We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap stay in the middle of downtown Brno”
Review of Hotel SLAVIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SLAVIA
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Prague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cheap stay in the middle of downtown Brno”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

If you would like to stay just in the centre of Brno - this is your chance! Not so comfortable interiors but quality of F&B dpt. will surprise you. Walk 2 min to Svobodovo square, walk 5 min to Špilberg hill, Besední dům (home of Brno Philharmonic orchestra) - 30 sec :) . No drywalls at buildings but only brick building = silence in the room. Highest standard of staff, especially on reception desk.

Room Tip: Try to use massage studio on 4th floor - perfect for relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
13
36
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

My title says it all. Close to the main square and easy to get around. As everyone says, it's never been updated since communist times, apart from the addition of the small TV which is dwarfed by the generous sized rooms, which I kinda liked!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdamTomkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturovo, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed in hotel Slavia Brno for 1 night only as part of a business trip in Czech republic. The hotel has great potential of becoming a truely genuin retro hotel for people who would like to experience the socialist era type accomodation. Unfortunately the website says its "fitted up with modern comforts and conveniences" probably meaning the smallest tv set ive ever seen in my life or the only reminder of modern times: the good wi-fi signal across the hotel grounds.
I can though recommend the hotel to those who want to travel back in time and are looking for something special to experience during their visit in town. Hotel should accomodate the prices to fit such experience more and should change their marketing in case they are not ready to invest into the refurbishing of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiliaBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

On a business trip in April a friend booked us into Slavia to remind us how they used to build hotels under the communist regime. He was absolutely right - it brought back many memories, but not in a good way. While the rooms were spacious, the bathrooms were not and in need of renovations. The size of the TV screen could not have been more that 9 inches (definitely smaller than my notebook screen), the carpets were tired and things were not helped by pigeon coop right in front of my window. The only reason I would give it more than one start was on account of helpful personnel, both at the reception desk and at the breakfast buffet (which was nothing to write home about).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stay there when I was on business trip, so I spent little time there. The hotel is in the city centre. Rooms are large enought, clean, with private facilities, equipped with TV and refrigerator with minibar. The hotel provides services appropriate to its location. I use only one service - hotel microbus. Buffet breakfast, the menu is rich, dishes are fresh and are continuously updated. The hotel offers czech and international cuisine, food is tasty, portions sufficiently great. Food prices are comparable to other restaurants, for accommodations are quite high. I did not like outdated hotel equipment(door, wall coverings, carpets, draperies) that would merit modernization.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenous_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We chose this hotel as a mid-point stop over during our holiday in the Czech Repiblic. Whilst visiting my Wifes' family and taking in the sights of this beautiful country we decided to stop of in Brno the coutry's 2nd city. The hotel location in the centre of Brno is perfect but that is where the good points end. This hotel from the outside is typical of Czech architecture, quiet ornate and historical in it's appearance which is in keeping with the look of the city, being a large university city. As soon as you step into the hotel your journey into the past begings. This hotel has not been modernised since the early 1960's, the decor and amenities are so sadly lacking that it negates the slightly favourable rates. This sad hotel boasts a 4 star rating but by UK standards would struggle to meet 2 stars and in all honesty would be more akin to hostel accommodation, the only factor that makes it a hotel is the en-suite facilities, but don't get excited about this they are a bad parody of an episode of rising damp (a UK sitcom from the 70's/80's based in a terrible boarding house). The hotel is staffed by a group of very inexperienced young women who obviously new little or nothing about the hotel trade and hospitality. The restaurant left us feeling rushed, unwelcome and disgusted in the quality of food, so much so that on the 2nd day I choose to have a fast food breakfast over the Slavia's poor offerings. There was one comedy moment in our 2day stay, that was the reception telephone - it was the biggest, orange, retro-soviet pics of telecommunication hard wear that I had ever seen, this phone would not have looked out of place on the desk of President Breshnev when he was in charge of the USSR. To add final insult to the whole experience we had to pay to park our car at the hotel.
If you want a centrally located hotel in Brno, Slavia is perfect, but be warned if you want a hotel with even the most basic of hotel amenities then give salvia a wide berth, I personally like a hotel where the curtains meet in the middle to provide privacy, in this hotel there was a 30cm gap. I also would like to leave a hotel and not be shown horrendous insect bites by my wife which only could have occured whilst in the room. Hotel Slavia is not a 4 star hotel by any standard in any part of the world, so if your considering it as a location for you be warned and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I attended an international exhibition in Brno in January 2011 and stayed in this hotel. It is very centrally located and the rooms are spacious, with very high ceilings. A bit cold in the winter though. The furniture is a little shabby as is the entire hotel – it felt like it had not been renovated for quite a while. However, it does offer free wi-fi, which is very important as far as I am concerned. Breakfast is served from 7 to 11 a.m. and it was rather scanty when I was there. It seems they tend to run out of food towards the end of breakfast time. All in all, not really up to 4 stars but you can’t beat the location and the price was good.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#17 of 55 in Brno
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 55 in Brno
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#10 of 55 in Brno
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cyro
Hotel Cyro
#21 of 55 in Brno
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SLAVIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SLAVIA

Property: Hotel SLAVIA
Address: Solnicni 17, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SLAVIA 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SLAVIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing