We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #23 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Quiet boutique hotel in the suburb of Prague away from the craziness of the downtown. Nicely appointed hotel, friendly staff and great breakfast. Ten minute walk to the Metro, Tesco grocery and a modern mall. Once on the Metro it is fifteen minutes to the city center. If you like to walk as we do it is 20-30 minutes to Old Town.
The Hotel exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

This hotel is wonderful. It is beautiful inside and out. The staff is attentive. The breakfast, including omelets and special coffee drinks, is served by white gloved staff. This hotel is truly exceptional!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsond18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I have stayed in many great hotels but it is the first time that somebody opens the dining room just for the two of us and what a deal for a five stars hotel.Everybody and I mean everybody was fantastic from the doorman to the frontdesk staff .It was really easy to go downtown by subway and enjoy one of the most beautiful city in the world.Do not hesitate,you will enjoy your stay if you want a cosy place with good breakfast and a staff that will do everything to please you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montreal011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I went to this hotel last January with my girlfriend for 5 days after seeing the good reviews. i wasnt disappointed, i felt like i arrived at the wrong hotel...it was too nice for me!! (not a bad thing).

The rooms were comfortable and very warm(it was snowing outside) the staff were really polite and couldnt do enough for you. The channels on the TV were mostly german with the odd english channel. To be fair your not there to watch tv so it didnt matter!!

The breakfast was standard european buffet style and you just order an ommellette if you would like that. Enough to fill you up for the morning.

The hotel is not located near the old town but we enjoyed walking up 20 minutes ish to cross the famous charles bridge and across to it to take some lovely photos on the way up. the metro andel is about 5 minutes away should you not wish to walk . There is also a mall 5 minutes away which has restaurants and cinema and big tescos should you need to get some of your shopping.

overall i would recommend this hotel but i think you've probably already made your mind up!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toml86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Not many places live up to your expectations, but Prague and the Hotel General were more than we hoped for. From the minute the staff welcomes you to the time you leave you are treated with great service, food and accomodations. A leisurely walk along the river gets you to all the sites within 15 minutes and there are good spots to have a meal or a beer nearby. Rooms are luxurious, roomy and very quiet. Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moogie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Hotel General is one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. Their staff was courteous, helpful, and professional, and their breakfast was top notch as well. They're in a great location two blocks from the Andel metro/tram stops in one direction and a block from the river in the other. Whenever I come back to Prague, I'm definitely going to make plans to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaront2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I spent 5 absolutely wonderful nights at the Hotel General in Prague during our European honeymoon trip. We initially booked the hotel for 3 nights, but then extended our stay not once, but TWICE. This says it all. We fell in love with this hotel, the staff and Prague. Upon check-in, we were greeted with champagne and sat down for a 15-20 min extremely helpful "briefing" on things to do in Prague, where to exchange money, what restaurants to patronize, etc. Then we were shown our unbelievably spacious and beautifully decorated room. Everything was clean, elegant, and tasteful. I've never stayed at a hotel like this. We had a computer in our room, a DVD player, classical music playing during the day, and all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was also unbelievable. We could order freshly made omlettes, french toast and about 10 other breakfast dishes and could also use the extremely generous breakfast buffet. Or we could choose to order breakfast in bed for free! And the staff was just magnificent. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. We travelled all over Europe but Prague and this beautiful hotel remain the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 646 in Prague
772 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,088 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 646 in Prague
772 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,796 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing