We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean and great location”
Review of Hotel Pegas Brno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pegas Brno
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Brno
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and great location”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Spent a weekend here with friends and found the hotel to be very nice, clean and friendly. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms very nice. The minibar is also stocked with a few basic drinks which are included in the price!

A nice plus is that there was free wireless Internet access in reception and downstairs in the bar/restaurant (where they make beer). There is also a taxi rank outside so it's very easy to just walk out and grab one when needed.

The bar/restaurant downstairs serves decent food and good beer at reasonable prices, although the service is quite surly.

The location is right in the middle of the city and it's very easy to get anywhere in Brno, and everyone knows the hotel so it's easy to get back!

Only negative comment is that the breakfast was not very good.

Overall we had a good time and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    65
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
44
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I decided to try it once - I assumed it would be a small, basic room that is clean and comfortable and a good price. All of this was true. I wondered if staying there alone as a woman would be strange or unsafe as it's situated above a lively brew pub. It was perfectly safe and comfortable and I would book it again. It's charming, and breakfast and minibar are included in the rate (including a bottle of Pegas beer brewed just downstairs). My only complaint was the heat in the room was a bit too much for me. I turned it off and opened the window, which helped, but I didn't have control over the towel heat rack in the bathroom, and this produced a lot of heat. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAngeleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was my second stay at the Pegas, and I really enjoy staying there. It is in a very convenient location, within walking distance of most of Brno's attractions. The first floor contains an excellent restaurant which makes excellent beer, and is obviously popular with the locals, because it is often very busy. The desk staff will make you a reservation if you like. Every day in the minibar, you get a free sample of the beer. You also get a lovely breakfast every morning with a wide selection. The staff will also have the restaurant cook something special for you if you like. Like the last time I was there, we arrived before check in time. The staff is always very kind and helpful. We were given our room early. Then the lady told us that the price I had agreed upon was being discounted a further 10%. This was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very comfortable, the bed was excellent, and the contents of the minibar free of charge. I can't say enough about how helpful the staff was. The clerk even gave us some good advice about how much to pay a cab driver for the short trip to the train station. We were most satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanerHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed at Hotel Pegas in Sept 2010 as part of a Stag trip to Brno. 16 of us stayed and all the rooms were of an excellent standard all clean and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and very accommodating especially being a large group. Couldn't have asked for a better location as bars, restaurants, casinos are within walking distance. Hotel had lots of character with it's own microbrewery on premises and a nice alternative to large corporate/business hotels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Hotel Pegas is categorized as a four-star accommodation. Although it is obvious that is was recently renovated (as I heard, some 1-2 years ago or similar), there are some points that do not support its actual category. In my opinion, when compare Pegas to some other Czech hotels that belong to either two- or three-star selections (for example Ibis hotels from the Accor group), it seems that Pegas cannot belong to a four-star group at all. At first, it has only one elevator while Ibis has two or even three elevators. Next, despite the fact that Pegas was recently refurbished, it do not provide adequate air conditioning in the rooms during this hot summer in that middle of Europe, so the room temperatures easily reach 30 Celsius. In addition, it seems that fans are installed within the bathtubs but they do not ventilate the air in the bathrooms at all. Besides that, the lavabo area in my bathroom was too small for me, as a person of an average body size, and the hair dryer was positioned on the wall in a way so it easily became an obstacle for me trying to wash the hands in the lavabo, etc.

However, if we put those issues aside, hotel Pegas resides on an excellent position that is not more than five minute by walk from the Brno's main square (Namesti Svobody). Probably the best part of Pegas compound is its beer pub, called 'Pegas pivnice', which is placed 'under the hotel'. In fact, the beer pub is on the ground level while the hotel was built above the pub. That means the hotel's reception is on the first floor, etc. The pub seemed to work rather as an independent Czech 'hospoda', although the hotel, the pub itself and the in-house brewery all belong to the same enterprise.

Because of its proximity, 'Pegas pivnice' is a suitable restaurant for not only the hotel's guests and it looked to me that the restaurant worked from the early morning hours up to the very late in the evenings. On the other side, the long working hours – especially late in the evenings, as well as the close distance to another nearby café in the same Jakubska street, produce too much noise that may prevent good sleeping experience in the hotel guests. When you link that noise to a fact that the hotel guests had to leave their windows opened during the summer nights because of the heat, the overall impression of sleeping at Pegas becomes rather negative.

Contrary to that, the menu in the Pegas Pivnice offers several fine dishes as well as a good variety of beers. The restaurant accepts credit cards as well as the hotel reception. A positive detail in my hotel room was the bar/refrigerator with a couple of beverages including a bottle of home-brewed beer. The usage of the bar was not additionally charged and my empty beer bottle was changed (or refilled) daily, which I found very nice from the hotel staff.

Although I consider the quality of accommodation in Hotel Pegas a bit lower comparing to some other mid-class hotels *outside* Brno area, it might be advisable to test some other Brno hotels, in order to avoid eventual misjudgments related to individual hotel services.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeySerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Pegas Hotel was recommended by a waiter at the International Hotel as being reasonable and nearby. It was a great hotel with large room and all kinds of ammenities. The staff was very friendly, spoke English and were always willing to help. There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms, great little restaurant downstairs and quiet rooms. The breakfast was wonderful with all kinds of choices from full English type breakfast to meats, cheeses and pastries. We couldn't have been happier with our stay in Brno. It is centrally located and easy to reach all kinds of attractions. I also recommend the restaurant at the International Hotel which is only a couple of blocks away. The food there was the best out of the three weeks we traveled in Europe!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingTraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The staff were very welcoming & spoke English very well. The breakfasts covered every angle - cereals, toast, pastries, jams, cheeses, ham, sausages, egg (scrambled, boiled), vegetables, salad...juices, teas, fresh coffee...oh, and fresh fruit!

The brewery/bar is suitated on the ground floor & also descends into the cellar area - with a non-smoking area. If you didn;t know - the Czech Republic still have smoking in bars and restaurants. The food is very good - quality, variety and price-wise - served by extremely busy (always seemed packed full when we went in!) waiters - who didn't speak very much English - but were very quick with the goods!

The location is wonderful - a 10 minute walk from the train station - up the main road & through Freedom Square, and in the middle of everything.

The room was large, the ensuite bathroom fabulous and the free mini-bar a great bonus. With two beds (one a roll-out) for our children (6 & 4 years old) - and they had the longest sleeps ever! This could have been due to the amount of fresh-air/walking, the hops from the in-house brewery (fabulous beers!), or the comfortable beds...either way it made a change!

The only improvement would have been a double bed - rather than two singles pushed together.

Brno has some fantastic attractions; churches (numberous - must check-out St. Peter & Pauls' & climb the tower), town halls (two), aquarium, zoo (-a must for all families), the reservoir (for leisure), the theatres, the Air Cafe, wine cellars (Moravian wine and 'champers' very cheap and not half bad!), beers - beweries (lots!), the Technology Museum, galleries (various), and definitely the castle! Beware though, if you don't know any Czech language, you may find it a bit difficult.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJO1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#10 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pegas Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pegas Brno

Property: Hotel Pegas Brno
Address: Jakubska 120/4, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pegas Brno 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pegas Brno is a family hotel located in the centre of the City of Brno, directly beneath Špilberk Castle. The hotel is associated with the first private brewery in Moravia, where special beers are brewed right in front of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pegas Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegas Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing