We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First hostel stay”
Review of Old Prague Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Prague Hostel
Ranked #133 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First hostel stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This is my first hostel stay. I had some disappointments but generally happy with the experience. The place is clean and well equipped. They have a stove and a small fridge in common room, decent locker in the bedroom, separate shower stalls and computers with internet access.
Disappointments:
-there were no hooks to hang my stuff in the shower
-they had board games for you to borrow but they had no group board games (example: monopoly)
-it could just be my experience but it seems the hostel draw in a colder crowd of travelers. Most of the people I saw there did not want to meet other travelers or just very reserved.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank zrk9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    167
    82
    34
    40
See reviews for
10
50
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I had a great experience with this hostel. It's very close to Prague's Old Town. It's a little hard to find on a side street, but that means it's quiet. The police station is directly across the straight making it very safe. There are several good restaurants nearby, but it's a quieter part of the city.

When I arrived, they couldn't find my reservation, but they gave me my own room instead plus a discount. Place was impeccably clean. Guests were social, but it's not a party hostel. Free internet was nice, although wi-fi was spotty. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all time. Breakfast is cereal and juice, but that was fine by me. Overall, a great experience. Great location, fantastic price, just what I wanted out of my stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We'd just come from one of the greatest hostels in the world in Berlin, so this place seemed a bit rustic by comparison, but the staff were friendly, it was cheap and it had a nice atmosphere. The communal kitchens, the free internet and the tv were a plus. Also, I got a bit addicted to the free sandwiches they hand out every morning. All in all, a good hostel in a good location. On a side note, the staff were very friendly. One guy gave us a free bottle of absinthe, but I don't think that's standard protocol.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2009

if you are going to prague, this is the hostel to book! the staff was very friendly and helpful. the rooms were very clean and spacious (we booked a room for 5) and included separate lockers inside the room. the only thing lacking was the breakfast (cereal with warm milk and orange juice, not too appetizing but you did get a free sandwich). but it was free so you can't ask for more. this was my first hostel experience and it set the bar very high.
it is walking distance to old town square, wenceslas square, palladium as well as many of the other main attractions and shopping spots in prague. it is also directly across the street from a police station, so it is safe as well. definitely stay here if you can!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I went to this hostel with 10 friends, however we all booked separately so we ended up booking two 4 person rooms and a 6 person dorm for 2 of the group. I was one of the two in the six person dorm.

I stayed at this hostel for the Northern Ireland vs Czech Republic football game and I returned this evening. At first we entered and we were quite taken aback. The stairwell and elevator look quite creepy, but when we went upstairs and entered reception it looks like any other normal hostel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. You do get a towel if you ask for one. There is also somewhere to keep your bags.

We stayed in room 6. This was right beside the common room. Personally I would avoid this room at all costs. Not because of the room itself, the room is large with 3 bunk beds, windows and extremely big locker space. But the problem was the noise, not at night, but in the morning.

The hostel has a strict rule that after midnight no one is allowed in the common room. They must either be out of the hostel or in their rooms, unless getting ready for bed. However in the morning everyone is gathering in the common room, making breakfast and talking, which creates a lot of noise and made it difficult for me to sleep, which is not good if you have been out in one of Prague's many excellent clubs and pubs. The cleaners also came in and started hoovering whilst we were sleeping! The cleaners themselves were grumpy and unhelpful. When you smile then give you dirty looks - steer clear of them if you can.

The mattress on the bed was not great, but I found the pillow comfy enough, especially when you prop it up against the board at the back of the bed. The quilt cover was thin but this is a good thing as even though the temperature outside was below freezing (it was snowing) the rooms are warm.

I didn't have the free breakfast, cereal in the morning isn't really my thing. However there is a wide selection of eateries in the surrounding area.

There is free internet usage also. And wi-fi if you have a laptop/I-phone.

For location, the hostel was top notch. If you are looking for somewhere extremely cheap to stay after a night on the drink then this is a good place if you are on a budget. Overall - average.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbrown662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Staff were pretty unhelpful and beds uncomfortable and wobbly. The showers and kitchens were pretty clean but by no means spotless. Purely for location, this is an ok hostel but I'm sure there are better in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas3Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This hostel is fantastically located for the Old Town, but for that you have to put up with tiny, overcrowded rooms and service that leaves something to be desired. We booked a 6 bed dorm, and were really pleased we did, as although it was cramped, we had a peek inside one of the 10 bed dorms and it was insane. Beds everywhere! The top bunks don't have a bar to prevent you falling out, and wobbled like crazy.

Breakfast is free, but not particularly edible. I would recommend you head to the nearby Milla supermarket (there is another nearby, called Albert, but Milla has a better range, IMO) and pick something up from there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#27 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#19 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#25 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#38 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#43 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Prague Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Prague Hostel

Property: Old Prague Hostel
Address: Benediktska 685/2 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Old Prague Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Prague Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing