We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Peklo

Restaurant Peklo
Ranked #167 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$2
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
Paris, France
1 review
“Magic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Peklo is one of our favourite restaurants in europe, and it was one of the main reasons why Darren chose Prague for our weekend away, because he knew that a perfect evening awaited us. Superb food, the most romantic setting and impeccable service. This trip was a birthday surprise, but jokingly i had said that a meal at Peklo would be my perfect birthday meal. And it came true, and its everything you could imagine and more. Prague is so very romantic. Im sure Darren and I will visit again very soon. Thankyou Peklo, you are the icing on the cake.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    133
    48
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Great menu for Czech cuisine, fantastic service; ambiance can't be beat. Cave-like atmosphere was comfortable even on a hot day.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dberger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We foud this restaurant by pure chance. Prague was thick with snow, we didn't know where we were heading - just aimlessly wandering the streets looking for somewhere to eat....
We walked higher and higher and thought we had come to a dead end. It was pitch black and thick snow, when all of a sudden these signs appeared pointing upward towards a restaurant. We followed the signs to hell and was confronted by an odd doorway and lit up steps leading DOWN! At this stage we were a little apprehensive as we really didn't know where we were going or what to expect.
What a pleasant surprise! There was a small group of musicians playing in the corner. The food was fine and not overly expensive for a restuarant. But really the thing that made it was the atmospher of dining in a totally unusual place. A cellar.... A cave.......!
We loved it, and it was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cornetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere, bad restaurant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We were very disappointed with our experience at Peklo. Although the atmosphere of the old wine cellar was fantastic, and the wine was good, the service from the kitchen was terrible. Our food came out cold. The staff then admitted to us that they kept the meals in the refrigerator and heated them up when they were ordered. The waiter explained that the chef must have forgotten to heat it up. Considering a written note from the chef included in the menu explicitly states that they only use the freshest ingredients, we were shocked by this admission. We sent the food back and asked for a freshly made meal. When it was returned only 5 minutes later, bits of chewed food were still on the plate, and some of the partially eaten sides had been removed and not replaced. No money was taken off our bill, and we left without finishing, expressing our disappointment. Their attitude seemed to be "our problem, not theirs". We won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tubawunderkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best and most romantic New Year's Eve ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I celebrated New Year's eve here at restaurant Peklo. We had three delicious 3-course menus to choose from. My husband had the lamb and I had the pork tenderloin and both were delicious. The wine list was extensive and had some really affordable selections. We choose a Czech Merlot which was wonderful and well priced. The service and the ambiance were both beyond reproach. It was such a unique and beautiful setting and with the jazz music, romantic lighting, delicious food and wine, we could not have asked for a more perfect way to ring in the new year!

I see that there are some not so great reviews here but I have to say I totally disagree with them. This was a fantastic spot and reasonably priced as well. We each enjoyed delicious appetizers, two full 3-course meals, and yes, not one but two bottles of wine all for about $200 dollars. We would pay about the same at a decent restaurant here in the states with ONE bottle of wine and the setting would not be nearly as romantic and wonderful. I LOVED this place!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eleasecaracci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Peklo also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Peklo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing