We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK accommodations”
Review of Penzion Cafe Kriva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penzion Cafe Kriva
Ranked #13 of 33 Olomouc B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We found this hotel by referral from the Trinity Hotel a couple blocks away. Luckily we got room 7 on the frist floor as the stairs were very steep and difficult for all the other rooms. There was no one to help with bags and the stairs would not have been possible for us. They advertised free parking but there was no place to park and the college girl at the desk was not helpful in finding us a place to park. Luckily we were there on the week-end and so sat in our car until 6 PM when you will not receive a ticket or be towed away. Then for the week-end our car was OK. But this is a problem if you are driving. Other customers were driving around town trying to find a place to park. Although the staff was friendly, they were students without much knowledge of the area or of their country for that matter. Breakfast was adequate. Hotel was clean but floors definitely needed sweeping. Within a mile walking distance of the main square.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 unless you can haul your bags up narrow winding stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msk60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Excellent breakfast with fresh juice and pancakes with strawberries + perfect cleanliness of the rooms, quiet place in the middle of Olomouc (city centre)
Rooms with original designed furniture and great Café opened daily from 7 until 22

Room Tip: Apartment superior with 2 bedrooms - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had a reservation for this Pension and had to cancel due to a state of emergency and no transportation to the city that this pension is in. I called after I found out about the state of emergency, but it was not within it's 48 hour policy to cancel. The state of emergency was declared yesterday in Prague and the trains halted to the western part of the country They refused to consider my situation that I could not get there, because of the flood. I have no control over the government policy to declare a state of emergency nor stopping train service to the west. Sure we all have policies, but a national disaster, where people have lost their lives should be considered. I travel very often and I have never faced a situation like this with not an ounce of consideration for my situation. Basically it was tough luck!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
3  Thank Merrill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Been here twice now winter and summer whilst traveling by car from UK to Ukraine and back.
Its a little gem neatly tucked away but within easy walking distance of the centre.
Simple and clean place with great staff who actually make you feel welcome.
See you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rockyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I travel regularly to Olomouc for work at the University and always ask to stay at the Křiva. All the positive points in other reviews are ones that I would endorse, particularly the excellent simplicity of the furnishing of the rooms, the cleanliness, the charm of the proprietor and his staff, the excellence of the breakfast and the convenience of the hotel for the city centre and (for me) for the University. The wireless internet is normally also excellent, but had a few problems on my last stay.

Olomouc is the most delightful of the many delightful cities and town of the Czech Republic, and this is the most delightful hotel. What more does one need to say?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A pleasnt, well coming ,nicely decorated boutique hotel. very good service.great location. Olomouc is a wonderful town. highly recomended. ...............................................................!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Penzion Cafe Kriva is a great place to visit the quaint town of Olomouc. It is VERY clean, the staff is helpful and everyone (at least) understands English. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is very good...hot breakfast offerings are on the menu. Probably the best thing about Penzion Kriva is its location. It is a very short walk to some of the main tourist attractions, such as the Trinity Column and the Astrological clock and to some of the restaurants reviewed on travel advisor, especially,Moravska Restaurace and Moritz microbrewery, which I also recommend. Other sights to see, such as the Cathedral, the Diocesan Museum and the Bishop's Palace are a bit further away, but it is certainly still possible to walk to these sights also. One draw back for some travelers during summer months might be that there is no air-conditioning. However, the pension is in on a very quiet side street and, with the windows open, the room was comfortable for me and I was not disturbed. However, light sleepers who require air-conditioning might have some problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwardtheconfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
2.9 mi away
Penzion Krelov
Penzion Krelov
#18 of 33 in Olomouc
3 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mini Penzion Na Vyhlidce
Mini Penzion Na Vyhlidce
#23 of 33 in Olomouc
3 reviews
0 mi away
Penzion Ubytovani Kvetinova
Penzion Ubytovani Kvetinova
#24 of 33 in Olomouc
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Olomouc Congress
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Penzion Pupek
#10 of 33 in Olomouc
3 reviews
0 mi away
Ubytovna Marie
Ubytovna Marie
#9 of 33 in Olomouc
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Cafe Kriva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Cafe Kriva

Address: Kriva 76/8, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Olomouc
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Cafe Kriva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penzion Cafe Kriva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing