We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest hotel but you can't beat the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Amphone

Hotel Amphone
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amphone
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Brno
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Modest hotel but you can't beat the price”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I just paid $156 total for three nights with breakfast. A great bargain in a good location. Clean rooms and plenty of hot water. This is not a modern hotel but it's serves its purpose unpretentiously.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMAPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
4
3
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our room was on the 3rd floor and away from the traffic noise. We stayed just one night before continuing our journey by train the next morning. Our room was warm, clean and the beds were comfortable with spotlessly clean linens. We did not hear any noise from stag parties though the owner informed us in the morning he had two groups of twenty staying !! A simple but adequate breakfast, no jams only honey in plastic pots. We thought it was good value for money and would stay there again. A 20 minute walk into town, but we took a tram nearby to the rail station.

Room Tip: Choose a room with twin beds, usually bigger than doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandaBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I would never tell this is a three star hotel. The staff at the the reception is not friendly. Room was small (which would be ok if it was at least nice, but it was not) with strange old furniture, cheap bedding, and it was shady. Only good thing was breakfast and finally kind staff downstairs. But would go there again at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danyhella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trnava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very poor hotel! I think that some hostels have better level ... Furniture in the rooms outdate, bathroom quite OK. Otherwise, the hotel is generally clean. Good location - 15 minute walk takes you to the city center

Room Tip: Next to this hotel is the Hotel Europe .... much, much better ! Just check it on Trip advisor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is very basic and not ideal for family's. I was rather surprised because I wasn't expecting something to great but this hotel turned out fine for the purpose of the trip; a stag do.

If you are part of a group of friends for a weekend away on the beer then this is ideal. If you are booking a holiday with a partner or family then stay away unless you are looking for somewhere on the cheap.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ApplePie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Visited this hotel as part of a Stag party. It felt like due to the fact we were a Stag party we were labelled as a nuisance and treated in a very abrupt and very unfriendly manner.

The fact we were a mature group, who were friendly and very polite seemed to make absolutely no difference.

The rooms were very very basic and initially we were expected to share a double bed despite paying for a twin. When this was highlighted we were scowled at with raised voices as if were at fault for refusing to accept a lower service?????? Thankfully our guide intervened explaining it was the hotels fault, not ours, however this made little difference and we were still treated abruptly, When the matter was resolved and we were given a bed each, the extra bed in fact being a pull out sofa.

The breakfast was largely inedible, thick skinned hot dog style sausages, cucumber, cheese and coleslaw etc, furthermore the staff around the breakfast area were also extremely unfriendly, on our second day hoovering as we tried to eat despite this being an hour before the breakfast serving finished?!

The staff here are the entire problem, if they were friendly, welcoming, polite and had half an idea of customer service they could really turn this around. However, if they continue to treat paying guests in such a rude way I would be amazed if they stay in business!! Avoid this hotel if at all possible, especially if part of a male group.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here as part of a stag party. To be fair it was perfect for our group as we were only there to sleep. It was very basic.

First time I have been to a hotel where you must hand in your key whenever you go out, meaning any Tom, Dick or Harry could turn up, say your room number and go and raid your luggage while you are out.

On arrival we got ready to hit the town and wanted to grab a quick shower before heading out. One of the guys in my room went to use it and upon opening the shower screen door it came away and the glass smashed everywhere. Purely an accident and not the result of a stag group larking around, you would say. I went to reception to report the matter, who were initially kind enough to provide us with another room.

We then went out for the evening and handed our key to reception. On returning to collect our key we were faced with a 3000kcz bill (£100) for damage to the door, even though it was explained it was an accident! They deemed it couldn't have be and refused to hand over the key until we coughed up said 3000kcz. Grudgingly the 3 of us had to split the cost for this else it would have probably resulted in the attendance of Czech Police who would have no doubt sided with the hotel staff.

Had this not have happened I may have submitted a positive review, but it would only be to say it was stag friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Global
Hotel Global
#34 of 56 in Brno
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
263 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kozak
Hotel Kozak
#38 of 56 in Brno
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albellus
Hotel Albellus
#24 of 56 in Brno
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arte
Hotel Arte
#23 of 56 in Brno
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#15 of 56 in Brno
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amphone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amphone

Property: Hotel Amphone
Address: Trida Kpt. Jaroshe 1942/29, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amphone 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amphone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphone Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing