We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”
Review of Hotel Slovan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Slovan
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in February for real bargain price.
The hotel is originally from 1920-1930s and I love this functionalist architecture. Moreover Staff was very polite and cute :) and I experienced no problems. Even braeakfast quality and/or quantity was ok. The value for money was really good. And underground parking adjacent to the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valeri_Buda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

I am deeply disappointed at the service. Only one small portion of marmalade, two portions of butter, and two pieces of bread were served at breakfast. Hotel stuff refused to give us anything more to eat. I left hungry :(

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Service
1  Thank ephmoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Dear Sir, you travel agency ordered this cheap breakfast. We offered your travel agency a little bit more expensive breakfast, but they refused. We apologise if you were disapointed with it but
it was not our fault. Thank you very much for your understanding. Ivo Skalicky, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

have stayed at the slovan twice. simple rooms. well priced. clean, good service. close to town centre, 5 to 10 min walk. tram line runs by it. easy to book.

Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
Thank ShaneC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Went on stag do to Brno with 25 other guys and was impressed with hotels location, cleanliness and value for money.

Only a short walk to the town centre which was ideal.

While the rooms are rather dated and corridoors bleak, everything is very clean and there is plenty of space.

The hotel has its own bar and pool hall which superb considering the purpose of the trip.
The staff quiet but friendly and happy to give advise on places to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

I was in Brno for 3 days in Feb. 2007. I stayed in Hotel Slovan as it was close to the centre and to my business partners office.

Hotel generally is a good vaue for money choice. Rooms clean and quite. Walking distance to the centre. Good pub and fitness on ground floor.

I didn´t like the interior design of the restaurant and the corridors. I liked internet wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ruslan_Bortnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2006

Stayed here for four nights in February 2006.

This is a sizeable hotel only a short walk from the central area of Brno. The foyer aside, it is fairly dreary with several floors of rather expressionless corridors.

The room was large enough, with adjoining bathroom with bath and shower. Decor was OK and it was clean enough, but a bit characterless.

The hotel's cleaning staff were also too imposing - not knocking before entering more than once and the room was also not serviced one day because we did not go out until after lunch.

Breakfasts were spartan with disappointing hot items, and the staff were often clearing-up well before the end of the schdeduled time.

Staff in general were polite but impersonal.

Brno itself is a pleasant enough place and in some ways a nice change from Prague, with some nice shops and interesting buildings. There are also some good restaurants and homely cafes and pubs, though it seems a bit sleepy for a sizeable city, even though we were there over a weekend.

All in all, as it is not that picturesque and lacks 'must see' attractions, cities in general like Brno and hotels especially need to try that much harder to satisfy tourists who are more likely to follow the herd to more established destinations. Hotel Slovan could be a lot better, if it was spruced-up and management adopted a more customer-focused and tourist-friendly approach. As it is, it needs to try a lot harder.

I doubt if I would feel the need to go back to Brno, but if I did it's unlikely I would return to the Slovan.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for visiting the hotel and valuable review. I would like to invite you for lunch, during which we can discuss about your comments and about our next better cooperation.
Thank you. If you are not satisfied with something, please let us know and we will help you.
Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický – sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank SynSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 57 in Brno
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 57 in Brno
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vaka
Hotel Vaka
#19 of 57 in Brno
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
A-Austerlitz Hotel
A-Austerlitz Hotel
#46 of 57 in Brno
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel SLAVIA
Hotel SLAVIA
#30 of 57 in Brno
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slovan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slovan

Address: Lidicka 702/23 | 602 00, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slovan 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel in the centre of Brno (it easy to find by car or by public transport) with its own parking house (144 places). The rooms (83 rooms) are equipped with bathroom, toilet, safe, internet (free), satellite TV (33 -TV programs) and telephone. Breakfast is served in buffet form. Other facilities available to our guests: internet corner (free), restaurant Bugatti (WiFi free), pub, music club, billiards, conference and banquet rooms (18 - 200 places WiFi free), newsagent, hand car wash, copy centre, hairdressing parlour, beauty parlour, solarium, massage, fitness centre - spinning + kranking. Parking place for buses in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Slovan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slovan Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing