We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and the possibility of private car parking”

Hotel Pod Spilberkem
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pod Spilberkem
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good location right in the center of Brno walking the streets, as well as close to the castle.

Clean rooms, a breakfast buffet and the opportunity for private pysäköointiin the hotel's private courtyard parking.
Nearby a lot of different restaurants and shops.
Take it with you to Brno good walking shoes, as the city is really hilly.

Front of the hotel also runs several tram lines.

Room Tip: Try to get a room the courtyard side of the upper floors, then the traffic noise from street and the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KulkijaHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pod Spilberkem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Good situation near old city centre, with parking, we found this hotel O.K. The rooms we used were clean, as was the linen and the shower worked well. The breakfast was adequate. The big downside was that they no longer accept any credit cards and so we had to draw Czech crowns from the atm.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor, there is no lift!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 211Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

this hotel is really not much to look at, despite its really high rates!
we were frankly expecting better: it's not real clean (dirty towels from the previous customers in the bathroom, dirty bathmat...)
the design is terrible in the room and lobby, and breakfast is scarce.
there must be better options in Brno for 70€ a night!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Overall a good hotel. The breakfast was good, the rooms were ok and it is very well located, as it is close to the central station and the city center. Quite nice if you need a place to sleep while you visit Brno.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emediquei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked this hotel after some significant research, and with a tight budget in mind. Its location is quite good and it is about a 10 minute walk from the main train station and quite close to the heart of the old city.

Unfortunately, that is the extent of the postives in this hotel. We stayed on a room overlooking the courtyard/car park. It was quite loud as several buildings (most of them residential apartments) overlook the courtyard and the noise seems to be amplified by the courtyard. More importantly, our room was somewhat dirty with dead insects on the windowsills and ants on some of the furniture. The first night we figured the room had been empty for sometime, but on our second night in the hotel the ant problem was not resolved and the dead bugs were still clearly visible on the windowsill; leading us to believe that the room had been poorly cleaned if at all.

The breakfast buffet (which was included in our booking) was definitely on the shabby side and on the first morning we were there they ran out of almost everything (pastries, cheese, meat, yogurt) and did not appear to re-stock the buffet. Finally, while the staff was nice, they were not very helpful in providing recommendations or suggestions on things to see or places to eat during our stay. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a courtyard room if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hotel Pod Spilberkem in the Czech 2nd city of Brno located (as the hotel name says) under Spilberkem castle is ideally situated for exploring this ancient and historic university city. Nestled at the base of the castle hill and directly across the road from the university's medical faculty you could not be better placed to get about to explore, enjoy and indulge in this beautiful city.
However, the reality of the hotel is not as glossy as their website would have you believe, this is a basic hotel barely weighing in as a 2 star hotel by UK standards. That does not mean that it is not adequate as it is. The hotel is clean and very welcoming and undoubtedly good value for money if you are on a budget. The rooms are spacious and have modern colour TV's but there is no climate control, no room telephone, very little in the way of bathroom amenities and tea or coffee facilities for that early morning cuppa. The breakfast is normal fare for the Czech Republic but you get the distinct impression that the hotel is on a budget as the fare is not plentiful and if you leave breakfasting toward the end of the allotted time the food is not replaced and you may find yourself with nothing more than a cold cup of tea and a yoghurt.
The hotel does provide free parking in the hotel courtyard but be careful as it's easy to get your car boxed which makes getting your care out in the morning quite difficult. The other thing worth mentioning are the early morning trams, as the frontage of the hotel is on a busy main street hill with a tram line running in both directions the tram noise at 5am is quite startling so be aware and don't be surprised when your fully awake and the 15 minute repeats keep you awake from therein.
So in conclusion if you are a family, couple or single on a budget this hotel is ideal for convenience, location and accessibility, but if you like the comforts that if like me you expect from a hotel then this is not the one for you. The website is quite deceiving as it looks quite well appointed and opulent which highlights the dangers of clever photography and poetic licence when hotels write up their own facilities.
Pod Spilberkem, clean, family friendly, convenient, basic, cheapish. Read the reviews carefully and look at the other hotels carefully to compare and before you book then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a nice time here. The receptionist was nice enough to lend me her personal cell phone when I couldn`t get through calling local friends. The location was close to the center and also local shops where one could buy pastries and other local goods.
Everything was clean. We had originally booked a smaller room, but when we showed up with 2 kids in town the woman in charge upgraded us to a bigger room (with no extra charge).
I appreciated those finer details.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaconne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#17 of 56 in Brno
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Slovan
Hotel Slovan
#44 of 56 in Brno
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A-Austerlitz Hotel
A-Austerlitz Hotel
#42 of 56 in Brno
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
1.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 56 in Brno
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Spilberkem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Spilberkem

Address: Pekarska 402/10, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pod Spilberkem 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing