We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Olomouc if you wanna visit Czech Republic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosy Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosy Corner Hostel
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss Olomouc if you wanna visit Czech Republic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Not much travel guide book tell about Olomouc, but it's really worth visiting. Due to time limitation, we only stayed here for one night. It was a little pity because this small town is full of interesting history, architectures, statues,etc. We lived in "Poets Corner Hostel". Although we didn't find many information before we came here, we could still get a lot of useful information in this Hostel. One cool brochure is about the stories of every fountain statues in Olomouc!! Besides, the Hostel offered visitors their exclusive maps for food, for touring around. Oh! The choco pie they recommended was so unforgettable!
The location is very convenient. Not far from the main square, money exchanger, and supermarket, of course, we didn't need to cook by ourselves in Olomouc, there were many valuable restaurant here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YungWenCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
26
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Poet's Corner is an idyllic little hostel in the beautiful city of Olomouc. The hostel has the usual basic amenities kitchen, toilette, shower, common room, wifi, etc, but what makes this place special is the social homey atmosphere the owners and staff have created here. Not many travelers make there way as far as Olomouc, but the ones that do end up at the Poets Corner find themselves unable to leave after a couple days, weeks, months...

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank iammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We usually don't stay at hostels but did due to the many good recommendations on tripadvisor. The Poets Corner Hostel is charming and conveniently situated in the Old Town of Olomouc. The owner greetet us warmly and told us what to do in the city. All in all a great stay, however the hostel could use some more upgrades in furniture (for my taste).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good location, clean, homey, friendly, organised.
Yeah, good. It was nice and quiet and everyone is happy to hang out and chat or just keep to themselves or whatever.
I would stay there again certainly. I recommend Poet's Corner Hostel.

Room Tip: I had a private room. There are 3 privates and two dorms (from memory).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean_ari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Philly
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Poet's Corner is clean, well run, full of useful information with a friendly staff(Chris and Katka). I would recommend the town and hostel to any budget traveler. A great experience and wonderful place to visit - easily a place to spend 3 nights just strolling the sites and the very nice city areas and beyond. I can see why several of the people I met travel here regularly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I've stayed in many hostels, and Poet's Corner is my favorite. I used to live about 2 hours away, and I'd go for weekends all the time. I never had a less than excellent experience.

Staff: Super helpful and friendly. They always made me feel like a treasured friend when I returned.

Location: Downtown, with easy tram access to the train station. Yes, the many flights of stairs with no elevator may bother some people, but it's good exercise.

Accomodations: Clean and cozy. Lockers in the rooms. Small but well-equipped kitchen. Lots of area information. Games and books.

Sociability: Awesome. It's not a "party hostel" in that everyone's always drunk, but people are always getting together to go out for a drink or a meal or a bike ride or a concert. People staying in play games together or chat or sit around strumming guitars. As I said, I've been there at least 8 or 10 times, and it's always social. Must be something to do with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed here with a group of 8. When I made the booking, it was very diplomatically made clear that it's a quiet hostel, which is fair enough given that there were 8 guys descending for the weekend. On arrival, we were welcomed like old friends, and given good recommendations for pubs, restaurants and cafes. Olomouc, by the way, has some excellent micro-breweries on top of the bars serving the more-established Czech beers, which is why I chose it as the location for this particular holiday.
Back to the hostel, which is clean, centrally located, reasonably priced, has comfortable beds and supplies towels and the like at no charge. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, too. Just be prepared to climb several flights of stairs!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Olomouc Centre
Ibis Olomouc Centre
#3 of 15 in Olomouc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trinity
Hotel Trinity
#4 of 15 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Olomouc Congress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gol
Hotel Gol
#10 of 15 in Olomouc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palac
Hotel Palac
#3 of 32 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension U Jakuba
Pension U Jakuba
#3 of 12 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Corner Hostel

Property: Cosy Corner Hostel
Address: Sokolska 789/1, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc)
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Olomouc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy Corner Hostel (formerly known as Poets Corner Hostel) is a traditional backpackers hostel located in the wonderful, historic city of Olomouc which is recognized as one of Europe's true hidden gems. The hostel features mixed dorm rooms for the budget minded traveller as well as spacious and stylish private rooms with some antique furniture. Some of our rooms have a nice view too. The 'heart' of the hostel is the cosy common room complete with armchairs you can sink into, perfect for our guests to gather, make new friends and share travel stories, or just curl up to some good music or a book. We have a book exchange and some boardgames too. Cosy Corner Hostel also has a fully equipped guest kitchen which is a great place to prepare your own meals or enjoy a bit of 'potluck' with your fellow guests. Good teas and coffee are always available. Bathrooms are shared but only a few steps away from any room. There is also a cute little balcony with a gorgeous view of St Wenceslas Cathederal and the hills beyond. Free WI-FI is available throughout the entire hostel. Towels are provided for all private rooms and are free on request for dorm room guests. Smoking is NOT permitted inside the hostel. We allow pets but only for guests staying in private rooms. Please inform us at the time of booking if you have a pet. The hostel also provides LOTS of information about Olomouc and surrounds and all guests are given our customized map of the town to help them get the most out of their stay. We also have a laundry service for guests which is 100 CZK per load but FREE if you stay 3+ nights. We enjoy hosting travellers from all over the world and often socialize with our guests, be that for a meal, coffee, drinks, an ice hockey game in the winter and occasionally on daytrips out of town. We look forward to meeting you and helping you get the most out of one of Europe's hidden gems - OLOMOUC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cosy Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing