We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place in local atmospere”
Review of Hostel Fleda Brno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Fleda Brno
Ranked #17 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Brno
Reviewed 5 June 2013

hostel fleda surely had rough times with his old owners until 2012. but the good news is that its under new management now and quickly improving. its a great place with a lot of potential, that now finally gets used by some motivated people. if you look for a charming atmosphere with one of the best local night life spots just beside your accommodation - this is the place to go :)
(btw: bring ear plugs in case there is a concert)

Room Tip: i prefered the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

In front of the bus stop, close to the city, the cheapest... In one work the best.
There is a cool bar and club downstairs, markets and fast food under 200m.
And seems to be well know by the local people also as THE place to go for the foreigners.
I've been there for 5 days, and I don't regret, it was a good price fro value! Moreover the staff is awesome! They are really helpfull, incredibly friendly, and they adviced me so well for everything (thanks once again Petra)

Room Tip: Call and ask! Employees speak english fluently and they will advice you well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

For a cheap place to stay it was ok actually. Friendly,single beds comfy and clean enough. close to bus and shops. We enjoyed the experience and enjoyed the mix of different cultures. Brno was a delightful place to stop before heading to Prague and needed some quite time and rest before heading to something larger. Great little pubs outside to sit and people watch.

Room Tip: middle suites on east side are larger quiter and sunnier with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire214_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betilde, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Fleda Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hello Claire,
thank you for a review. It looks like you got the idea of this hostel exactly. It is low cost, simple, but very comfy and friendly. Our aim is to create an international and friendly atmosphere in the common spaces like lounge, courtyard balconies etc. I am very happy it worked with you :)
Feel free to come back anytime you need.
Betilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have stayed at Fleda with a group of friends last month and it was okey. I mean, if you want to stay in Brno and dont pay much, it is a great deal. It is not far from the city centre too, Vila Tugendhat is pretty close. The services are simple, but I really loved how they designed the place, the colours and the furniture is great! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Moreover, there is a cool club and bar downstairs, where we started and finished our pub tour around city.

Room Tip: If you travel in a group, it is good to ask for your own room. You do not even have to pay all beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Worst hostel I have ever been. I stayed in a room with one more friend for €19 per night wich is a reasonable price. Now we know where the price comes from. There was gum amd dirt on the floor, the shower was disgusting, the toilet seat was broken and there was a party going on till 4 next door. Also the city was not much. We were supposed to stay for three days, but after just one we fled to Vienna. Don't waist your money on this [--] place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betilde, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Fleda Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hello Beberson,
I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with Fleda. To be honest, we were aware of this situation, it was a disaster, so we decided to do some radical steps, changed the management and turned the situation 180° around! We have cleaned it all, painted the walls colourfully, bought new furniture and equipment.
If you visit Brno again, come to Fleda and we will convince you.
Cheers,
Betilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hi there!
Brno is definitely a place worth seeing. I was there in the Fall of 2010 just for a brief visit with my girlfriend. I read the reviews after we booked a room in Fleda hostel so my expectations were low but I don't mind cheap old grafittied furniture or filthy bathrooms, and I don't even mind the loud music pub under the hostel.
As we came and and checked in there were two rooms joint together. We were told that since it is a room for 6 people, no one else was going tonight. So we let our luggage in the room and went in the city. As we expected, the rooms were very poorly furnished, the shower was half-broken, but it did not matter much to me.
When we came back, to our surprise, we found that 3 guys from Sweden got the keys from the room as well and got the same room!!! The staff told us that its just a business and that the Swedish guys did not mind our presence in the room. Enough said, we took asked for our money back and left it. Luckily, although it was in the middle of the night, we found a nice place in the centre of the city for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Any other hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I don't think this Hostel deserves the reputation it appears to have developed, obviously it is no Hilton but it is friendly and has a cheap bar and a very nice cellar bar. During our stay here we didn't have any problems and enjoyed the chilled feel it had. The nightclub was only open Friday night so the noise levels aren't too bad though i do agree the tram is a little but for the money i would happy recommend staying here for the genuine Czech feel.

Room Tip: Room 5 we had was fine, nice wood floor and large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
1.2 mi away
Hostel Cafe Mitte
Hostel Cafe Mitte
#2 of 56 in Brno
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Eleven
Hostel Eleven
#27 of 56 in Brno
53 reviews
1 mi away
Ruta 80 Hostel
Ruta 80 Hostel
#15 of 56 in Brno
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostel John Galt
Hostel John Galt
#35 of 56 in Brno
40 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
2.9 mi away
Hostel Bed & Breakfast Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Fleda Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Fleda Brno

Address: Shtefanikova 95/24, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Brno
Price Range: £17 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Fleda Brno 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy your stay the best way possible, but not pay too much? Come to Fléda! Fleda is a pulsing place, low-cost, but cozy, with all the facilities a backpacker needs, and many opportunities to have fun around. WHAT IS THE ATMOSPHERE LIKE? Hostel Fleda is a place where history meets the present day- here you can feel the breath of the old days together with the contemporary rhythm of the city. How is this possible? Situating a centre for free-spirited travellers and the most modern venue for musicians in a building which used to house an art nouveau cabaret did the trick. WHAT HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT US? Hostel Fleda is the oldest hostel in Brno. We have had our ups and downs throughout the years, but we have pulled together all our professional experience , improved the place the best way we could and are ready to fulfill all the traveller´s needs and wishes like never before! Do you want to know exactly what we have done? Ok then: we have painted the walls tastefully, bought antique furniture and accessories, cleaned the bathrooms with a toothbrush (no kidding) and livened up the balconies by planting flowers and herbs. We do not want to pretend that Hostel Fleda will ever be a fancy three star hotel; what´s much more important for us is that the place has a soul. WHERE IS IT? Hostel Fleda is located close to the city centre and the most popular attractions: it's five minutes by tram or fifteen minutes walk through Luzanky, the oldest park in the city, a very popular place to have a picnic or play a game. The famous UNESCO-listed Villa Tugendhat is just behind this park. WHAT´S IN AND AROUND? Hostel Fléda offers both private rooms and dorms, which consists of bunk beds or single beds with good mattresses and comfortable pillows and blankets. Lockers are available in every room. Extra beds and childrens beds are also at your disposal , and pets are welcome. Sheets and towels are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Fleda Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing