We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for a coffee break / lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Louvre

Cafe Louvre
Ranked #15 of 147 Dessert in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Cafe, European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a coffee break / lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After walking around in Prague for hours in a very hot weather this place was really an oasis :) We found this coffee house from a Prague-guide book and this was worth finding! The interior is impressive, the service very polite, the history of the place is interesting. I had a piece of Louvre's cheese cake and it was very delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaStone1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,464
    910
    242
    87
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,396 reviews
777 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
“Very fine meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We got the name of this restaurant out of our guide to Prague. I also noticed it was well regarded by Trip Advisor contributors. We were not disappointed. The food -- I had pork tenderloin prepared with garlic and rosemary, followed by sugar-lemon palacinke (crepes) -- was excellent. My wife also loved her meal. The Bernard lager beer is some of the best beer I have ever drunk. The ambience is perfect, and the prices are more than reasonable by North American or German standards. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I would have never gone into this restaurant without the direction of our guide. From outdoors it doesn't look like much. But inside beautifully decorated. Very European very nice. Food great I had Spatetzel ...pardon the spelling and wife had fried turkey...kind of like schnitzel. Coffee was fantastic. Wife had mint ice tea. Desserts oh my. Apple strudel with fresh whipped cream and vanilla sauce. Wife had blueberry cake with incredible fresh vanilla ice cream....too many calories but really good meal. Service was slow but the waiter told up front because he was carrying so many tables...no problem worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Perfect Way to Start a Week in Prague!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Checked into the hotel then did a quick search for a place to eat...lucky for us that happened upon Cafe Louvre-I have to be honest that we almost missed it, walking down the street..I always forget sometimes places are on the second floor and nobody seemed to mention that...so don't forget to look up!!! I felt like we traveled back into the past upon entering this place...and I mean this in the best way..transported back into the Prague of years gone by...it was lovely...a bustling place with all kinds of people not just tourists. I had the most delicious plate of spaetzle (a rustic Czech pasta of sorts) with mushrooms and bacon, my husband had beautiful lemony crepe style pancakes with powdered sugar...the perfect way to start a week in Prague! I am tempted to go back, but for the fact that I try not to eat in the same place twice while on vacation..and there are so many other places to eat in Prague...but we will see!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitsu114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The food was so well prepared. I mean exceptional. The service was just as good as the food. Knowledgable suggestions and attentive waiter. I'm so happy I went here!

Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Louvre also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Cafe Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing