We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel has been booked by the hosting organization for me. It is pretty well located just north of the city center. Walking from train station takes like 15 minutes. The hotel offes all the things you might require on a normal business trip. However, I did not see a swimming pool or sport facilities. The breakfast is ok, but did not look that fresh, although the coffee was good. The service was excellent and fast. I got a iron for free use and could buy a new tooth brush at night at the reception. Overall good value for money (especially with the university deal). Please note, that there is currently construction in front of the hotel, but which did not bother me at all (my particular room just faced the opposite side). Finally, Internet is for free (wifi and cable).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    79
    42
    12
    2
See reviews for
4
25
14
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

we stayed here with my father during the fia gt1 championship for one night, and for that price it's great value. they have guarded parking spot, rooms were appropriate, obliging waiter on the breakfast was nice to us. but the biggest upside is the reception. the staff will help you or give you nice advice regarding eating out. plus they have complimentary cable inet connection.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The hotel is located on the edge of the historic centre of Brno, within a short walking distance of the main sights. The building is a concrete highrise from the Soviet era but it has been nicely renovated inside. Both reception area and our room looked quite nice. Breakfast had a wide selection of the usual breakfast items. Service was generally good.

There were some small problems. Wireless internet worked fine on the first day but became very slow on the next days. The minibar was replenished only once every 2-3 days. (The prices for minibar items were, however, much cheaper than in a typical hotel minibar, with beers only slightly above 1 EUR/bottle.) Also, hotel had computers for guest use but no printer - which became a problem when we wanted to print our boarding passes for the return flight.)

Overall, we were quite happy with the hotel. Its positives (nice rooms, closeness to the city centre and the very good price) outweighted the small problems. I recommend this for people who are looking for moderately-priced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Good place for overnight stay... Very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weetek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

This hotel is one of the best in the city of Brno IF YOU COMPARE QUALITY AND PRICE. Keep in mind that this is a 3 star hotel. You will get everything what You expect from this level. My room was very clean, bathroom as well. Furnishing OK, flat screen TV, nice view on the old town. Breakfast sufficient, for a 3 stars hotel excellent. The staff at the reception could be more friendly and faster. Car parking possibility is KC 200 a day (7 EUR). Otherwise You must park on the street and this could be difficult (down town). The location is in the very centre of Brno, that is fine. I would recomment having lunch and a dinner somewhere else - you can eat cheaper and better than in this hotel. I recommend the restaurant La Bouchée on Udolni street ABSOLUTELY (5 minutes walking distance)!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Reception staff (slowly, cold)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reposak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

I'm in the middle of a two week stay here on business - and I have to say I quite like the place.

My room is small - if you're used to the American chain hotels, then for small read claustrophobic - but it has clearly been recently refurbished. It has a double bed, en-suite shower room, large wardrobe and mirror, desk with internet, lamp and chair, fridge (stocked as a mini-bar), easy chair (not that easy) and a couble of bedside shelves with reading lamps over.

The lighting in the room is wall-mounted and I would say is not really sufficient for reading or working at the desk - and the desk lamp is on so short a cable you are limited as to where it can be placed.

The double bed is large and very comfortable (Not in the same league as a Marriot bed - but a lot better than average). The quilt is a strange affair. Unlike the usual configuration of a continental quilt in a 'bag' here they wrap the quilt in an a ultra large sheet, think of a a burrito and you've got the idea. But just get under it and sleep - it works fine for that purpose. You get two BIG pillows, not the glut of soft furnishings you get in other hotels these days.

The en-suite is petite. It has no bath, it's not big enough for one - but you know, I prefer the dedicated shower cubicle - you get more room and you don't have the horrid curtains sucking in against you. The water pressure was really good and the temperature stable. The towels are tired and small, if you're built for comfort, you're gonna struggle with the towels. (But a quality towel and my slippers are two luxuries I try to squeeze into my luggage whenever possible)

You do get really good wardrobe space - with proper (plastic) coat hangers - not those ones that say "Our guests are the type of people who steal coat hangers, so we're gonna design ours so that they are of no use to them". I sent washing to the laundry and when I got in that evening it was all neatly laid out on the bed for me.

In addition, my room has a balcony (Not all rooms have this). Unfortunately, I was only on the first floor - so I didn't get any great views - but I would imagine a balcony, on a higher floor could give a fantastic view over the city - it is one of the tallest buildings in the vicinity.

The FREE INTERNET, worked reliably, and over the 2 weeks I'm here will represent quite a saving.

Breakfast is the only meal I've eaten in the hotel - and it is pretty much as described in the Ian_and_Mary review. So I avoid the 'hot' option and stick to the continental - the fresh fruit salad is really good and much healthier. Remember, the hotel is so close to the town you are spoilt for choice when it comes to good restaurants in easy walking distance, so why would you want to eat in ? (And I've not been in a restaurant that did not have the menu in Czech, German and English - oh except for the Chinese, and they had pictures !) My first week here, clashed with a big trade fair - so breakfast was the scrum described by Ian_and_Mary and coffee was hard to come by (so stagger your times to miss the rush if you can) but this second week it's quiet and the service is really attentive.

I've now stayed in three different hotels in Brno. By most measures, this is not the best one - it is what it is - a basic 3-star hotel - but taking everything into consideration (especially, Bed, Location, Internet, Shower, Wardrobe) - this is now my hotel of choice in Brno. I will be staying here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size is small.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StayAwayEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

This hotel is very expensive for a Czech person, yet the services are bad. I booked a room with AC, paid extra for it and at night, the AC stopped working. I called the reception desk and the receptionist told me that no repair can be done at night. She offered to move me to another room, but the AC was not working there either. I had to open the window to be able to sleep, but the noise from the street was very bad. The hotel is NOT in a quiet neigborhood. In the morning, I was told the AC shuts down when the temperature outside is 17C! So one pays for AC and then in hot weather has to suffer at night. The receptionist at night did not know this information so the service was really not good at all. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rena66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
0.7 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 56 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#15 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Kounicova 680/6, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#4 Spa Hotel in Brno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#12 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing