story.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naro818
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I recently visited Hotel General together with my wife to celebrate her birthday. I got the best recommendations from my friends about the hotel and all of our expectations were really surpassed. Just the interior design and architecture in itself was worth it.
We got a huge beautiful Deluxe room, had a romantic dinner in fine dining restaurant and had a drink in beautifully ordaned bar. The service was just perfect during our stay.
I would recommend the Hotel General in Prague 100%. Truly a first class experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naro818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

It was a nice clean hotel that had a very friendly service. The best hotel I have stayed in. the hotel was very elegant and the rooms very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was included and to our surprise it was very good with various choices. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathy1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Excellent place to stay with extremely professional, and friendly environment. Unbelievably clean and unbeatable service with friendly staff. Without a doubt, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I was blown away by Hotel General. The decor was beautiful, service was expectional and the hotel was clean down to every square inch. The staff treated my husband and I like family and also spoke multilanuages including English, which is a major advantage when traveling abroad. The rooms were very cozy and inviting, and accomodated to my ever need. I will be visiting here again the next time I visit Prague and I highly recomend Hotel General to anyone planning a trip to Prague.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroLover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#5 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing