We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power-drink but dont eat” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The PUB Praha 2

The PUB Praha 2
Ranked #858 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Another great restaurant of The PUB Pilsner Unique Bar chain. Located near IP Pavlova subway station. With self service beer taps you can learn what its like to be a master in beer pouring. You can enjoy great burgers, steaks and salads.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
220 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Power-drink but dont eat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Any place where you compete on consumption of tank beer with a beer pump on each individual table is not going to be the sort of place for a romantic evening. I have been to The Pub several times and will agree that it is best enjoyed with mates, team mates, friends from Uni. There is always one annoying, louder drunken person the table next to yours.....

The real shocker is the food. It seems to be aiming for a mix of basic with a American TGI's. Meaning that the menu is simple, basic common pub food for these days - burgers, wings, ribs etc but they are then adding 2 or 3 types of sauce on top of onions on top of..... in short it tasted rubbish when a simple burger with cheese would have plugged the hole. Oh and that's 10Euros please. Fries were so over cooked we have used them toothpicks - if we had eaten enough of the other food to have it stuck in our teeth.

Good: Mostly no smoking, drink with your mates / stag party etc.
Bad: raucous and poor overpriced food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niky M, Manager at The PUB Praha 2, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello,
please can you write us in which restaurant of our concept have you been?
There are 5 locations in Prague.
We will figure it out what was wrong with the food.
Thank you for your response.
Nikola Michlová
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    77
    18
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Its an experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you want a local place - this is it. With that said, be prepared for bad service and pooling out your translator. The food is good and dirt cheap. Its bit off a beaten path but its sort of a local more modern experience where you're kind of your own bar tender.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great laugh with your mates!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visited here on a stag do last month. If you don't know already each table in the pub has a set of beer lines so you can pump your own ale and a touchscreen to order food, shots, drinks off, behind you on a big wall is a league table projected onto it of how your table is doing compared to the other tables - so the more you drink the higher you go!

We got there during happy hour so the beers were even cheaper so we got cracking! It's really easy to forget how much you're drinking and run up a serious bill, it's too easy to just order shots left right and centre but that's all part of the fun!

We were in there for a few hours and made full use of the jukebox (which you have to pay for per song btw), the bill wasn't too bad when we finished up, about £25 each it worked out at and we'd had about 9 rounds of shots and plenty of pints between us so still way cheaper than drinking in the UK.

Word of warning - get your pint pulling technique nailed or you'll waste a lot of ale! Great place to go with the lads though and will definitely return if i'm back over in that neck of the woods!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23alan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worst service in Prague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Rotten beer from uncleaned lines, staff promised to reset measurements so that this was not charged but they lied and still insisted on payment for beer not drunk. When challenged, the manager's attitude was "you are petty, it is only a few crowns". Customer service at its worse, we would never return nor recommend. There are so many good bars in Prague with good service, don't waste your time trying here unless you are already drunk and in a stag party, maybe their ideal customer?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 23alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value food & drink. Well worth seeking out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've visited 'The Pub' on a number of occasions over the past 3 years, when visiting with family and also as a group of lads. Every time we have been made more than welcome and found the standards to be very high and the prices low.

The concept of having the pump in the middle of the table is great, with the screens showing how much you have consumed. During the day, the beer was about £1 with a slight increase after 6pm. On each visit we have eaten too, having a wide range of meals from local cuisine to burgers etc. On the one occasion we weren't happy with the food (more down to translation than the quality) it was rectified immediately without question.

Yes, it can be a little noisy, and is certainly more vibrant than many of the other bars but if that's not your thing there are plenty of other options in Prague. For us, we love it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LutonCobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The PUB Praha 2 also viewed

 

Been to The PUB Praha 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing