We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet”
Review of U Andela - CLOSED

U Andela
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

It is called one of the best restaurants in the town. I often recommend it to visitors, personally I like the view from this restaurant. The food is good, pleasant atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haute Savoie, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Great food, pleasant atmosphere and friendly service. A big choice of menu and good wine list. The local wine we chose was very good and reasonable value. The roast potatoes were superb.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opole, Poland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We live three hours from Olomouc and visit reasonably often. Every time, we eat at U Andela - not always easy as it gets crowded in the evenings. Everything about it is just about perfect - the service, the choice, the decor and the food itself. The prices are reasonable and the location excellent. It can get a bit stuffy when crowded but there's an airy conservatory if you book in advance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod_Fricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Curious decoration with excellent food and service”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The decoration at U Andela is curious to say the least! It's full of antiques and interesting bric-a-brac together with a forest of flowers and pot plants that make it a unique place to eat.
My business lunch included absolutely delicious Hungarian spicy fish soup followed by a fresh trout grilled to perfection and a Greek salad.
I didnt pick up the tab but the prices on the menu looked very reasonable for such quality cooking.
For me this was better than lunch the day before at Primavesi and recommended for the combination of quirky surroundings with excellent food and service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hogget-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence RI USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Homey place decorated with old objects. Very good service, reasonable. We had the garlic soup, I had dinosaur steak, wife had iced coffee with whipped cream, all very good. If you can read Czech you can order even cheaper off the daily menu. Correct name is U And[e with a hacek]la, it means at the angel. Back deck overlooks park. Map provided by InfoCentrum shows the street somewhat incorrectly, use google or mapy.cz instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamB243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Andela also viewed

Olomouc, Olomouc Region
Olomouc, Olomouc Region
 
Olomouc, Olomouc Region
Olomouc, Olomouc Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing