We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, comfortable and helpful”
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandhotel Brno
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The Grand Hotel Brno proved to be an excellent hotel for our week's stay. With grand traditions, the hotel is well presented, welcoming and clean. The location, opposite the train station, main tram stop and bus station, and within easy walking distance of the centre of Brno, and its numerous good restaurants. The direct bus (76) from Brno airport terminates opposite the Grand Hotel. Our suite was very clean, spacious and comfortable, and the air conditioning effective. Our suite was at the back of the hotel, and we didn't find it noisy at all, and especially considering that it's a city centre hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent, a good variety and really everything that you might want. Use of the Mac computer (and printer, which didn't work) and WiFi in the lobby was complimentary but bizarrely the internet connection in the hotel bedrooms seemed expensive. The hotel reception kindly printed our boarding passes for our flight home. The hotel staff were knowledgable about the location of restaurants and bars, and were generally accommodating and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend the Grand Hotel Brno, an excellent base for a charming city, and for day trips to Vienna and Prague.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

I have stayed at this hotel four times now in the past year. I find it very comfortable and clean with a gracious staff. The rooms have a nice large bathroom with a terrific deep tub and plenty of hot water, lots of counter space and blow dryers. Tall ceilings make even the single rooms not feel cramped and the windows let in plenty of light. Wired internet in all rooms, short cables provided. Mini bars and in room safes are provided along with very large closets. Breakfast downstairs is nice, but I wish they would bring back the cook to order omelets. The restaurant is very good as is room service. Small bar in lobby. This hotel is directly across from the bus and train station. There is also a shopping mall with cinema showing many movies in English just across from the station. Up the stairs behind the hotel you will find the city center, easily accessible. This is not the fanciest hotel in Brno, but at less than half the cost it is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesabrowningkarasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The hotel is OK- just can't say it is a great 4 star hotel, it could definitely use some remodelling.
My room was really big and very very hot (the old central heating is working just fine..... but not in the bathroom. the bathroom was very big and very cold, as they remodeled it and put a small heater which is not on (unless you notice it and turn it on yourself) and is not enough to heat the room.
the location is good and central, the breakfast was ok.
overall, I repear it is just OK, nothing more.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel was nice enough. The ceilings in the rooms were strangely tall!! The bathroom was lovely and the whole room was very clean. I stayed on the first floor which could do with a bit of a remodel, but I accidentally took the elevator to the 4th floor and that floor seems to have been totally revamped and looks more modern. We ate in the restaurant and the food was decent, even though we were the only ones in the whole place. We did eat very late though. Around £26 for a really nice 2 course meal with bread to start. The bed was comfy and the shower was really good. No complaints at all...except I was woken up by the bin men at stupid o'clock in the morning. Very, VERY annoying!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

iv stayed her before and it was lovely,the hotel staff are very helpful with oraganising train/bus etc food was what i enjoy,my husband didnt enjoy the food but second time around my 19yr old son traveled with me and he loves the food,roll mopes,cheese,ham,sausages etc eggs werent great though to soft! i would def recommend the hotel also because its near to the transport and the town centre

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank gerard1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Since I travel here a lot i know this hotel very well. It is good location but I can never get comfortable here. Seems to be very noisy and depending on what room I get I could get a big room or a small room with a single bed. I'd still recommend it though especially for location. Train station is straight across the road and town center around the corner. Tesco close by as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Just opposite the main railway station, close all sightseeings and shops.
Free wifi in the lobby, good breakfast with on request prepared hot dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank zbynekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#14 of 57 in Brno
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#13 of 57 in Brno
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#10 of 57 in Brno
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing