We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected much more”
Review of Karavella

Karavella
Ranked #673 of 5,469 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Stockholm
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expected much more”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had read all the positive reviews so when we accidentally passed the restaurant we decided to give it a try. I wish I would have made a different choice.

Sure it's cheap but I'd rather pay more for a nice experience.

Service was nothing special. The girl talked quiet and didnt know how to smile. She almost seemed bothered.

Schnitzel was very good but it came with no sauce, french fries or nothing. Ordered extra french fries and it was terrible. Undercooked in the micro oven.

I would not go here again and would not recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank danniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    95
    38
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“true traditional fare- delicious”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A small local pub style restaurant, with local cuisine. Superb chef. Slow -cooked pork knuckles, sauerkraut, traditional breads, etc. Also, more "western" options as well. A great variety of Cz. beers both alcohol and non-alcohol.The waitresses were very friendly and service was great. The only deterrent is that they do not have a "non-smoking" policy in restaurants in the Cz. Republic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for good price + delicious beers”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend were looking for a traditional restaurant not too expensive and quite close to the main square.

I think we found the right place here, food was good, big portions and the prices reasonable.

We served beans goulash in bread - delicious and half a chicken - a bit too oily but still good and very sufficient for 2 persons + a portion of baked red cabbage.
Beers are from a small local brewery and you can try honey beer, or blueberries beer, as well as normal lager or czech black beer (more sweet and lighter than a british bitter like Guiness).
The table we chose was right at the entrance, half in the small street so we could be in the old town atmosphere (found out from Tripadvisor reviews earlier that they have an inner yard with tables) Serving was very good, pleasant and smiling waiter with a good basic English knowledge.

I would definitely recommend this place. It's a nice restaurant, not fancy, where I would come back again. It's a pitty they were out of duck at that time so it's a challenge to try it next time.. ;)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccostelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizhniy Tagil, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Russian”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Traditional Czech food, menu in Czech, Russian and English, affordable prices, polite waiters. One of the advantages is a possibility to pay by card which is sometimes difficult in Prague. Nice atmosphere, tables outside, inside and in the inner yard. No WiFi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana_Koalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stop”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Good priced Czech food and service. 1/4 of a duck and carp dish were pretty good.

Not much else to say.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksey A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Karavella also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Karavella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing