We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money at clean 3-star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money at clean 3-star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We've just come back from a few days in Brno staying at the Hotel Europa. Our room was clean and smart, had plenty of space for luggage/clothes and, more importantly, a comfortable bed. Ask for extra pillows as the two supplied are the "flat" style that is common in Central Europe. Fantastic shower (no bath in our room) and there is a hair-dryer fitted in the bathroom. If you don't like A/C, the windows open for fresh air plus the room has radiators for heating.

As a vegetarian I found plenty of options in the excellent breakfast buffet, and the quality of the food was good so I don't really know why there are any complaints unless some visitors are expecting something other than a Central European buffet breakfast.

I noticed guests smoking in the lobby area on a couple of occasions but never the staff so I would suggest that Berkscouple2's conjecture is wide of the mark. Either that or staff training has improved enormously: all four receptionists we spoke to were cheerful and helpful, speaking good English and the receptionist on duty when we checked out offered to book a taxi to the airport for us.

There are about 5 bars (including an English pub...) on the hotel's road, as well as two restaurants - one of them Italian.

At the end of the road is the Luzanky Park, idea for a relaxing stroll around before tackling the steep hill or steps up to the Tugendhat VIlla.

I've travelled extensively and stayed in a wide variety of hotels all the way up to 5-star standard. I like the Hotel Europa for what it is: a smart, clean, 3-star hotel in a quiet area close to the sights in a Central European city that is not packed full of tourists. I will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, General Manager at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to Hotel Europa again.
Best wishes,
Radka Svabova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    135
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
123
39
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Even it is not in the hearth of the city it was easy to find, parking in the front on the street, easy check in. The downside is (of course - we are in Czech!) staff - c'mon people! dont be scared of your guests, smile sometimes, say hello, ask if all is ok. They do they job just fine but they could do it better and stand out compared with other hotels!
I do not own TV so staying in a hotel is opportunity to watch it - unfortunately it is hard to find any channels (and not only in English) at this place so if you are addicted to TV be aware :P, internet works ok with cable (provided by the hotel), Wifi at the lobby. Aircon works!
Breakfast is nice, even very nice but if you get up late they will run out of some items and not restock :(

Room Tip: 4 floors, lift so no problem reaching them, 4th floor has no view - windows in celling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Manager at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your visit in our hotel and for the time devoted to this review.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. We believe that there is room for improvement and with each evalution we will try to be better and better.
Thanks again.
We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My A/C unit wasn't blowing cold air, so I asked to have it examined. On my return later in the afternoon, the situation had been "fixed" by blocking the window open with a towel. I asked for a different room and was told that "they were all like that."

Other than that, the hotel is actually a step above the typical, cramped three-star hotels found in many parts of the continent. The rooms are larger, more stylish, and cleaner than many. Good breakfast.

I could be tempted to give this property a 4-rating (very good), but not in warm weather!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRD_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Surly reception at check in.

A/c broken on 83 degree day.

Very clean, but small "superior" room.

Noisy bathroom fan than turns on and of when it wants to.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinTransit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gradivo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Really a lovely hotel, immaculately clean, with large French windows that open onto the tree-lined street. The building and rooms are much nicer than the art on the walls, which is pretty awful. Comfortable bed, high ceilings, free wifi, elevator. Breakfast is ample with a mix of fresh baked goods, hot food and fresh fruit. There are several pleasant open air restaurants on this street that make for a convenient dinner and a beer after a long day of sightseeing. As other posters have said, it's a ten minute walk to the center, but even better, it's a 15 minute walk to Villa Tugendhat, the absolute must-see in Brno.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gradivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay here. Overall the place is nice although we didnt see much art there. The room we had was 103 and was a very pleasant room with a nice bathroom, high ceilings, comfy bed etc They were good when we asked for more pillows and an extra sheet and the bedding was replaced after our first night. The place was only around a 7 minute walk from the centre so we never used the tram system during our stay.
One gripe would be that the cafe area in the lobby is reguarly smoked in (probably by staff) and that you had to smell smoke each time you left or arrived.
Otherwise this place is perfectly nice.

Room Tip: Room 103 was a good room with nice views over the street and not the car park which other people had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkscouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for spending your time to write your lovely review.
It is always nice to read something like this.

We are pleased to welcome you again and we hope you will be satisfied to continue.

Best regards

Staff of hotel EUROPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stopped for two nights in the Europa as a couple - 18th & 19th April 2012.
When we booked we asked the hotel if they could organize a taxi transfer - they said no - but that there were plenty of taxis at the airport - this seemed to sum up the lack of care at the Europa - we took the bus from the airport - was very easy!
The room was on the fourth floor with no proper windows - only velux rooflights - you had to stand on the bed to close the blinds! - and very noisy when it rained!
Room was very clean and spacious - bathroom was a let down - the bath wasn't wide enough to lay down in - and the shower head was on a hook only 12inches above the bath - so no use as a shower!
Breakfast was good!
Overall poor - would I return - nope!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor only have rooflights - no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear guests,
thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are sorry that our hotel did not suit you well. About the taxi it must have been misunderstanding because hotel's reception usually gets the taxi for guests. About the room equipment we try to comply with guest’s wishes. You can put your request to your reservation or ask our staff directly in the hotel.
Just in case you change your mind, please let us know your requests at your reservation.

Best regards

Staff of hotel Europa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.7 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 56 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#14 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista
Hotel Vista
#13 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Trida Kpt. Jaroshe 1941/27, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa was opened in 2009 and provides its guests with 15 private internal parking lots and 45 spacious rooms divided over 4 floors of a wonderful building in the art Nouveau style. Every room of the hotel is peaceful, bright and equipped with all the amenities to satisfy the modern traveler's every need: high speed internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar and telephone service.In 2010, 30 contemporary artists, of Czech and Italian nationality, were invited to enjoy the experience of cohabitation inside the hotel and reflect upon the subject of hospitality. As a result, the hotel is transformed into a great artwork and becomes a unique meeting point for art and tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing