We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice service, but pretty rude with tips” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of U Maleho Glena

U Maleho Glena
Ranked #182 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Czech, Eastern European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service, but pretty rude with tips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Wandered into here after walking around in the cold looking for a decent-looking pub, shared a nice goulash in the cosy clustered pub atmosphere (which was just what I was after), waitress was nice enough, but when I came to pay the bill with a 400 (bill was 340), the waitress took the whole thing, quickly exclaimed "have a good night!" and disappeared, apparently assuming it was a tip without asking.

I like to tip on my own terms, yet normally that would've been fine, but we're travelling on a shoestring, and that 60kr would've been pretty handy to have..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    114
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Be Careful ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I booked this for myself and six friends for five nights and specifically told them what was required in these apartments ,the photos on there website turned out to be nothing like what we were offered when we arrived ? . The 'boss' was quite rude and expected to keep any change when ordering food or drink and was quite blatant about it ,I have no problems with tipping but don't need to be asked for it and some of the change amounted up to £1,50 to £3 ? .There is a charge when you go to see the bands in the cellar but I have no problem with that but again I was relieved of my change but told the staff this was not acceptable as there was tipping jugs on all the bars anyway ? ,The food was excellent and we enjoyed the bands but be carful make sure you know what apartments you are going to get in advance of travelling ,it seems to me that this 'forgetting ' to give you change in Prague is the norm so be carefu

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aweronbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
516 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“English spoken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a place near the St. Nicholas church where 95% of patrons speak English. In the evening there is a live music listened to by Americans, Irish, British, Canadians a Australians. Good beer and food and camaraderie among guests, quite different from many solemn Prague restaurants frequented by Czechs. Excellent hamburgers, ribs and pulled pork sandwiches served by smiling waitresses.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ota R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Typical pub with a Czech touch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem on our walk back from the Infant Jesus Church, primarily because we spotted the Guiness sign outside. Although we visited at lunch time, I could tell this was one lively place. I reckon they have live bands playing in the evenings and this is a popular hangout...The service could have been a little more warm but the food, drink and atmosphere were all top class. We loved the pseudo Gothic style ceiling and the lovely pub style charm this place carries. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhateja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Regular pub where you also can try traditional Czech cuisine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We popped to the pub late in the evening. Although it is small we found free table and decided to stay and eat something Czech and drink some beer. When we asked a waiter to recommend us some particular kind of beer, she surprisingly offered us Paulaner which as you know is not Czech, but German. Together with out Paulaner we ordered a pork knee and a goulash. The knee was disastrously big. It was well baked, but not warmed up properly. For this reason it was hot from the outside and absolutely cold inside. The goulash was good, but nothing special. After the Paulaner we ordered some Czech beer eventually an this was our mistake. The point is that is was twice worth than the Paulaner and we felt it very clearly as we drank them in turn and the brilliant taste of the the Paulaner was still in our mouthes.
As to the prices, the goulash cost c.8 USD, the knee - c.14 USD, the Paulaner - 3,5 USD per 0.5 l. The Czech beer was cheaper.
The atmosphere in the pub was nice, the music very laud, our waiter was fast and attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sobkowiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Maleho Glena also viewed

 

Been to U Maleho Glena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing