We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but would not stay again”
Review of Orea Resort Santon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orea Resort Santon
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I worked in Brno for 2 years and have stayed in most hotels there. This time going back to see friends we decided to try the Santon as it is in such a good location just out of Brno on the lake. (the lake by the way is filthy - don't look too close at the shore as you will see the mounds and mounds of dumped rubish, bottles, beer cans etc).
It is really easy to get to if you are brave enough to master the timetable and get the tram (tram 1 from railway station, 22CZK and it is the stop after the zoo). We were lazy and got a taxi from the airport which is quite expensive.
The hotel was a disapointment. We asked for a quite room away from the lift and of course got a room next to the lift at the rear of the hotel overlooking the kitchen. We were woken very early each morning not by bird song but by diesel engine noises and fumes as the delivery trucks arrive very early and leave their engines running..
The room was sparten, no fridge, hair dryer etc and very very firm beds.
Breakfast was positively useless and the staff at best invisible (other than reception who were very friendly and helpful). The terrace is a good place to eat and drink with great views (if you can cope with the sulky staff)
The best part of this hotel is the location (one stop from the Zoo which incidentally has the best cafe in the world - try a beer and watch the tigers the other side of the window - probably innapropriate but you will remember it for ever) and so easy to get around once you master the trams which are cheap, safe and frequent
We moved out after 2 night to the Grand Hotel Brno. For a few Euros more it was like swapping a bicycle for a Rolls Royce.
So if you want location, sulky staff, diesel engines and poor breakfast the Santon is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Orea Resort Santon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding - the hotel was older looking than expected but clean & had lovely views from the restaurant terrace.

However.... breakfast (despite only staying for 2 breakfasts) was sparse. On the first morning, there was no toaster out, no hot food left at 9am & the young staff were standing around chatting to each other with no rush to replenish anything. I made do with a bowl of cereal & coffee.
In my room I found I couldn't open the window as the latch came off in my hand & no hairdryer in room, contrary to the website saying there would be. I easily got a basic one from reception though. Be warned! The curtains are so thin that they don't keep out any light at all - bring an eyemask if you wake up once daylight starts!
My room looked out onto the rear carpark & the back entrance to the kitchens, where I found that whenever I stepped out onto the balcony I'd be watched by the male kitchen staff.
Good points - a decent shower, comfy beds & very clean. A good location for local bars & restaurants & a short journey into town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We also stayed at the Santon for the wedding mentioned below. Hotel Santon is about a 30 minute taxi drive from Brno airport, which was quite expensive.

It should be noted that the hotel only has 17 double rooms. Most, if not all of the couples attending the same wedding as us had rooms with two single beds, that were not possible to push together. The rooms were fairly spartan, but clean, and each possessed a balcony with a view of the lake.

Breakfast overlooking the lake was especially nice, and the breakfast menu was better than at the more expensive hotel we stayed at in Prague.

Getting into Brno centre was easy enough. There's a tram stop around 150m from the hotel and all lines go into various parts of the centre.

What might put a lot of people off this hotel though is the noise. Arriving at the hotel, it looks like it will be serene and tranquil by a lake, but deep into the night music pounds from the various stands around the lake's edge. So if you fancy a quite relaxing break, Santon might not be the place to come to. Also the hotel is not air conditioned, so it might be best to stay away in the hottest months of the year also

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank John_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Stayed at Hotel Santon while at a friend's wedding.
The service was friendly, the staff helpful and the views from the terrace overlooking the reservoir were beautiful. It's a very quiet and relaxing place to stay, and the recent refurbishment means that everything inside is like new.
But best of all is the 'Wellness Centre', where you can swim in the pool or relax in the steam room and sauna; the perfect antidote to the previous night's revelry.
And a stone's throw is Brno's vast reservoir, where you can sunbathe, swim, take a boat ride, or enjoy some excellent beer at the waterside bars.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB_UK_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2006

This is a place for business trips as well as for leisure time. The hotel belongig to CZ largest hotel chain has a fitness center, pool and sauna. It is situated at Brno's artificial lake, so you can even enjoy boating and select from many restaurants nearby. Enough parking lots for your car.

A tram takes you downtown in 20 min., reaching the Brno Fair in only 10 min. So staying there you avoid crowded trains. Brno Fair for me is a valuable meeting point of eastern and western companies. For eastern suppliers of IT services or machinery etc. it is naturally a cheaper expo solution than Hanover.

The hotel is clean, staff friendly for Centrope region standards, wide selection of delicious and reasonably priced food & wine available. Meeting rooms for small and efficient presentations available.

Being tired after you expo day ? Enjoy a Starobrno beer at the border of the "Brno Lake".

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank freekicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hlm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana K, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Orea Resort Santon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliskapluskalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana K, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Orea Resort Santon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.9 mi away
Maximus Resort
Maximus Resort
#7 of 56 in Brno
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#20 of 56 in Brno
37 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Vista
Hotel Vista
#12 of 56 in Brno
212 reviews
4.4 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez
Orea Hotel Voronez
#15 of 56 in Brno
229 reviews
4.3 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orea Resort Santon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orea Resort Santon

Address: Pristavni 1064/38, Brno 635 00, Czech Republic (Formerly OREA Wellness Hotel Santon)
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brno
Price Range: £29 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orea Resort Santon 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orea Resort Santon is located directly by Brno Lake. It is an ideal place to combine work and recreational activities of your employees, clients and invited guests. Summer terrace with grill or program for corporate events. All romm with loggia, LCD TV and bathroom. In hotel free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Orea Resort Santon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santon Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing