We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brno - Grandhotel”
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandhotel Brno
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Sadly the hotel does not live up to its name.
The hotel is centrally located, and handly for old town , but it is now somewhat tired and run down. Television in the rooms have zero english speaking channels, and some rooms do not even have tea/coffee facilities.

Room Tip: go for business rate as it includes free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

Well located (next to train/bus station), clean, spacious rooms.
Pleasant restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Usually i stay in Grand Hotel when I am in Brno. It's not the best one but there you have value for money 100%. Let's start from defects: having a room in front of the railway station means being used to wake up early in the morning, as all the core transportation system of Brno is there (Student Agency Autobus Station, Tramway, Trains). Ask for a quit one situated on the other side. Second defect is the limited forniture in frigobar (if you use it) no basic drugs like whisky, red bull....only bear, water, fruit juice and wine + chocolate and peanuts. And now the plus.1) if you like historical palaces, this one, built in 1870, is what you're looking for. High ceilings, large bathrooms with windows make the differences. 2) Sauna and gym at your disposal. You ask to reception and you're booked in. 3) Parking place just in front of the hotel. Absolutely comfortable. 4) A real multichoice breakfast from 6.30 to 10.00. That's it, plus restaurant and bar open till midnight with free wifi. Inside rooms there's still the cable for internet connection.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eceriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Our bus dropped us off in front of the Grandhotel Brno which was a blessing in disguise. We only planned one day to see Brno so our arrival was pleasant because the hotel staff helped us as if we were staying there. The facility was nice including a spacious and clean toilet. The receptionist gave us a map, identified our places of interest and sold us bus tickets plus gave us descriptive instructions on how to get there. We stopped back by for lunch. I ordered the pork Vienna style which just means schnitzel or breaded. It came with boiled potatoes which were amazing! The farmer ordered blue cheeses ravioli which was tasty but a small portion. We have never had such ravioli. The blue cheese melted and folded into the tomato sauce making the dish rich and decadent. Luckily I had three pieces of pork so he was able to help me complete my portion. Good home base to get in and out of the cold while in Brno. Helpful staff!

Room Tip: Don't forget to visit the Mendel Museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank farm2fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The good...
Friendly service at reception, less so in the restaurant.
Great location opposite the railway station.
Large rooms.
Cheap.
The bad....
Very average food - not that anywhere in Brno is much better.
Rooms are old fashioned.
Wireless is free but only works (slowly) in the lobby.
TV dates from 1995, but you won't care as all channels are in Czech anyway.
Summary - if you have to visit Brno as we did, then this is ok. If you can afford it, Hotel Cosmo is better.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Hotel is central,ideal for tourists,don't take your car parking is very dear,go by train as we did.Brno is 2.5 hours from Prague.
Reception was good at English and German.Buy day tickets for trams etc from reception.
Breakfast was generous and varied,cold meats and cheeses and hot sausages eggs etc.Service was attentive be patient everyone does not speak english or speak it at high speed.
Bar was good ,restaurant was closed when we were there,Brno has lots of great restaurants,try the Empire next door.
All prices were tremendous in Brno probably as cheap as the UK 30 years ago.
Everyone seems to change money throughout Brno,be careful.
Brno is a fascinating compact city that has to be visited.

Room Tip: Book early to get best discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Good location: close to the train station and the centre of the city. Sensibly priced and staff were friendly. Food was good, both for breakfast and at the bar. Bedrooms were a litted dated by major european city standards but large, clean and with high ceilings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 57 in Brno
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#17 of 57 in Brno
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#12 of 57 in Brno
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing