We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Business style hotel in a great town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alley Olomouc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alley Olomouc
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Olomouc
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
313 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely Business style hotel in a great town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Business style hotel below lower square. Room was large wirh a sitting area. Easy walking access to lower and upper square, park, market, and brewery. Easy tram transport to/from train or bus stations. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzana V, Manager at Hotel Alley Olomouc, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and I believe that you return to us soon. System wi-fi in will be resolved soon to the satisfaction of guests in the rooms. Your hotel Alley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Good quality business style hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel clean and well located. Also provided a very good breakfast. All in all I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and in Olomouc itself which is a very beautiful town

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is an ideal place to stay, whether on business or pleasure. It's in a very convenient secure spot next to the local Police Station, but maybe difficult to find if you are driving without satnav.
The old medieval part of town starts just up the road within a few hundred yards so this hotel is ideally located to walk into the centre of town for restaurants and bars. I have never had dinner in the hotel, but the prices on their menu appear very reasonable even if I cannot comment on the food..
Except for breakfast, which offer a good selection as a basic buffet of hot and cold selection. The local sausages are very different from those in the UK and delicious.
The staff are all very friendly and obliging, and I have never had any real communication problems for not speaking any Czech. A little patience and speaking slowly has never given me any complaint here.
The rooms are comfortable, very clean and the only real gripe for me is lack of storage space - a big wardrobe but very little drawers. There is free hardwired broadband with the cat5 cable provided but no WiFi anywhere. There are business facilities listed but I have never used them.
A sauna and hydrocentre including massage is located on the fourth floor but unfortunately I have never managed to find enough time to use them, so cannot make any comments.
Olomouc is a quiet oasis of calm in comparison with Prague, with lots of history to take in but without the noise from drunk revellers. Hotel Alley is a gem of a hotel in an ideal location for one of the finest cities in Czech republic with its World Heritage sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogget-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzana V, Manager at Hotel Alley Olomouc, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your opinion and positive appreciate of the hotel Alley and our services. We look forward to your next visit. With best regards Zuzana Vajdíková - hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Driving between Krakow and Prague, Olomouc is half-way between the two cities and our reason for stopping (three hours driving is our preferred limit). Although, admittedly, when we looked at the hotel from the outside and wondered whether to go inside or not, we didn't have much option and ventured inside.

The hotel, which I think was built from the Soviet era, had very friendly staff and the rooms were clean and adequate in size. Although English was a little struggle, we all managed to communicate well. I don't think there is too many other hotel options in the older section, which is really the best place to stay (the newer section of town is very commercial).

Olomouc is the most medieval of all of the places we visited on this trip! Because it is not a tourist location, there is a feeling of what it was like to live here in the past. Having arrived on a Sunday, the square was almost deserted, except for the few restaurants and many ice cream stands surrounding the square. Although I regrettably lost the town brochure, I believe it was inhabited in 500 BC! Whereas in all of the other places we visited, you can see parts of the walls that were erected to protect the village, here in Olomouc, the entire wall is intact! The center square, which is currently being upgraded, is filled with archeology finds and flags. We explored the area carefully, seeing where even prior civilizations existed.

Dinner recommendations were fabulous and a full meal, with beer was $20. A great surprise of a medieval village that we didn't expect and truly enjoyed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelguruDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
358 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

we got a superb weekend rate and very comfortable rooms which despite advertising do not have wi fi but internet phone type socket, did have wi fi at reception though. Friendly with good breakfasts my best nights sleep in tour of Czech Rep. A quiet hotel, security of police HQ next door. Parking outside hotel. Near tram to station. Lovely town centre.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms were ok even if some small touches do hark back to communist era, double ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmshorn, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Located close to old, restored town of Olomouc, Czech Republic, this is a Good Place to spend a few days in Olomouc.
All important locations are Narbe, breakfast is Good, too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Alley for a few days as a layover during our long drive from Prague to Krakow. We were traveling with a child so we opted to stay in the Alley Suite, which is the largest room they have. And large it was! Some things I loved about the room: large balcony that we had to ourselves, bathroom not in the bedroom area (ideal if you have a sleeping child and need to use the bathroom), comfortable furniture and bed. The downside to the suite is that the bedroom and living area are separated by sliding doors only so you don't have as much noise reduction if you have a child sleeping in the area but we made it work just fine by not turning up the tv that much. Free wifi in the reception area was handy and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Also appreciated the free parking. The location is excellent, right at one end of the garden that runs the length of the town. We walked through the town, reached the other end of the garden and returned to our hotel by walking through the garden. It was a wonderful day in town. The hotel is also close to the edge of town so heading out of town to the local mall was easy.

The biggest issue I had with the hotel was finding it in the first place. It isn't easy to find and we drove past it a few times. If you plan to stay there, get good directions for sure.

Room Tip: The Alley suite is great and a bargain if you get it over a weekend, since it is a business hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akrobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trinity
Hotel Trinity
#4 of 15 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Olomouc Congress
0.6 mi away
Ibis Olomouc Centre
Ibis Olomouc Centre
#3 of 15 in Olomouc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Olomouc
2.2 mi away
Pracharna Park Hotel Olomouc
1.4 mi away
Theatre Hotel
Theatre Hotel
#6 of 15 in Olomouc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alley Olomouc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alley Olomouc

Property: Hotel Alley Olomouc
Address: Michalske stromoradi 1061/5, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Olomouc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alley Olomouc 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camera system secured parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alley Olomouc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing