We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parnas Old Town
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great value considering the location which was just outside the Old Town and couldn't have been better
An enjoyable short break - Gdansk is really pretty and offers a fantastic choice of bars and restaurants as well as some interesting places to see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very small hotel with perfect location near main street at the old town. Very silent rooms, clean in good standard. King bed prepared with two connected twin beds with no top-matress, so you wake up at night in hole between beds. No lift, so if you stay on upper floor with a lot of luggage, it can be problematic.
Breakfast tasty but with small choice, but if they have few rooms, you might expect it. No coffee machine, so the coffee was quite cold.
On the other hand it is excellent value for money, the WiFi worked very good in my room. Perfect place too stay for one or two nights in beautifull city of Gdańsk. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAW1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we stayed their for 3 nights and we loved the place you could walk in to town 5 mins tops rooms cleaned every day with free water put in their free parking out side hotel the room was large and the beds were very comfortable with great air con would go back for sure p.s the eggs at breakfast are a must just ask the girls when you go down top hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueboyNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. The room was large and the beds were comfortable, the shower and bathroom were also very nicely done, you get complimentary water, shower gel and there is a tv in the room. It's fairly standard and nicely done. The breakfast was included and was a mix of continental meats, cheese and vegetables (a wide selection), bread, cereals and fruit. You could also have scrambled eggs upon request. It was under 5 minutes walk to Dluga street in the town centre and was perfect for getting around town, no taxis and just over a bridge from the waterfront. The staff were lovely and welcoming, it is a key card system to enter the main door and your room which is fairly standard these days and there were maps and other tourist info bits down at reception. One comment I would make to others who may have disabilities is that there was no lift, we were on the 4th floor so if you have mobility issues you may want to recommend something that isn't quite as high up as it is a fairly steep climb especially with bags. For under £100 for the 2 night stay it was excellent, .

Room Tip: As above, if you have mobility issues ask for one lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 420crobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a modest but comfortable little hotel in a great location just a few blocks from Ulica Dluga/Dlugi Targ (the main square) at the Motlawa River. If you are a photographer, you'll enjoy quick access to great photo ops of the river and the buildings (and the Crane) along it, plus quick access to the square, just a few blocks away. Excursion boats to Westerplatte and Sopot are also right there as you enter the gate to the city. The train station is a good long walk away (probably 25 minutes), but you can easily take trams from there to get to the Chmielna stop, barely a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

I stayed alone at the hotel but had asked for a room with a double bed (the room class I booked specified it might have either two twin beds or a double bed). When I checked in I was first shown a fairly small room on the 4th floor with two non-adjacent twin beds. I said I had asked for a room with a full bed; without hestiation, the hotel clerk showed me to a much larger room on the 3rd floor with a king bed, for the same price. This room faced the back of the hotel (quiet, with some businesses); the smaller room had faced the front, an ugly vacant lot across the street that may also be more noisy (not sure). In any case, I was much happier with the second room.

Breakfast was typical - mostly bread, meat, and cheese (some muffins one morning, then none the next few days). There is also a sign (in English) at the breakfast layout stating that they will make you scambled eggs. Whenenever I asked for "scrambled eggs" the question in reply was always, "One?" which I suppose makes sense, but most Americans wouldn't order a "scrambled egg." I felt guilty somehow asking for two eggs so never did (are eggs expensive in Gdansk?).

Everyone I encountered working at the hotel - mostly younger people - spoke English, and all were cheerful and helpful. The front desk does not seem to be occupied all the time (you get a key card to let you in the front door and a separate card for your room).

My room had an air conditioner that worked well. Also, all rooms now seem to have WiFi access (earlier reviews note that only rooms on the bottom floor had it). WiFi worked great for me on the third floor. The electrical system is a common setup in that you must insert your key card in a slot to turn the lights on, which means all power will go off when you take you key out and leave the room. This means you can't charge your phone/laptop/camera batteries while you are, say, off eating dinner. The A/C (which consumes more power than anything else in the room) is the only thing that does stay on.

The bathroom was modern and not too small, probably updated a couple of years ago but not brand new, with a shower. Good hot water. The whole room has a kind of dowdy styling but it was still very comfortable.

Overall, the place was decent, the staff were friendly, location was great, though it felt a tad overpriced. One night of my stay was very busy in Gdansk which is why other hotels were more expensive that night, but on other nights I checked the Parnas seemed a little less competitively priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is a small, family hotel right at the centre of Gdansk old town.
The rooms are spacious enough and very clean. TV is there but all channels speak polish. Wifi is free in rooms but the signal is only good near the router.
Breakfast is good but very limited.

Prices are rather fair for what is offered. General speaking, if you want to avoid the more expensive international hotels at the centre of Gdansk, then this can be a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtsint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Decent for a back-packer or students looking for a one-night stop, but not really somewhere to take the missus on a weekend break.

Just a basic hotel, with the reception a decent walk from the rooms, and lacking in facilities. Wifi didn't work during my stay there.

Also joins up with a hostel, so if you want peace and quiet, it's not quite the one.

Clean and friendly staff, with a decent breakfast, but it's not really a family place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euro327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Krolewski Hotel
Krolewski Hotel
#36 of 85 in Gdansk
232 reviews
0 mi away
Medusa Boutique Hotel
Medusa Boutique Hotel
#31 of 85 in Gdansk
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#54 of 85 in Gdansk
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#13 of 85 in Gdansk
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craft Beer Central Hotel
Craft Beer Central Hotel
#27 of 85 in Gdansk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnas Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnas Old Town

Address: ul. Spichrzowa 27, Gdansk 80-750, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range: £33 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parnas Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Parnas Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing