We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light, bright and near Tugendhat”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Really a lovely hotel, immaculately clean, with large French windows that open onto the tree-lined street. The building and rooms are much nicer than the art on the walls, which is pretty awful. Comfortable bed, high ceilings, free wifi, elevator. Breakfast is ample with a mix of fresh baked goods, hot food and fresh fruit. There are several pleasant open air restaurants on this street that make for a convenient dinner and a beer after a long day of sightseeing. As other posters have said, it's a ten minute walk to the center, but even better, it's a 15 minute walk to Villa Tugendhat, the absolute must-see in Brno.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gradivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay here. Overall the place is nice although we didnt see much art there. The room we had was 103 and was a very pleasant room with a nice bathroom, high ceilings, comfy bed etc They were good when we asked for more pillows and an extra sheet and the bedding was replaced after our first night. The place was only around a 7 minute walk from the centre so we never used the tram system during our stay.
One gripe would be that the cafe area in the lobby is reguarly smoked in (probably by staff) and that you had to smell smoke each time you left or arrived.
Otherwise this place is perfectly nice.

Room Tip: Room 103 was a good room with nice views over the street and not the car park which other people had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkscouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for spending your time to write your lovely review.
It is always nice to read something like this.

We are pleased to welcome you again and we hope you will be satisfied to continue.

Best regards

Staff of hotel EUROPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stopped for two nights in the Europa as a couple - 18th & 19th April 2012.
When we booked we asked the hotel if they could organize a taxi transfer - they said no - but that there were plenty of taxis at the airport - this seemed to sum up the lack of care at the Europa - we took the bus from the airport - was very easy!
The room was on the fourth floor with no proper windows - only velux rooflights - you had to stand on the bed to close the blinds! - and very noisy when it rained!
Room was very clean and spacious - bathroom was a let down - the bath wasn't wide enough to lay down in - and the shower head was on a hook only 12inches above the bath - so no use as a shower!
Breakfast was good!
Overall poor - would I return - nope!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor only have rooflights - no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear guests,
thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are sorry that our hotel did not suit you well. About the taxi it must have been misunderstanding because hotel's reception usually gets the taxi for guests. About the room equipment we try to comply with guest’s wishes. You can put your request to your reservation or ask our staff directly in the hotel.
Just in case you change your mind, please let us know your requests at your reservation.

Best regards

Staff of hotel Europa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The Hotel is in a convenient location just a 15 minute walk from the main centre squares. We could not fault the hotel itself, the room we were given was excellent as was the bathroom. However, we could only use the bathroom for half of our stay as the Hotel hot water system failed. No showers for 2 days and no attempts by staff to at least enquire as to whether we were coping. Complete indifference of attitude to this problem by most of the staff - seems that there were no plumbers in Brno, we finally got hot water the night before we checked out.

Breakfast was the usual kind - buffet style and was fine, the same every day though - scrambled eggs would have been nice. One problem was you had to listen to Abba's Greatest Hits constantly, EVERY morning. Can I suggest maybe some Erk Satie piano such as Gymnopedie can be very relaxing first thing rather than Mama Mia or Money Money Money!

Friendly staff, but customer relations could be better (see Hot Water issue). Through Hotels.Com with whom we booked, we have received an apology and eventually a resolution (thankyou and the reason for 3 stars rather than 2). Had it not been for our problem I would have given 4 rating - very good. It was a nice Hotel, strangely deserted which may unfortunately expain why nobody tried to fix the water, (have I mentioned this?)

Come on Europa - this is 2012, what would Vaclav Havel have said?

Room Tip: Enquire as to whether hot water is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBonViveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for writing a nice review of our hotel. We appreciate it very much in spite of the part of critical meaning. We understand your unpleasant situation and please accept our apology again. We had a complicated breakdown in our hotel system providing of water. In spite of our great efforts we were not able to replace a main component, the pump, during weekend. We have solved the problem immediately in the Monday.

One more thank you and maybe next time in our hotel under better circumstances.

Best regards

Staff of hotel EUROPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Brno is not all that interesting and I ended up here for just one night, you know they say the best thing about Brno is the road to Prague...that's true. The hotel was fine, they allow smoking in the lobby....CZ is like America was in the 70's....smoking is still OK in many places. Anyway the hotel had a vibe that was trying to be boutique Euro chic, but the rooms said Super 8 Omaha.

Staff was kind and helpful, they seemed genuinely interested in helping. Room was very clean and had interesting skylights. Also this hotel has a very bizarre art collection, there was a picture of what looked like a murder scene outside my room, with the lights that didn't turn on until you step into the hallway I did not appreciate this. I got up too late to have a shot at breakfast and they called me a cab to the train station, I was very happy to get on my way to Vienna!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLinkMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel Europa at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing several words about our hotel. We really appreciate it very much.
Hope your journey was good and we may see you again for one or two nights in our hotel.

Staff of hotel Europa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We chose the Europa as it has a central location in Brno and it was recommended to us by a friend.

The room was on the 4th Floor and was clean and had a high ceiling. There were 2 high Velux windows but it was impossible to see outside. The bathroom had a good shower and was clean. Only downside was that the boiler in the hotel broke down on Saturday night and was due to be repaired after we had left so there was no hot water.

Breakfast was good although the English breakfast seemed a little cold. However we tend to eat a continental breakfast when abroad and we liked the ham, cheese, rolls etc which seemed fresh. The coffee was also good.

The staff were friendly and polite although at times their grasp of English could have been a little better especially as there were quite a few English speakers in the Hotel.

All in all the Europa is an excellent place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel europa at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear guests,

We appreciate your lovely words about our hotel and we are very sorry about your trouble with hot water during your staying. We had a complicated breakdown in our hotel system providing of water. Please accept our apology.
One more thank you for your high review and maybe see you next time in our hotel.

Staff of hotel europa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Booked this hotel for a weekend trip to Brno with my boyfriend because of its good rating and also the art present there. The price for night was not the cheapest, I would even say it was quite high for Brno, so I expected to get some value for it.
The hotel has a convenient location within walking distance to the city centre, in a quiet street. We got a room on the first floor with a view to the street. The room was surprisingly small for two people and very basic. Tiny TV hanging on an empty wall looks a bit ridiculous and is not really comfortable for watching from bed, cause it's really small. There were some other things which bothered me considered the price we payed. The bidet shower was broken, it sprayed all over you and the bathroom. So did the shower. The plaster in the bathroom was peeling off, the tiles weren't put high enough to protect the wall from water. The silicone around the tub and the shower shield didn't look that nice. The fan in the bathroom was probably not working. Cosmetic amenities consist of one showergel/shampoo bottle and a soap. All these things are not that crucial, but show lack of attention to the room maintenance and wellbeing of the guests.
The breakfast is mediocre, has nothing in common with english breakfast as they advertise on their website and booking.com. Eggs and sausages were absolutely cold the first day, after I complained at the reception, it got a bit better next days. IKEA tableware is no comment. I can have that at home, I would expect hotel of this price range to do better. Leftovers and dirty dishes left by the staff on some side table in the breakfast room look horrible and so do the "Aro" plastic bottles. What about using a jug for water?
All in all I was disappointed and I feel I didn't get the value for my money. But maybe I'm too spoiled. The location, cleanliness and art all over the hotel make it a convenient place to stay in Brno. Just don't count the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alderonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.7 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.5 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 57 in Brno
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez II
1.6 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez
Orea Hotel Voronez
#17 of 57 in Brno
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Trida Kpt. Jaroshe 1941/27, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Price Range: £37 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa was opened in 2009 and provides its guests with 15 private internal parking lots and 45 spacious rooms divided over 4 floors of a wonderful building in the art Nouveau style. Every room of the hotel is peaceful, bright and equipped with all the amenities to satisfy the modern traveler's every need: high speed internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar and telephone service.In 2010, 30 contemporary artists, of Czech and Italian nationality, were invited to enjoy the experience of cohabitation inside the hotel and reflect upon the subject of hospitality. As a result, the hotel is transformed into a great artwork and becomes a unique meeting point for art and tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing