We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best !!!!”
Review of Hostel Cafe Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Cafe Mitte
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best !!!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in Tugendhat room for 6 people for 2 nights. Though we shared the bathroom with one double room, there wasn´t a single problem! There are three bunk beds, each has a curtain which makes it a bit more private. The building, location (the very centre of Brno), staff, its café, breakfast - everything was superb!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    45
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
22
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Myvatn, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We only stayed for one night in this hostel but I would have loved to stay longer in that town. The location was very good and the staff was super helpful, with everything we needed. The rooms have curtains for the beds which makes the beds a bit more private.  
    Upstairs was the common room and the kitchen witch was not the best place to sit and chill but downstairs there is a coffee shop where it was very cozy to have a coffee and chat. 
    Would stay again 

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hostel Mitte was one of my favourite places that I stayed in during my 6 months in Europe. The staff we're incredibly warm and friendly and we're happy to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The hostel itself is very clean, very cosy, and each room has it's own character. I've stayed in many 6+ bed dorm rooms and this was by far the most spacious I have stayed in. Despite it being 'Low season' - the hostel were kind enough to let me perform a small concert for them with my guitar in their quaint and lovely cafe! It was a wonderful evening with a nice, relaxed atmosphere and the staff took great care of me. Whether you're travelling alone, as a couple or in a group - I couldn't recommend this hostel enough! I hope to return in the Summer :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I slept in Hostel Mitte just for one night, but I don´t have any complains. Staff was very kind and helpfull. Bathroom was spacioous and with a bathtub. The breakfast was also delicious.
I really appreciate the location of the hostel. It is close to the railway station and shopping center is just next to the hostel. I really enjoy staying here and I can recomend it:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hostel Mitte. The friendly staff members were so warm and welcoming when we arrived. One staff member sat down with me to show me a map and point out all the highlights, including some recommended restaurants. The location is very convenient, about a 5 minute walk from the train station and within easy walking distance of all of Brno's main attractions.

We stayed in the Kundera room which was in the attic. The bed was very comfortable, but there were a couple of minor inconveniences. First, there was no bathroom in the attic, so we had to use the bathroom in the common room on the floor below. I'm used to using shared bathrooms in hostels, but it was a little strange that this one was in the common room and not the most fun having to go downstairs instead of across the hall in the middle of the night. Also, the wi-fi signal did not reach the attic or even the common room on the floor below. I had to go down to reception to get a signal.

Neither of these complaints was that serious though, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff definitely makes a stay at Hostel Mitte highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kundera room which was in the attic. The bed was very comfortable, but there were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I visited Brno with my boyfriend in April 2014; we stayed for 2 nights. I chose Hostel Mitte because of its great location in the centre of Brno and good prices. Also the webside looked attractive to me. Now I can tell it was a good choice: the hostel is really cosy and it has a great atmosphere, it is clean, all the staff was very friendly and helpful, plus, they really have great coffee. I can reccommend this place to all young travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tereza_basarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelhrimov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have stayed many times in Brno before, but this place surprised me a lot. Although it is a hostel, the atmosphere, equipment and staff are on a higher level. Interier is very nice and functional, everything is clean, including the bathrooms, staff very welcoming. And what is most important - even though the building is in the very centre (Panska 11), this little street is very quiet. Recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed at Godel, single room. it was nice, light and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#11 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cafe Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cafe Mitte

Property: Hostel Cafe Mitte
Address: Panska 362/11, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cafe Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to the best and visit Hostel Mitte, which was awarded the title of Hostel of the Year 2012 by the Czech Youth Hostel Association. Stylish, with supreme levels of comfort and cleanliness, Hostel Mitte is the perfect place to call home during your stay in Brno. The hostel is located in one of the oldest buildings in Brno, and the interior design combines modern comfort with original antique furniture. Hostel Mitte offers both private rooms and dormitories, which consists of bunk beds with thick mattresses, as well as curtains and lockers for your privacy and safety. Sheets and towels are available for free. Extra beds and childrens beds are available on request. A fully equipped common room with microwave, fridge and cooker is at your disposal any time of day or night. You also get a free buffet breakfast!We aim to welcome you in the best way possible to the city we adore! Our receptionists are always ready to recommend places to visit, or to help you organise trip,s book tickets, or even show you around the sights or pubs!We organise barbecue parties, as well as guided tours in and around the city. Our guests are welcome to enjoy some of the best coffee around in Cafe Mitte downstairs. Enjoy the prize-winning coffee, fresh drinks, a range of Moravian wines or absinthe, all with a special discount!Opening hours: 8 - 23 Check-in: 14 - 22 Check-out: 8 - 11 Breakfast: 8 - 10 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Cafe Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing