We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A world class theatre or so they so”
Review of State Opera

State Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$102.77*
and up
Private walking Tour: Hidden jewels of Prague
Ranked #24 of 936 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The State Opera building is currently under reconstruction. During the time of its closure, you can see Opera and Ballet performances on the other National Theatre stages.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A world class theatre or so they so”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We could not get to see the opera due to time restraints but asked about a guided tour, only in groups that we had to organise then book thru some woman, or maybe try on Saturday ? Even the smallest theatres have tours or like la scala do it yourself

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColingUnther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    317
    56
    12
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful and grand”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great value opera well located riverside. Some staff were a bit surly and inattentive, which was a let down for the experience but most other staff were friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmandAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“go to the opera here”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nothing better than going to the Opera in this amazing building. Went to Carmen here and it was the best Opera I've ever seen. The beautiful building just gives it an extra dimension. Fantastic performance too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex2013407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unfortunate”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The building is a beauty, but the production of the Magic Flute I saw was quite poor. It was a cheap ticket, so that made it easier to swallow and it was lovely to see the theatre from the inside. That said, overall not worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superb Experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We attended a terrific production of Prokofiev's Romeo & Juliet ballet on a Sunday Afternoon, a conclusion to a memorable trip to Prague. I purchased tickets directly from the State Opera website several weeks prior to our trip. It was easy - from my choice of seats, payment and printing my tickets. We were surprised by the wonderfully modern & creative interpretation of this ballet, which we have seen several times in different venues. It was exceptional in every way. I highly recommend putting this on your must do list in Prague.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rwland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed State Opera also viewed

 

Been to State Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing