We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To sleep with history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Na Starem Brne
Ranked #11 of 76 Brno B&B and Inns
Beersheba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“To sleep with history”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

the hostel is lokated in what use to be the monk's quarters of the famous Augustinian monastery, where Johann Gregor Mendel was an abbot , and publish his research abaut genes.
small but cosy & clean rooms. separate beds (a monestery afterall...) very good and generous breakfast. served to the room.
its only 10 minutes walking to brno old town center or to the brno trade fare. in 15 minuts of easy walking up you reach to the Spilberk castle, and just across the streat there is a tram & bus station with routs to old town, brno dam, trade center, main train station.
parking place in front of the pension.
very welcoming and helping stuff.
only problem is the restaurant ijn the monastery yard. they have "disko nights" that streches all night in weekands... be sure to close the windows before you go to sleep...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is such a great place - hidden away yet near to the city centre. We went to Brno to visit Villa Tugendhat and realising we were staying in Gregor Mendel's monastery was the icing on the cake!
The staff were very helpful, the suite was spacious, very comfortable and very clean, good bathroom, and breakfast delivered to our room - couldn't ask for more. It's a bit "quirky" having been the cloister of the monastery but that adds to the charm.
We travelled by train to Brno and the tram to the Pension was easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a little gem. Tucked away in a quiet spot but within easy walking distance of the city and the castle. Excellent service, and a delicious breakfast served in your room. To find ourselves in a building once part of Gregor Mendel's monastery was an extra treat. Don't miss the Restaurant Skanzeen just 5 minutes away - local food and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: The suite is the largest, and probably the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This pension is an excellent choice for anyone visiting Brno. At check-in, the lady at the front desk helped us understand a little about Brno and gave us a map and some directions.

They really go the extra mile for people at this pension. They even have umbrellas available to borrow and small cabinets of beverages, toiletries, and other items for times when the front desk is closed. (Honor system - put your payment into a lockbox).

Our room was spacious and clean, but a little dark for our liking. The bathroom could use some updating, but for the price everything was more than adequate. The windows let in some air at night to combat the heat. The building itself is unique and its connection to Gregor Mendel was interesting to us. Breakfast is delivered to your room at a time of your choosing. It turned out to be entirely too much for us to eat, but the service was excellent. :)

The lot was actually quite easy to find, our GPS located it without any trouble. The pension is right next door to a restaurant on one side and a lovely cathedral on the other. It's about a block or so from the Starobrno Brewery, and just a two minute walk to the tram station to take you into the old town. If you have trouble with the tram ticket, just ask someone. Everyone in Brno was incredibly friendly to us and quite forgiving of our inability to speak Czech. We'd recommend this pension, and the city, to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Even though this pension is just a short way out of the city centre it provides realy calm and quiet place to sleep over. Rooms are basic but clean and big enough to feel comfortable. Personel is also very helpful. We arrived at the time when non of the stuff was present so we called owner and they opened somehow main doors for us via phone from her car and few minutes later she came to the pension and helped us with check-in. Only problem is to find the pension because it really is well hidden behind Basilica, monastery and other building and if you don´t exactly know where it is so you may struggle a bit looking for it. Otherwise it is a nice place to stay close to everything you need. City centre is about 15-20 minutes walk, or 5 min by public transportation from Mendel square which is 2 minutes walk from pension. There is supermarket nearby and Mendel square is one of main traffic points in Brno so you´ll get anywhere from there. It is also a good place for business trip because it is also short way from Brno fair grounds (exhibition centre).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What other hotel brings your breakfast to your room at the time you request it? It's not room service, just a regular service. Over the weekend we chose Pension Na Starem Brne for our base of operations in our quest to see what the second largest city in the Czech Republic, Brno had to offer. The location was perfect, around 10 minutes to the castle on one hill and about 15-20 minutes walk to old town with it's many squares.

The hotel used to be part of the Augustinian monastery complex where Friar Gregor Mendel, the scientist of the new field of genetics lived and worked. I couldn't help but think of the monk who once occupied my room sans heat and running water. Who was he? But I digress.

The hotel is situated behind the ornate Church of the Assumption on one side and the Strarobrno brewery on the other side. It's location makes it very easy to visit all the wonderful sights the city has to offer.

Since breakfast is included, I was expecting the usual cereal and maybe a muffin. But when I saw the selections which you make the night before, I was happily surprised when I heard a knock on the door and my eggs and ham and great coffee was delivered by a smiling woman. Terrific way to start the day.

Service is at the bare minimum but if you are out an about, one really doesn't need any extra. For the money (and the breakfast) I would stay there again.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms so I would advise to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If, like us, you like to stay away somewhere a bit away from the city centre, this is a good choice. It's tucked away behind Mendel's monastery (and round the corner from the Strarobrno brewery), about 10 minutes uphill to the castle and 15 minutes into town. The rooms are quite small but clean and comfortable. We took advantage of the breakfast they offer - there was enough left over from the meat and cheese option to make sandwiches for lunch - but what the website doesn't tell you is that there is a well equipped kitchenette where you can make your own food if you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitraveller_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.5 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez
Orea Hotel Voronez
#12 of 56 in Brno
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Brno
Holiday Inn Brno
#8 of 56 in Brno
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
1.6 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#14 of 56 in Brno
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Na Starem Brne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Na Starem Brne

Property: Pension Na Starem Brne
Address: Mendlovo namesti 907/1a, Brno 603 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brno Old Town Pension (Pension na Starem Brne) is just a five-minute walk from BVV (The Brno Trade Fairs). You'll find a rest after a long exhibition day, demanding negotiations or any other important event that brings you into the Moravian metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Na Starem Brne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing