We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If in Prague, then definitely Hotel General!”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Though it wasn't my first visit to Prague, but it was the first time that I stayed in Hotel General. I stayed there for 3 days together with my husband, and the aim of our stay was to relax away from the crowded Moscow, and to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary! From the very first step that we entered, we were met by warm greetings, helpful staff and warm atmosphere. Then we were directed to our room which was a very cozy, comfortable, well-equipped and modern designed room, with first-needed appliances (hair dryer, clock radio, coffe/tea maker, iron, high speed internet, Tv vith various channels). They also had a room service, which I liked the most, because we could stay in our rooms and enjoy the delicious food that they served. The breakfast was awesome, tasty food and polite service. The rooms were cleaned every day, and the hotel in general was very clean and neat. I enjoyed my stay there, and whenever I go to Prague again, I definitely know where to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samanta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. The staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly and marked up a map with places of specific interest to us. The glass of complimentray champagne was well received too! Stayed in the Wellington Suite which was comfortable but the bed was two twins pushed together and not a double which was a shame. The room itself was rather small and with no drawers, although there was plenty of shelving in the wardrobe.

On the second evening we were due for a meal and when i rang reception at 7pm to ask for an iron and ironing board. This is a particular bug bear of mine, any hotel that is classed as a 5 star should have in room ironing facilities. I was told that housekeeping had left for the day and had locked away all the irons etc. I find this hard to understand and was not impressed when they offered to bring me one at 8am the following morning. That same day we had left our room to go into the centre of Prague and left the sign on the door for the room to be cleaned. On our return 5 hours later no-one had cleaned the room.

The staff were very helpful and booked restaurants and taxi's etc and the breakfast was good if not exceptional. To summarise, the Hotel has a lovely character and was good value but in no way could it be classed as 5 star.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

The hotel was second to none.we stayed in a general suite which was very quiet and perfect ,and the staff could not be more helpful ,the food was delicious would highly recommend anyone visiting prague stay here .

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Me and my husband just came back from our wonderful journey to Prague. And thanks to hotel General it was even more joyful that it was expected. We chose one of the weekends to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary and while searching for the hotel, we chose General. Our expectations for this hotel were exceeded - not only by the calm and welcoming atmosphere of the hotel, attitude of the personnel, cleanliness of the rooms (our Junior suite 203 – George Marshall was gorgeous)and various small surprises (as welcome drink). But most of all - we receive a special gift from hotel staff - a bottle of wine with flowers to mention our special occasion - as my husband mentioned the purpose of our trip. That really made that evening special. On our next trip - we will definitely come back to General.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishieye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Hotel is not in the centre but it is easy to get to all the tourist sights on tram/metro. Helpful advice is given about this on arrival.

There are many good pubs/cafes/restaurants near Andel metro. Recommend Zlaty Klas in Plzenenska 9 for half a duck, red cabbage, dumplings for £6 approx and draught beer at £1.10 for 500 ml.

Excellent breakfast and the staff cannot do enough to help you with anything you want.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGsPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Hi, I am writing about my stay at Hotel General in Prague on December 30-31, 2009.

I have to say that the stay was fantastic. The hotel,itself, was perfect in every way from decor to staff. The staff was very accomodating and helped me out when I forgot my passport at the previous hotel.The bartender was especially nice. If in Prague again, I will surely stay here. The location was good, not really close to the attractions, but within reasonable walking distance (15 minutes or so to St. Charles Bridge.)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Prague in this beautiful hotel. We had the General Suite, which was huge and confortable. We had 2 bathrooms, 2 toilets and 2 flatscreen tv. We also got an pc with free internet. Breakfast was great. The staff was very kind. The hotel is clean. Whenever we come back to Prague we will make the same choice: only the General Hotel. We really loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jirimargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
711 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 647 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 647 in Prague
777 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £72 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing