We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal Ricc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Ricc
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Hotel is the heart of Brno, which is a pretty city. Walk out of the Hotel straight into shopping/ bars etc. Your car is parked for you, please note if using satnav it tells you it is a pedestrian street, it is! But park outside and the staff will bring your car when you need it. There is a charge for parking but worth it. We loved the room, beautiful decoration, ornate and very unusual, it had aircon too. Free WiFi and a lovely breakfast .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth13reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    60
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
70
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed in this lovely cozy hotel when visiting relatives in Brno. It was a charming place, with many period features. Brno doen't have any chain/luxury hotels but this was a nice and economic option. No complains.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMLondon_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I loved this hotel! It's right in the pedestrian zone in Brno. I just had to walk out the door and there were a dozen things to see and do within 5-6 minutes walk: a farmers market, about four different beautiful churches, a castle... I could go on. It was perfect since it made getting back to the room in time for my daughter to take her afternoon nap very easy. We were able to go out twice a day without compromising sleep schedule at all. The rooms are incredible (and large) with stained glass windows, wood panelled ceilings and ceramic heaters. The room also had air conditioning, so I was able to close the windows when we wanted a little quiet. There are double windows so there's no problem with noise reaching us from below. I believe the building was 17th or 18th century. The service was also excellent. On the first day, my daughter and I missed breakfast and they made one just for us. Their loose leaf tea was very good. The parking situation was also quite easy. The pedestrian zone opens up to cars after 5pm. My husband, who was working during our trip, would drive right up to the door of the hotel after work and someone from the hotel would bring the car back to him the next morning. I won't stay anywhere else when I'm in Brno.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedievalMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2009

If you are looking for a Czech hotel run but Czech people this is a pretty hotel with bags of character. I spent a family weekend at this hotel and was generally impressed, clean and tidy rooms with high ceilings. A good bar with usual cocktails, reasonable priced. Breakfast is a little average but still fresh.

Eating out
Make sure you book..most of the restaurants only seat you if you pre-book. The hotel are more than happy to help, we had a fantastic meal at one of the hotels sister restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlton75Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I have just spent 8 nights at the Hotel Ricc - & would certainly never go back. The reception is extremely smoky, the restaurant permanently empty & uninviting, the breakfast of a poor quality and the same dishes served day after day. The worst, however, are the rooms. I was originally in Room 408, which was pretty small and extremely dark. The dark blue painted ceiling, with faux beams and gold painted coats of arms features make the room extremely uninviting. It felt more like a coffin. I eventually got moved to Room 306, which was marginally better. The green painted ceiling made it slightly lighter. There are nicer hotels in Brno to stay in, for much better value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cem70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Great central location near cathedral and v quiet. Charming room with painted beams and stained glass window. Good breakfast. We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked good (though smoking allowed)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murren, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

I have stayed in the Grand Hotel and found it to be very ungrand. Now I have found the right place to stay. This is a delightful piece of history, very well refurbished and the rooms are very comfortable. All the usual toys for the business traveller and no doubt appropriate for romantic trip too.
They will park your car and return with sensible notice. Very peaceful at night and a nice wee bar. Breakfast was ordinary and the basement seemed a less than suitable place to eat when you have all that beauty outside and visible from the ground floor.
The staff were very helpful and polite as was the service throughout. Great spot.

  • Liked — lovely old style decoration
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room at the front
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 56 in Brno
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#15 of 56 in Brno
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#14 of 56 in Brno
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Ricc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Ricc

Property: Hotel Royal Ricc
Address: Starobrnenska 338/10, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brno
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Ricc 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Ricc is situated right in the centre of the Moravian metropolis Brno on Starobrnenska Street, which is one of the oldest streets in the city. This four-star hotel prides itself on a rich family history reaching all the way back to the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The name itself indicates the style and quality of the hotel's services - Royal Ricc offers a cosy and romantic environment with royal services.. The renowned gothic cathedral Petrov, a picturesque Zelny trh (Vegetable Market), and the Spilberk fortress are in the close proximity of the hotel. Thanks to its location and high quality services, the hotel is much sought after by many important and famous personalities coming to Brno. The hotel is luxuriously furnished and fully air-conditioned. Its interior very gracefully combines functional furnishing with Old Masters paintings and wall frescoes. This provides the perfect setting for a relaxing romantic getaway as well as a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Ricc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ricc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing