We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice experience but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice experience but not amazing”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Gdansk for 3 nights in mid May. I really liked the look and style of the hotel. It's an old granary and is really quite distinctive. The decoration in the room and public spaces is really nice - stylish, slightly edgy but also sympathetic to the buildings history. Our room did have a lovely view of the marina and the old town (there is a slight eyesore in between but I didn't mind that). The location is a short and pleasant walk from the old town too. Breakfast was very nice but not outstanding but there was some lovely fresh fruit and good coffee so I was happy. My only complaints/suggestions would be that there was no kettle/hot drinks facilities on the rooms. Also, although the breakfast staff were really friendly the reception staff were ever so slightly off hand. We wanted to stay an extra night but the hotel was full (obviously not their fault) but when we asked for some suggestions of another hotel we could stay at, they were not very helpful and basically suggested we go into town and look around. Again, not a big deal but could be better. I loved the character and age of the building but with that came creaky floors and we could hear quite loud creaking from upstairs when they walked around their room. Overall, it was a really nice experience but with a few tweaks, it could be even better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoFoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    179
    30
    11
    10
See reviews for
51
192
20
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

From its web-site, this harbourside complex (hotel, restaurant and micro-brewery) has much to admire, but there is a gap between image and reality.
The site claims each room has a view of the marina and the old town. Not so. From my second-floor room, the view was of only bricks and glass - the 'yachting' section of the hotel, adjacent to the former granary which forms the main section.
It's the kind of view you might accept at a B&B in Blackpool, but not (without warning) from a four-star boutique hotel.
Likewise the air-con. I guess my Krakow-based tour agency assumed all rooms in a four-star hotel would come with air-con, but again, not so. I had barely dropped my bags in reception, and handed over my passport, than I was being told: "If you pay for an upgrade, your room will have air-con ..." Not really what you expect, when the room was paid for four months earlier. The excuse is that air-con can't be installed in a medieval building, but given that I'd just left a hotel of similar age in Torun, and a Warsaw hotel built before WW1, both of which retro-fitted air-con, I am bemused by this suggestion.
My hat-trick of disappointments was completed by an evening visit to the restaurant, which simply isn't fit for a four-star establishment. Not cheap, by Gdansk standards, but the 'chef' focuses on style not substance, so my beetroot and green leaf salad looked appealing, but without dressing or seasoning, tasted like blotting paper. Pork fillet wrapped in bacon is a classic, but the former had been blitzed in the oven and was dried to the point of dessication, whilst the latter hadn't been given time to release its juices and crisp. When 'grandma's apple pie' came with pieces of paper doilly fastened to its soggy base, I realised that the old dear obviously preferred to buy her pastry, rather than make her own.
Yes, the rooms and public spaces have received a great refurb, the location couldn't be bettered, the breakfast buffet was tasty and comprehensive, and the golden beer brewed on site could have come from Bavaria - as I believe did the owner's wife.
However, whilst not quite a wolf wearing sheepskin, the hotel should take a close look at how it offers/brands its rooms, and to find a real chef, or for me, it will fail to fulfill its significant potential.

Room Tip: Check that your room doesn't look straight across to the 'yachting' half of the hotel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A combination of old building for the restaurant and bar and new building for accommodation but a perfect blend of old and new in style and atmosphere.
The double room was well furnished with comfortable beds and ensuite bathroom with all the usual facilities (hair drier, shampoo/conditioner, skin cream). Our room had a bath with a shower but it was quite slippery using the shower when standing in the bath and not easily accessed as the bath side was high and made it not easy for (old) people to climb into.
The bed was very comfortable and the decor modern yachting. TV, minibar, safe and WiFi. Only one chair to sit in and no water cooker for making early morning/late night tea or coffee.
The buffet breakfast was an excellent start to the day with a good choice of cold and hot dishes, including omelettes made to order. One morning there was a big problem with the coffee machine and it was strange that such a central part of the breakfast was unsatisfactory and resulted in constant queueing. The same morning there were no coffee cups so this compounded the coffee problem. Having said that, the coffee when available tasted excellent!
The hotel was perfectly located just a 10 minute walk away from the main tourist street and an alternative was a small ferry from the museum at the right of the hotel taking passengers the 2 minutes across the river to the "tourist" side.
The bar in the ground floor was an excellent place to eat a meal in the evening but was very popular with the locals so a reservation could be worthwhile. The bar was reportedly the best in Gdansk and the microbrewery beer (I liked the black beer best) was delicious and red wine was excellent and reasonably priced. The food looked great ( I chose fish) and was artistically placed on the plate but the taste was a big let down. However the bar ambiance and beer made up for the food so we spent a couple of evenings in the bar (there was closed circuit TV showing the football) so we got our entertainment watching TV and the locals.
Apart from a few minor issues we were happy to have chosen Hotel Gdansk and would stay there again on a future visit to the magnificent city of Gdansk.

Room Tip: It was very quiet at the hotel and even with the window open there was no noise to disturb our sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikingdave100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmestrand Municipality, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

When checking in, we were made aware of the fact that there has been some kind of double booking. As a result, we were given a large apartment with an excellent view, as a replacement for our booked room. A very nice gesture!

Their "home made" beer was good and the breakfast had all the regular stuff, but I liked the selection of fresh fruit a lot.

All in all a very good experience

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Einar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Buchau
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It was a surprise to have after arrival. Friendly people, a porter for support the guests and a very nice style in the hotel. Well it looks outside like a old warehouse, but inside the renovation is made with a good hand. The rooms are clean and well decorated. Nothing I missed. To have breakfast in this old new restaurant it´s to relax in the morning and the buffet is fresh and good. If you like to have a really fresh brewed beer and good food, you are also on the right place. It´s a short walking distance to the old part of the city and to the conference center as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfred_M_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stopped over night while on business and I was very impressed. I was given a room in the old part of the hotel and the room was excellent. The only view was only of the building next door but this was not a problem. This was a room with a double bed and a sofa bed. Room 212.
There is free wifi, a large tv, 2 tables to work from.
The hotel brews its own beer and this can be seen from the bar area. The centre is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel and look forward to stopping there again.

Room Tip: The rooms can vary from room to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#12 of 84 in Gdansk
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.5 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gdansk Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gdansk Boutique

Property: Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Address: ul. Szafarnia 9, Gdansk 80-755, Poland (Formerly Hotel Gdańsk Superior)
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gdansk Boutique 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gdansk is the best boutique hotel in the Tricity and a true flagship hotel of Gdansk. Uniquely situated by the picturesque yacht marina, in the heart of the city, the hotel is often recognized as a special place in the city center.The hotel has two synergic components - a granary from the XVIIIth century, restored with great attention to detail, enchanting with its elegance and history, and the Yachting part, whose modern decorating themes infuse the interiors with a sea-inspired look. Thus, the fascinating history and traditions of the city of Gdansk are strongly present in the both parts of Hotel Gdansk.The Spa in Hotel Gdansk is one of the most modern and fashionable Spas at the Baltic coast, and one of the best Med Spas in Poland.Hotel Gdansk Restaurant is an unusual restaurant in a unique place. It serves exquisite dishes of Polish and Gdansk regional cuisine.The mini-brewery is a great addition to the boutique complex and a very interesing attraction for Hotel Gdansk guests, who may here try the best beer in Poland. Our Schwarzbier (dark beer) received this title during the prestigious beer contest in Zywiec 2011. There is always someting interesting happening in our brewery. At least 3 times a week you can enjoy live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gdansk Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing