We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly Odd”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hansen Restaurant - CLOSED

Hansen Restaurant
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slightly Odd”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great food although bizarrely empty at 2030 on a Friday night which lead to the odd sensation of feeling like we were sat in someone else's dining room. Food was good and affordable though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harroguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience, definitely not worth a second visit”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

The restaurant did not sell the fish dish it advertised outside. The risotto they serve is watery and has no taste. The restaurant is very poorly decorated. Not a nice place to spend the evening. We were so disappointed that we did not even take coffee afterwards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not meeting my expectations”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I went here on Monday for lunch. One reason for choosing to try Restaurant Hansen were the good reviews on tripadvisor. My expectations based on the previous reviews were really not fulfilled:
I had first a pea soup and then a dish with a pork filet. Cost including one mineral water around CZK 400, which is already a bit on the expensive side for Brno. The pea soup was good. The pork filet with mashed potatoe/pea was a really small portion, and my plate was half empty. The usual meat portions in Brno restaurants are the double size! Also, the quality of the food was OK, taste too, but nothing special.
The location of the restaurant is good with a beautiful, large and classic room.
During all my lunch, I was the only guest in the restaurant (Monday), which is also not a good sign.
Service was friendly and attentive.
I will not go there again because of the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and wine with a romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Hansen is a really beautiful place to go for a romantic dinner. The cook knows what he is doing. During our visit there was a hosting chef who was cooking his autumn menu which was absolutely stunning. There was also a blues concert, however, the owner did not do a good promotion to that otherwise the restaurant would be absolutely full.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Satisfied with food, servise and friendliness...”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

It was our wedding venue :-) We could not have chosen a better place - the wild boar was the best meal many of our guests had have so far. The staff was super friendly and super profesional. The combination of beautifully decorated building with outer terrace and "cimbalovka" music sooooooo nice...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank zdenzden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hansen Restaurant also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing