We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel for the price”
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandhotel Brno
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed here in march with 10 other friends. I was surprised at the cleanliness and the size of the rooms! The staff were helpful and the hotel bar wasn't too expensive. There is also a casino which was good fun. You are based by the train station and the city centre is right on your doorstep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to share your experience. I am glad, that you had a nice stay in Brno and that the hotel’s location, good service and quality we provided have made your stay a remarkable one.

I believe that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Grandhotel Brno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was my second stay at the Grand, and I must say this was better than the first. Room was brilliant, breakfast great, bar really ok. So close to centre, it makes sense and ok may be near station but "location location location". I will be back on non business as it is a really nice feel.
Love you Grand.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank jwr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying with us, it was pleasure to read your comments.
I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Brno and I am looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grandhotel Brno soon.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just opposite to the main railway and the bus station, old city is just a walking distance) we liked the hotel and its service, next time if we happen to be in Brno- we will surely book this very hotel for our stay) Wi-fi free, clean rooms, personnel was friendly enough, even when we were a bit late for breakfast...they were very hospitable)) we liked the place very much) From there we could easily reach Nove Mesto Na Morave and see our Russian biathon team failure in the World Championship 2013 (( but that is still not the point))

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olyapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback! I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Brno, appreciating the hotel and its city centre location, as well as the helpful staff.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the future!

Yours sincerely
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at Hotel Grand for two nights, the staff were average at best, accommodation for a Single person was small but quiet. As far as the term "Grand", I would say to Czech standards the lobby was nice, including the casino, restaurant and bar, but I would not recommend this hotel to solo travelers unless you enjoy spending more money then necessary. The only positive I have for this Hotel is the location in which it is right across the street from the train station, head out the main exit and you cannot miss the large green lit sign "GRAND HOTEL"...

Room Tip: If you Like a view; ask for the street side, if you want peace and quiet; ask for the rear of Hotel...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for giving us feedback and sharing your experience.
Next time we would be pleased to offer you Standard double room or one of our spacious
Superior or Deluxe Rooms offering more space and comfort. You can also try our Junior Suite situated on the highest floor which is exceptional in its size. This spacious maisonette suite provides you with an elegant living area and a beautiful bedroom with large walk-in wardrobe.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel is right in front of Brno train station. It has been running since 1870 so the list of people that have stayed in the hotel includes T.A Edison, Emperor Franz Joseph and some others. Despite of its old age, this hotel does only look old in the outside. The inside is very modern with a nice bar and a very decent restaurants. The rooms are big and comfortable and the stuff is welcoming. It is walking distance from the center of the city, so it is the perfect spot for the traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for the positive comments you have made. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Brno, appreciating the hotel and its city centre location, as well as our helpful staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grandhotel Brno soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is attached to casino that you cannot avoid cigarette smoke in the lobby, cafe and also hallway even on the 4th floor that they call "no smoking" floor. I could smell smoking in my room and need to turn on the ventilation fan in the bathroom nearly all night.
The toilet did not flush properly and have to wait 15 minutes for water to full up to tank for next flush as well as faucet of wash basin that water run half of what it supposes to that hot water didn't work properly (imagine my trip in winter time).
The most important one is the bed was so small. My french colleagues complained so much about this and it was not comfort at all. We noticed that it started to have more Chinese group tour in this hotel in the last couple of our stay. I got slight better rate with a full prepayment.
it's not too bad comparing to price. If there is other choice, I would prefer to pay higher for a better sleep hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room at the corner of each floor if I recall 219. It's the smallest that you cannot walk...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaoMichelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all I want to thank you for giving us feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding the smoke smell. Our hotel and all its premises are non smoking.
We believe that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in the future and will be very pleased to offer you one of our spacious and comfortable Superior or Deluxe Rooms.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed here twice, once in Nov-12 and once in Dec-12, both for business

Pros:
Rooms are quite big and spacious
Breakfast is nice
Location is the best advantage, walking distance from the city center and still away from all the noise
Good value for money
Taxi stand right outside the hotel
Friendly staff

Cons:
Even though the entire hotel is non-smoking, there in the constant smell in the common areas which is a put off
No ramp at the entrance to drag the luggage, will have to lift the luggage for around 4 steps
Furniture and fittings are dated

Room Tip: Higher up on the south side for a good view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratyush K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to share your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding the smoke smell.
We would like to inform you, that according to the decision taken by our management all our guest rooms as well as the whole public area are non smoking now.

We hope that will get the opportunity to show you the usual high standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#11 of 56 in Brno
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#4 of 56 in Brno
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#12 of 56 in Brno
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range: £64 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing