We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for decent price”

Baroko Vinarna & Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 881 Restaurants in Brno
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food for decent price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went there for Saturday luch with as a group of adults and children. The place is newly renovated and offers nice atmosphere. The restaurant was half empty so there was no problem to find a suitable table. We ordered typical Czech food - goulash, duck with dumplings and sauerkraut, beef sirloin in cream sauce. I have to say that is was very tasty and all kids eat the whole portion as well as us. The only interrupting thing was a friend of the waiter sitting at the bar and talking loud and vulgar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janule2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Setting, Very Good Lunch Menus”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The restaurant is in renovated cellars of the former Minorite monastery, in the centre of the town, at Orlí 17, with entrance across from excellent HUDY sport equipment store (my Aussie hubby has been very impressed with what all they stock). I've been several times with my daughter, who works nearby, for lunch. One can choose from 5 different lunch menus which are very tasty and affordable, around 100,-CZK including soup and main dish of fair proportions, or from the usual choice on the full menu. Service was always very quick, friendly and efficient. I cannot judge what it is like during dinner time. The only hitch for me, with my poor knees, is a long staircase down and after, naturally, up to get to the street again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food at a Fair Price”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My partner & I stumbled on this place by accident on our last night in Brno.
The setting is atmospheric in the cellar type environment and due to the good spacing between tables felt that it was still intimate.
We started with the Goulash soup which was very tasty, followed it with a large steak accompanied with potatoes cooked with onions and bacon together with vegetables, really nice and well presented. Tiramisu & pancakes and blueberrries followed accompanied by a bottle of wine and a couple of beers all for less than the equivelent of £45.
Really would highly recommend this place good food, good service & good atmosphere What else could you want

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice setting and food, poor service..”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A stylish restaurant in the old town housed in the very elegant cellars of the old Minorite monastery dating from 13th century which creates a special atmosphere. Food is average quality and reasonable prices, but it was quite hard to get the attention of the waiter. Nevertheless we'd go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location, good beer, disappointing food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Helpful waiter, good beer, atmospheric cellar.
Food below average and prices above average. Overcooked main courses & side dish. Amusingly named "fried porn" was really corn.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanmacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baroko Vinarna & Restaurant also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Baroko Vinarna & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing