We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They earn and deserve their stars.”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They earn and deserve their stars.”
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We enjoyed everything about Hotel General. Welcome is personal and warm. They take time to acquaint you with the city before you tour. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Beds are made in the morning and turned down at night while you're out for dinner. We enjoyed breakfast, ate one gourmet dinner in the hotel (they feature two unique dishes a week at a very fair price). Bathrooms are up to date and everything in function and clean, including fast and strong hot water for shower. Iron and board were brought to room in a matter of moments. We like to walk, and all major attractions in Prague are at least a 20 minute walk from this hotel, which is in Smichov, Prague 5, a few bridges away from the Charles Bridge. However, a tram stops 2 blocks away, and the subway's at the same distance near a large, nearby, new shopping center. If you don't mind moving your luggage yourself, from the airport take the 100 bus to Zlicin metro stop, and metro to Andel, walk a couple blocks down toward the river, and you're there from the airport for about $1.50! You'll have both LAN and WLAN internet to choose from, and a world of TV stations from satellite (but little from N.A.) This boutique hotel, with 20 rooms, each named after a different general, will make your stay in Prague particularly relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stourbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Having read lots of reviews for hotels in Prague, I finally chose the Hotel General due its 5* rating and what appeared to be attention to their clients. I was not disappointed. Having elected for the hotel limo to collect the wife and myself, we were met in reception by name. Having checked in, the receptionist took the time to explain the local attractions, and methods of getting there. The room was excellent, and particularly clean, and throughout the stay, the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2009

great hotel, exceptional service, nice atmosphere, fabulous food, I will recomend this to everyone

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnaeadreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

From the moment we arrived we were looked after perfectly by the staff. We were celebrating our friends' 40th anniversary and it was their first visit to Prague. The Hotel General is spotless and service is second to none. We couldn't fault this lovely hotel. Even the weather was brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfersStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

A perfect base-camp for our romantic weekend. The great standard and freshness together with the familiar feeling in this not-too-big-hotel, is perfect if you are looking for a romantic place to stay (or a representative stay for business for that matter).
The classy lobby has a really cool desk with a big beautiful salt-water aquarium built in. The rooms have in a way a classic hotel interior, but with a great finish, and all staff are really doing their best to make you feel welcome and comforatble. Really charming.
The restaurant is good from what we heard, but we preferred having our meals at different places around the city. I have to recommend the 10 minute morning-walk to Savoy for the best breakfast.
/M

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martini13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltham
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Excellent hotel with very professional customer service! Will advise to visit this great hotel in any occasions…..

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tananger
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We have in Prague for tree times this year , and we stay at Hotel General and been supriesed for a fantastic service all the people working atn the hotel show us.we will only use Hotel General for our next stau in Prague next year.
Best Regard
Gunnar Herringbotn
Heidi Herringbotn

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
749 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing