We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, retro hotel”
Review of Hotel SLAVIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SLAVIA
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Located in the historic old city of Brno, this hotel is clean and well maintained. Decor and furnishings are vintage late 1970's. It was probably the last word in creature comforts when the Central Committee of the Czechoslovak Communist Party stayed here. Removable showerhead hangs at face level. Rooms have wifi and a small, "portable" TV of the kind I remember from childhood. Little bakery across the street.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 215sams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

cheap, silent and very simple hotel in the center of Brno ;)
we are sportsmen and we were interested in good rest and comfort at night. And I was pleased with this place(sorry for my english :) ). You go to the main entrance, and in 3-5 minutes you appeared in a beautiful Brno. It's very easy and comfortable, because youdo not need to take taxi or another meabs of transport.
Once again I apologize for my horrible english.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuta95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When I had my car broken and called the hotel to say that I could not come the girl said it was my own problem, refused to pronounce her name clearly and charged my card. They do not care how they make money. Disgusting attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Convenient hotel. Retro charm. Location is excellent. Rooms very big. Bathroom also big with tub and 2 sinks. The only thing I did not like was the breakfast. Bad coffee, not a lot of variety. I would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

If you would like to stay just in the centre of Brno - this is your chance! Not so comfortable interiors but quality of F&B dpt. will surprise you. Walk 2 min to Svobodovo square, walk 5 min to Špilberg hill, Besední dům (home of Brno Philharmonic orchestra) - 30 sec :) . No drywalls at buildings but only brick building = silence in the room. Highest standard of staff, especially on reception desk.

Room Tip: Try to use massage studio on 4th floor - perfect for relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My title says it all. Close to the main square and easy to get around. As everyone says, it's never been updated since communist times, apart from the addition of the small TV which is dwarfed by the generous sized rooms, which I kinda liked!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank AdamTomkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed in hotel Slavia Brno for 1 night only as part of a business trip in Czech republic. The hotel has great potential of becoming a truely genuin retro hotel for people who would like to experience the socialist era type accomodation. Unfortunately the website says its "fitted up with modern comforts and conveniences" probably meaning the smallest tv set ive ever seen in my life or the only reminder of modern times: the good wi-fi signal across the hotel grounds.
I can though recommend the hotel to those who want to travel back in time and are looking for something special to experience during their visit in town. Hotel should accomodate the prices to fit such experience more and should change their marketing in case they are not ready to invest into the refurbishing of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliaBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#12 of 57 in Brno
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#13 of 57 in Brno
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#10 of 57 in Brno
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 57 in Brno
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SLAVIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SLAVIA

Address: Solnicni 17, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Price Range: £53 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SLAVIA 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel SLAVIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing