We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Brno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Brno
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights in June for a weekend break. Overall the property disappointed me. The hotel is generally tired and well in need of a refurbishment. While I did not expect the hotel to be fantastic I at least expected a better welcome as an IHG elite, which didn't materialise (1 drinks voucher for 2 married guests, etc).I had a standard room and as an IHG Elite received no room upgrade despite the hotel being empty. I was later informed the 4th floor location of my room constituted an upgrade but this was frankly just not the case.

The room itself was very small indeed and very dated, as was the rest of the hotel. While I did not expect the hotel to be fantastic I at least expected a better welcome as an IHG elite, which didn't really materialise (1 drinks voucher for 2 guests, etc).

If you are looking to explore Brno, the location of the hotel is not convinient. It is aprox. 15 mins from the centre of Brno by public transport (bus) or 15 mins walking and a tram. As it is beside the exposition centre and has a bus to the Technology Park I imagine it serves its purpose for those locations. In terms of dining, the hotel restaurant/bar prices are more than double good quality local restaurants (as is often the case with brand hotels in the Czech Republic) but this is only for expense account visitors so why bother to compete. Its a shame as if my experience as an IHG member would have been better, despite the drawbacks, living in CZ, I would have been a regular visitor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Brno, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Shamrock104,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I was very sorry to hear that our room design and size did not meet your expectations as we constantly pay attention to the appearance and condition of all our rooms.

We are happy that you were recognised as a IHG® Rewards Club Elite member by our reception staff at check-in and that you have been offered Welcome Amenity choice. This consist of drink or the points voucher per guest room for all our Gold and Platinum members.

Please note that hotel room uprage for Platinum Elite members might include rooms on higher floors, corner and quiet rooms or room with a preferred view. We are also always trying to consintently appreciate Gold Elite members loyalty offering them the best rooms in the cathegory.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and your loyalty to InterContinental Hotels Group.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Loyalty Champion about your concerns, queries or other requirements regarding IHG® Rewards Club at pcr@hibrno.cz

Please do not allow this one experience to prevent you considering us for planning your next trip.

Sincerely
Petr Skrivanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    129
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
24
18
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

your standard Holiday inn, but nice enough.
The room is a good size, with mini bar and tea and coffee making, as well as TV and 4 hour renewable wifi [better than many Holiday Inn on that score]. There was also a sitting area with sofa and table and a work desk
The bathroom has a bath with shower over.
Its clean and smart as you expect from a big chain hotel.
The staff are friendly and speak good english.
The breakfast is good, cooked options including fresh made to order omlettes , as well as meats, cheese, breads etc.
There is a LITTLE gym with a treadmill, cross trainer, bike and a weird air powered multi gym. Nothing special but enough for a night or two.

Brno is a nice medium sized city as well, well worth a weekend break

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Brno, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Russell E,

Thank you for your brief overview of your stay at Holiday Inn Brno. I am very pleased to find out that you liked our free WiFi connection and your room and that you found the staff helpful and friendly.

I am happy to hear that hotel breakfast was adequate for you and that you found everything you need on the table.

Again we would like to thank you for staying with us and hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Petr Skřivánek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
394 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Located in the middle of nowhere, this place is as exciting as watching paint dry. Gym is minuscule, bathrooms are tiny, air con nonexistent, and overall, a complete disappointment. Only bright spot is the lobby bar, where you can smoke cigars, and the service has been consistently good and friendly. Not enough reason to come back, though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Brno, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear hi_stick,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at Holiday Inn Brno.

Whilst I am pleased to read that you found our Lobby Bar to be relaxing, with attentive staff, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the overall ambience of the hotel.

As a hotel located near the exibition fair and close to the city center we are happy to offer our guests quiet location with easy reach to the Brno old town as well as the motorway.

There is a public transport stop in front of the hotel, taxi ride takes 5 minutes and costs only 4 euro one way. The other option is the nice and easy 25 minutes walk to the heart of the city passing the Brno main tourists attractions and restaurants like The Summer Pavilion At Mitrovskych, Starobrno Brewery, Spilberk castle or Petrov cathedral.

We are part of the Holiday Inn hotel chain that means we guarantee our guests the size of the room according to the european standard.

Please don't allow this one experience to prevent you considering us for planning your next trip as we can offer you one of our suites with bigger bathroom and I am sure you will enjoy a more pleasant experience.

Sincerely
Petr Skrivanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed here for one night during a business trip, exactly what is needed - clean, tidy, good food, good service, quiet. The hotel was also very good value for money. I can not comment on the location as I taxied in & out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acid_slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
154 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel has a big parking lot so it's very easy to get in with luggages. I liked the food variety and taste. My room was next to the cleaners' room which resulted that I woke up around 6 when they slammed the doors and opened the water tap. (It was not their fault it was the lack of soundproof walls) Overall the hotel is good but this experience shadowed it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Brno, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Loment,

First of all I would like to thank you for your nice comments regarding our parking space and I am also happy that you liked our food offer and its quality.

I would like to take this opportunity to offer my sincerest apologies for your morning experience.
We have communicated this with our housekeeping staff.

Our hotel prides itself on an excellent quality of sleep and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future so we can prepare a quiet room for you.

Once again thank you for your comments as we greatly value hearing all of our guests’ feedback.

Sincerely
Petr Skřivánek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I spend there two nights on my business trip and I was well satisfied.
Today I start with cons. I can only think of one and that is a location. Hotel itself is situated right next to Brno exhibit center. It is a 10-15 mins car ride from train, and bus central stations or from a downtown. And there is not so good coverage by city transport system.

Pros.
Insides of hotel looks very representative, staff is very helpful and provides all informations right on check in. Service is in my point of view high above average level. In bathroom was actualy bath tube, quite nice was extra small and large towels. There was also more then enough electric plugs (phone, tablet, notebook, netbook).
Breakfast will satisfied you more then enough. There are plenty of everything.

Last of all was prize. For this kind of hotel and service, I will gladly pay more then one and half then they charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vojtěch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Brno, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Vojtěch L,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
We are also delighted that you liked your room and bathroom and was able to plug your devices everytime you need it.

Again I would like to thank you for your comments and we do hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Sincerely
Petr Skřivánek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spend there, with my colleague 3 days during Travel Fever 2013. Hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the fair, which is a great advantage for visitors of the fair. Hotel was quite, clean and food was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XI_XAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Brno, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear XI_XAO,

many thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends have a nice stay and that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant.

We are looking forward to your next visit soon.

Sincerely
Petr Skřivánek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 56 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
1.6 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
5.0 mi away
Maximus Resort
Maximus Resort
#5 of 56 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brno

Property: Holiday Inn Brno
Address: Krizhkovskeho 496/20, Brno 603 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#11 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Brno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a great hotel when visiting the biggest Czech Trade Fair and Exhibition Ground , Holiday Inn Brno is your ideal choice. Just a few min.from City Centre and 10 km from Brno International Airport , the hotel can be easily reached from main Czech highway, so you will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do in Brno. Holiday Inn Brno is situated close to many corporate headquarters. Holiday Inn Brno is the first five star hotel in the area and offers luxury and cosy accommodation in a peaceful and quite surrounding. Weather you are coming to Brno for business, meeting, conference or just for fun your hotel room at the Holiday Inn Brno is your personal retreat. Relax in your own elegant room with luxurious bedding, modern décor and amenities including complimentary high speed internet access and all the satellite sports and movie channels you need. Experience fine dining at one of the best restaurants in Brno restaurant Prominent, where you can enjoy your meal in a romantic atmosphere with personal service touch and today s sophisticated cuisine. Or you can have your favourite drink and light refreshments in our Lobby Bar. Restaurant Brasserie is serving delicious buffet breakfast. From a great start of the day to a relaxing meal in the evening our team looks forward to welcoming you. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Brno a success. We're the Holiday Inn Brno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brno Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing