We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like stinky room and nasty staff, this hotel is for you.”

Hotel Pod Spilberkem
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pod Spilberkem
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I had my reservation at a different hotel but their boiler broke down. My reservaqtion was transfered here. What a nightmare! The stairway carpet is discusting and smelly. The sheets on the beds did not match and the towels were dirty and had rips in them. The next day we did not have room service. After complaining to the receptionist, someone showed up at 5 pm to give us new towels. The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Centrally located, nice hotel. Great breakfast, nice staff, but not too many parkplace! Room was nice and spacious, bathroom was nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoZso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Spend two days in that hotel in Sep, 2011. Location is quite good - near the center of a city. That is the only benefit of staying there.

The hotel's room was dark and had a worst-ever smelly and unclean bed linen. The city tram outside is loud. It felt like the tram line is running just the next floor above you.

The parking lot. It is small. It has a narrow entrance. You can un-park your car if only other guests have already left the hotel.

The lobby. The receptionist and some guests smoke there so you can't breathe.

The restaurant. Fried sausages and salad and some coffee. Better have breakfast in other place.

Terrible overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Location of the hotel is pretty good, very close to the main attractions in Brno. The place is not very nice. Room smelled like cigarettes. Staff is OK. Breakfast was pretty decent. Definitely the place to stay if you are going to spend most of the day outside.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittynam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I arrived late night, but the receptionist lady was very kind with me. Room was big enough, but with cheap furniture and cold. I was smart to check the radiators and to turn them on, so in 30 minutes it was warm inside. The bathroom was very large - maybe bigger than the room. Nice breakfast next morning, but no fruits.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Călin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Had a 3 day stay here in mid-September. We were woken at 7 am to the overpowering smell of garlic sausage apparently coming from the kitchen downstairs up through a vent just outside our window! We asked to be moved to another room and after some confusion from the rather fierce Brunhilde on reception we were eventually moved to another much nicer room overlooking the courtyard. Breakfast was average. I wonder if someone can explain why it is these days that hotels are unable to provide half decent orange juice so it was the usual orange drink/cordial affair! On the plus side it is centrally located for sightseeing and also if you are a car owner then the courtyard parking must be a plus. I wouldn’t say the hotel warranted the 3 stars, probably nearer to a 2 and I feel sure that there must be better hotels in Brno for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonBrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The good: The location is good, quite central. Note however, the center is not that big altogether. It remains a cheap option, but if you're looking for cozy, look elsewhere.

The bad: The hotel has a strong socialist feel; very impersonal, cold, horrendous furniture. Staff spoke poor English if at all. Had to change rooms as the first one stank of cigarettes smoke, even though we indicated "non-smoking" in our booking. Electricity went out in one of the buildings during our stay. Damp walls in the hallway.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiraBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
1.6 mi away
Hostel Bed & Breakfast Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandezza
Hotel Grandezza
#2 of 57 in Brno
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel John Galt
Hostel John Galt
#35 of 56 in Brno
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Cafe Mitte
Hostel Cafe Mitte
#2 of 56 in Brno
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Spilberkem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Spilberkem

Address: Pekarska 402/10, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pod Spilberkem 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pod Spilberkem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing