We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Hotel is a comfort zone”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #20 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“General Hotel is a comfort zone”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We go to Prague for years and have stayed in several hotels. This year we decided to go to General Hotel because of the great reviews they receive. Believe us, all these wonderful reviews are spot on.

We think General Hotel stands out because of the staff. They make you feel very comfortable from the moment you arrive. But above all: they are very professional and friendly. And that is exactly what you want when you're out for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sannieswirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    144
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
181
885
56
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I'll simply recommend it for the perfection of every detail, from the inital welcome to the standing of the room...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elo732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athis-mons
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

this hotel is very confortable and pleasant. The staff, front office, cleaner... all of them are very very gentle. I recommande this hotel because his location is very close from the old city (the tube is approximatly 300 meter), this place is very calm ans you can easely take a break in your rush through tne city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilberto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Soden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

your hotel has a unique atmoshere and very efficient empoyees. All members of my familiy likes your hotel very much

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawyer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at Hotel General for a week in July 2010 and have truly had the best of experiences. The hotel is relatively small, which ensures a personal touch, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and kept very clean daily, offering everything we required and more. The city centre is a lovely 20 minute walk away and we rarely bothered to take the metro or tram (which are just around the corner) because we enjoyed walking by the river so much. Breakfasts were extremely tasty and there was great variety, with the staff once again being very attentive and kind. If you are looking for a quiet (i.e. no drunken British stag-parties beneath your window all night), romantic get-away in the beautiful city of Prague, this is certainly the hotel for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back sometime for another week just like the one we had.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhmuxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The service is unbeatable. From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty. They offer champagne, wine, etc upon check in and walk you through the surrounding attractions on a map. The rooms are gorgeous. My husband and I stayed in a Junior suite and it was beautiful. For breakfast you should really eat in the dining room which was beautifully decorated. They take your order which they serve in white gloves. There is also a beautiful spread to select fruits, pastries, mimosas, and everything else you could possibly want. We loved the atmosphere here and will come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Hotel is located in the "Real Prague" not in the middle of the main attractions, this should not put you off as you get a beeter feel for the city.

Hotel was excellent, we stayed in one of the general suits on the top floor, the room was superb and had all the things to make a stay very comftable.

The service in the Hotel was excellent, we recieved a welcome drink and then sat down with one of the staff and he went through all the sites of prague on the map. He also informed us how much we shold expect to pay for taxi's, drinks ect, depending on what part of the city we were in.

Overall, fantastic value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazsil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#23 of 649 in Prague
640 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
760 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing