We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Welcoming”
Review of Cosy Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cosy Corner Hostel
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in a double room, shared bathroom. Ian was a great host, providing us with good information about the city, including one of the best map/info sheets I've seen, and making us feel at home. The room and common areas were very clean and comfortable and the quiet location made for a great sleep. The toilet and the shower on our floor were in separate rooms which meant we never had to wait for either. The location is convenient, being very close to the old town and about a 30 minute walk to the train station, or a short tram ride. Olomouc's itself is a nice town and well worth a stop for a night or two

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJ0urneyC0ntinues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
26
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Poets' Corner scores on all points: ideal location in the city center (there's no need really to use public transport), informative, welcoming and ready-to help staff (great recommendations and such a well-put together map!), design (hip retro feel), cleanliness, amazing value (most likely the only budget accommodation option in Olomouc) and so much more. Having explored the city's museums and mingled with the locals in student cafes, restaurants and pubs, we were happy to return to a spotless and cozy room. Staying here definitely made our trip! Totally recommended, not just if you're in for getting the ultimate Olomouc experience, but even more so for experiencing the feel of a genuine hostel. Many thanks to the people behind it!

Room Tip: Do follow the map the hostel provides, it is full of valuable tips :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my friends stayed there for just one night. It was perfect. Nice and helpfull owner who gave us a plan of the city and good advise on bars and restaurants. Clean property right in the centre of Olomouc and also great deal 400,-Czk per person/night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in this amazing hostel just one night and Im already missing that homely atmosphere :) The hostel is very well situated, staff ( swedish Brian :) ) was really kind, funny and helpfull, also another guy we didnt have a chance to introduced with was very nice !! :) Private room we stayed in was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable ! Of course I cant forget to mention the beautiful view :) I would highly recommend you to visit Poets Corner hostel while staying in Olomouc, because you just cant say nothing bad. We loved our stay !!

Room Tip: purple double room was really nice, has comfortable bed and beautiful view from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sona z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Poets Corner is located in the fourth and fifth floor in one of the Olomouc apartment houses in the city centre. It's close to the tram station so easy accessible by tram from the main train station.
Staff is very friendly and they spent a couple of minutes with us providing us basic information about the city, good restaurant and sightseeings tips.
Although it's not new it has very nice and cosy atmosphere which makes this place very unique. Everywhere was very clean and tidy. The building has an interesting history itself. You can feel that these owners manage this hostel with passion. We paid cca 33 € for a double bedroom per one night together.
I can only recommend Poets Corner to other visitors. Betty

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PragueSteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very simple. Fi not equiped with bedlamps. One armchair in a corner with a very dark dampshade. But every three bedrooms in an apaťrtment share a kitchen, living corner and a bathroom. Old fashioned decoration gives it a homy feel.
I paid 30 euro for a single.
Nice in the center. Sure i am content with my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saschapraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you'd have enough of the crowds of Prague, Olomouc is the place to head to and Poet's Corner is the hostel in which to stay.

Great staff, who take the time to sit with you and chat about what there is to see and do, as well as lovely fellow travellers who are eager to go out and explore this charming little city. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorms are basic, but are centrally located around the heart of the hostel, so good to meet peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenakedtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Olomouc Centre
Ibis Olomouc Centre
#3 of 15 in Olomouc
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gol
Hotel Gol
#10 of 15 in Olomouc
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Olomouc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Olomouc Congress
0.5 mi away
Long Story Short Hostel
Long Story Short Hostel
#3 of 12 in Olomouc
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palac
Hotel Palac
#5 of 32 in Olomouc
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Corner Hostel

Property: Cosy Corner Hostel
Address: Sokolska 789/1, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc)
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Olomouc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy Corner Hostel (formerly known as Poets Corner Hostel) is a traditional backpackers hostel located in the wonderful, historic city of Olomouc which is recognized as one of Europe's true hidden gems. The hostel features mixed dorm rooms for the budget minded traveller as well as spacious and stylish private rooms with some antique furniture. Some of our rooms have a nice view too. The 'heart' of the hostel is the cosy common room complete with armchairs you can sink into, perfect for our guests to gather, make new friends and share travel stories, or just curl up to some good music or a book. We have a book exchange and some boardgames too. Cosy Corner Hostel also has a fully equipped guest kitchen which is a great place to prepare your own meals or enjoy a bit of 'potluck' with your fellow guests. Good teas and coffee are always available. Bathrooms are shared but only a few steps away from any room. There is also a cute little balcony with a gorgeous view of St Wenceslas Cathederal and the hills beyond. Free WI-FI is available throughout the entire hostel. Towels are provided for all private rooms and are free on request for dorm room guests. Smoking is NOT permitted inside the hostel. We allow pets but only for guests staying in private rooms. Please inform us at the time of booking if you have a pet. The hostel also provides LOTS of information about Olomouc and surrounds and all guests are given our customized map of the town to help them get the most out of their stay. We also have a laundry service for guests which is 100 CZK per load but FREE if you stay 3+ nights. We enjoy hosting travellers from all over the world and often socialize with our guests, be that for a meal, coffee, drinks, an ice hockey game in the winter and occasionally on daytrips out of town. We look forward to meeting you and helping you get the most out of one of Europe's hidden gems - OLOMOUC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cosy Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing