We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but not great”
Review of Hotel SLAVIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel SLAVIA
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 19 September 2008

The hotel is very well located, right in the center of Brno.
The problem is that everything looks (and is) outdated. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but not very modern.
Also, no possibility of Internet access in the rooms (apart from a paying Wifi hotspot).
All in all, the hotel is good, but not as good as expected given the price (CZK1,900/night).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eyyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2008

After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical when it came to this hotel. But I have to say I think they did a little remodeling because the hotel wasn't dated. I was in a triple and it was a huge room. There was one room for one and the two of us shared a separate room. The two of us share what appeared to be twins pushed together which was fine for us. Our view wasn't the best because we were facing other rooms but they have rooms with views facing the street. The bathroom was huge. My only problem with it was with the tub. It was too tall to get into so stepping into required a great deal of effort and I'm not short, I’m 5'9". Also, the shower head was on a stand so you had to take it off to shower otherwise you were performing some yoga moves to shower.

The breakfasts were always amazing. They always had some form of Kielbasa with spicy brown mustard. There was a bar with luncheon meats in it and a stand with a variety of cereal on it. In addition, every day they had some sort of pastries and there was always yogurt as well. The “orange juice” wasn’t pure orange juice. It was some mixture of tang and orange juice. The coffee was so delicious and definitely didn't need any cream or sugar [I’m such a coffee addict I’ve had my share of bad coffee, which is a must in the morning]. Most of the staff was very nice to us. There were a few night hostesses that were a little abrupt with us. Next to the check-in desk was a little room with free internet. This is a definite plus for staying in touch with people or work back at home.

It's definitely close to the center of town, which has some of the best food there. I would say it is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the town square. There is a tram stop up one block from the hotel so it is very convenient. The area is nice and it felt pretty safe when we would walk around it later on at night. There is a disco downstairs, although I never visited it, if you are interested.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smarty2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

This place is in a decent location close to the center of Brno. The whole hotel it is noted won some awards back in 1983 I believe. I believe that nothing has been done since then. Eveything is a old, shabby and could not possibly be reccomended.
We were on a lads weekend away so it was not that bad in a way - we got a triple room and didnt spend time there.

If you were away with GF/Wife you would hate it. Everything is tired and drab. The bathroom suite is brown/green for example.

Reception is tired and breakfast shockingly bad. The lift feels like it struggles to get from floor to floor.

As said great location but would not reccomend to anyone...better places for cheaper I reckon.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LondonRjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

We stayed at the hotel slavia for 4 nights during nov 2006. It was a great location, close to the castle, city centre and tram stop. The room was large, and the only critisism was that the decor was a dated and there was no internet access. The staff were a little bit grumpy, but the breakfast was fine, a good selection of continental cold food, and hot items, including omeletes and scrambled eggs. The food was generally good, except on the last day, where my omelete had been so heavily salted it was inedible. It felt more 3* than 4*, but for the money it was comfortable, affordable and the location was ideal. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lautin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2006

Our room in the Hotel Slavia was one of the largest "single" rooms I've ever had. It had a entry way, a reception area, and then a bedroom, complete with a balcony. It was clean, though not very modern, but still an overall nice-ish place to stay.

The staff was a bit surly, though I encountered many people in Brno with a similar attitude.

I found the hotel to be a bit noisy, but that's because a tour bus came in at about midnight carrying what seemed to be hundreds of Italians...It is an old building, and of course, does not have double-glazing.

I got our room for about 64 euros/night and I would stay there again for that rate. The location is superb and the place was relatively charming compared to the rest of the hotels that are in Brno.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cosmogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2004

The Hotel Slavia seems not to have changed much since the Velvet Revolution. The rooms are large and relatively clean, but outdated. Secure parking is far away and inconvenient. The advantages of this hotel are that it's centrally-located and breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LAcentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir haben 8 Zimmer gebucht, alle waren geräumig, sauber und relativ ruhig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andreasandrea2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 57 in Brno
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#4 of 57 in Brno
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#19 of 57 in Brno
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Albellus
Hotel Albellus
#25 of 57 in Brno
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#17 of 57 in Brno
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SLAVIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SLAVIA

Address: Solnicni 17, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SLAVIA 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel SLAVIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing