We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Hotel General is one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. Their staff was courteous, helpful, and professional, and their breakfast was top notch as well. They're in a great location two blocks from the Andel metro/tram stops in one direction and a block from the river in the other. Whenever I come back to Prague, I'm definitely going to make plans to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaront2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I spent 5 absolutely wonderful nights at the Hotel General in Prague during our European honeymoon trip. We initially booked the hotel for 3 nights, but then extended our stay not once, but TWICE. This says it all. We fell in love with this hotel, the staff and Prague. Upon check-in, we were greeted with champagne and sat down for a 15-20 min extremely helpful "briefing" on things to do in Prague, where to exchange money, what restaurants to patronize, etc. Then we were shown our unbelievably spacious and beautifully decorated room. Everything was clean, elegant, and tasteful. I've never stayed at a hotel like this. We had a computer in our room, a DVD player, classical music playing during the day, and all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was also unbelievable. We could order freshly made omlettes, french toast and about 10 other breakfast dishes and could also use the extremely generous breakfast buffet. Or we could choose to order breakfast in bed for free! And the staff was just magnificent. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. We travelled all over Europe but Prague and this beautiful hotel remain the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

From the moment you take your first step into Hotel General you feel really welcome. They take such good care of you. The service is the best we ever experienced. The hotel situated close to tram and metro. Walking to the center takes you abt 15 minutes along the beautiful river.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable in every way. The breakfast is fine.
Next time in Prag will defenatly be in Hotel General. It´s worth every penny!!!!

Kind rgds Mr Lasse Larsson/Sweden

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I just returned from our stay at the Hotel General, and we can't recommend it enough. The room was beautiful and very clean, and was a decent size for a European hotel room.

The service was even better. Upon arriving, the bellhop took our bags inside almost before we even got out of the transfer van. We were greeted with a complimentary drink while we checked in and were given a very useful rundown of the city of Prague. The bellhop then made sure we didn't touch any of our bags while he showed us to our room and explained how everything in it worked.

While I booked a nonsmoking room, we were originally given a smoking room. However, I made 1 simple call to the desk and within 2 minutes, the bellhop returned to move our bags to our new room.

Breakfast was amazing, with decent items on the buffet and fantastic options on the menu they make to order (all included in the room rate). The restaurant staff provided service that would rival any establishment.

The only think I can even remotely fault the hotel on is its location (but anyone booking the hotel can see where it is). It isn't exactly in the middle of everything (which some may find appealing...the hotel was very quiet and we were not disturbed by any outside noise), but it's about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro or tram station, either of which can get you where you want to go within a few minutes. While my wife and I would've ideally preferred to be a bit closer to the action, we would deal with the few extra minutes of walking/metro/tram time to stay at this hotel again.

We stayed in 4 different hotels during our trip, and this was by far the nicest and best value!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coverlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Loved this hotel. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff, who were always friendly, courteous and willing to help. Great location and has double glazing so no road noise. Nice bed. Great breakfast too. We stayed in numerous hotels throughout Europe and this was the best hands down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Very friendly staff, great breakfast and a beautiful room. A special thanks to Miroslav, one of the hotel chauffeurs, for telling us some interesting things about the history of the Czech republic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opp_amaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A 5 star hotel at a 2 star price. Less than $100 for 2 with a fantastic breakfast. White glove treatment, wonderful staff - truley a gem!

We got off in the Prague train station where taxis were trying to rip us off left and right. Called the hotel to get advice and they sent a car and driver for us at 1/3 of the price. He even gave a a sightseeing tour in his brand new Audi A6.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolsscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
711 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 647 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 647 in Prague
777 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £72 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing