We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soave atmosphere, a great relaxing spot”
Review of U Zeleneho Caje - CLOSED

U Zeleneho Caje
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Soave atmosphere, a great relaxing spot”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stopping here anytime I am in Prague for the last 15 years. Milos Forman was here and so should you. Nice and romantic. Good teas. Relax and meditate a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sani, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good tea and strudel”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

It's a small clean and cozy place with good tea in leaves, cakes and some other food. You may also buy some tea or coffee. However it's missing a good view, there's only view of street from the glass entrance door. When you go out to visit WC you actually enter the living place. Seems like writer Peter Sis lives there as there are his photos and books there. Also there's a hat making atellier... Interesting place!

Helpful?
1 Thank worldaroundtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Teahouse in Nerudova Street”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great place to rest and reload your batteries. The teas are just wonderfull, the interior is calming, and the music is such a relief after an afternoon shopping, museumwalking or eating in a noisy restaurant.
The service was great and we also bought a pack of the fruit tea, and a little box of homemade sweeted ginger.
The only thing missing is a good assortiment of cakes and/or pies. It is really a place where you'd expect hundreds of muffins, scones and cakes in beautiful bell jars, but that was not the reality. A pity, because I think it would mean better bussines than the current menu of food (only baklava, appelstrudel and couscous)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Reichenhall
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place right out of a dream”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After too many too touristic places, entering the U Zeleneho Caje was a big relief - all stress subsided. And if you are there, enjoy the pictures of Czech's painter Petr Sis (now living in New York) - the U Zeleneho Caje is owned by his brother. And don't forget to see the garden, whenever possible sit down there for some minutes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“I love to come here on Winter evenings”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is a very charming and home-like tea house right on the main street leading to the Prague castle. I love tea and come here often. It is especially nice for an intimate and quiet time with a good friend or with my mom; when we can sit around, drink delicious tea and talk quietly. I love their wall painting with road disappearing at the horizon... always makes me wonder where it leads. They also have very nice picture books which are fun to look at while having yet another cup of tea.
Apart from tea, I enjoy their warm halva desert - mmm, vrery tasty.
My most favorite time to visit this place is on cold Autumn or Winter evenings. You feel enveloped in warm and cozy atmosphere and would never want to leave :).

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Zeleneho Caje also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing