We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Qubus Hotel Gdansk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern, clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here two nights while on business in Gdansk, and liked this hotel. Modern decor, comfortable rooms and food was good. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke good English. Hotel seems to be popular with coach parties, so was very crowded at breakfast, but staff were coping pretty well. Room didn't seem to have any tea/coffee making facilities, and towels were small, but no other real issues. There is noise from the main road if you want to have your windows open, but the air-conditioning seemed to work ok, so didn't feel it necessary to have window open. I noted others' comments on the need to use the subway under the main road to get to the Old Town, but I didn't see it as a particular problem, though if you were on your own after dark it might be a little uncomfortable. The total walk to the Old Town was less than 10 mins, including the short subway. Would certainly stay here again, especially as very conveniently located for my business needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river - still gets road noise if the window's open, but views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersTale001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    221
    55
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
217
15
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel several nights for business. The hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the old town area, but requires crossing a busy road to get there (Apparently there is a tunnel, but we didn't use it).

The rooms were very quiet with bathrooms that were slightly larger than normal. The breakfast appeared to be fantastic, but had to leave early each morning so we didn't eat there. However, when they heard that we would be leaving early, they packed the largest to-go pack I've ever received (2 sandwiches, 2 fruit, yogurt, pretzels, cookies, juice, water). The front desk provided outstanding service.

In previous trips I've stayed at the Radisson Blu, which is much nicer and in a better location, but for the budget traveler that wants to see the Old town area, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vol_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stay here frequently on business trips to Gdansk. It's a typical business hotel with modern, clean rooms and a nondescript restaurant, breakfast room, bar. Don't be fooled by the outside, when inside you could be in any European city or chain hotel which is not necessarily a bad thing. If you want to go to the old town, and you probably do, in the evening it's easier to just cross the street on foot instead of taking the dodgy looking tunnel as it's both quicker and easier. After 9 p.m. it's no issue and the center of the old town is really very close. Get a room facing the Motława river if you can and you will get a great view of the Town hall in the old town. The windows are a bit high up though so you need to get close. The WiFi password issue has ben sorted. If you're staying for 4 days you'll get a single user name and password for the whole stay. So overall it's a solid experience but if you want to be slap bang in the centre of the old town without tunnels to cross or slightly dodgy surroundings go for the Radisson Blu, Hanza or Hilton. These will be more expensive but for a good reason. If your budget only stretches for the Qubus - you should be fine too :)

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river - in general they're the ones with odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoleApart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

just returned from a break at the Qubus hotel gdansk, this hotel was at the side of a motorway with noise from the traffic and trams all night,you had to use an underpass at night to get to the old town which is not ideal , the location of the hotel is not in a nice area it 's run down and a lot of building work happening out side the hotel. the bedrooms are clean , bathrooms are a good size and modern, we stayed on a room only booking , when we asked for breakfast the were going to charge us 15 euros each , what a ripe off gdansk is a lovely city but not much happening at night so we decided to use the hotel bar but it had no bar we were not impressed by this ,overall this was a clean hotel but lacked the personal touch and not for tourists who want a taste of poland

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed at the Qubus Gdansk hotel for 4 nights. The room was very clean, quiet and modern and I was happy with it. The location was close to the old town but please note that you do need to pass through an underground tunnel (under a busy road) to get to the old town. There are security cameras in the tunnel but there were a couple of shady characters on one evening and I felt a little uneasy since I was on my own.

The gym was very small and the equipment was not great. You can get in a workout but serious gym users may not find what they need.

I ate at the restaurant once and the food and service were ok, but not great.

The internet user name and password changed daily (which is not unusual in Euopre) so it took a bit of effort to stay connected.

In summary, I would say this hotel is a good option if you do not plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel. It has good rooms and is close walking distance to the old town (as long as you are ok with going through the tunnel) but there are not many amenities or nice areas to hang out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orange-Grapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

From the airport it is around 30 mins (cost 75 sloty with taxi) to the hotel. The room standard was very high although it was quite warm during the night. Staff was with just one exception very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, wide range of different things to choose from and the staff kept the buffet constantly fresh.

It takes about ten minutes to walk from the hotel to the Old Town and this is really the only negative thing to say about the hotel: its surroundings. To get into the town center you have to walk in a tunnel under a big road and although it has monitors it didn't feel totally safe since the buildings around the hotel are ready for demolition - the surroundings look very rough. We would like to add that nothing unpleasant happened to us though.

Would we come back again? Definitely to Gdansk, but possibly not this hotel. It was quite pricy compared to many others we found in the Old Town.

Some things we found out in Gdansk that can be useful to know:

* The concept of serving starters before the main course does not exist. If you order starter and main course before the meal, you will get it all at once! Just order the starter by itself first, and when you are finished order the main course.
* The shopping centre called Madison is well worth visiting. It's central and the prices are ok.
* Take a few hours before the trip to learn a couple of polish phrases. The knowledge of English varies from place to place. Some speak fluent English, some almost can't understand anything.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweMatt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QubusHotel, Manager at Qubus Hotel Gdansk, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel and for the opinion. We are pleased that you was satisfied with the standard of the room and the service. The positive opinion of the breakfast is also very important for us – we strive to have it among the best in Poland.

We would also like to assure you that the tunnel which you write about is one hundred per cent safe – it has constant video surveillance and security. Thanks to this our guests are able to reach the Old Town without greater difficulty, in the course of just a few minutes, which they are very happy with.

We hope to have you staying in the future – both at Qubus Hotel Gdańsk and at other hotels in our chain.

Best regards!

Rafal Willich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Having arrived too early for the appointed check -in time, thanks to Ryanair, who got us up at the crack of dawn, we were nontheless shown to an attic room which had been made up. It was an excellent size with a well appointed bathroom. Thankfully the towel rail was switched on constantly so we were able to wash the rather limited number of clothes we were able to carry thanks to flight restrictions. (When we returned to another room in the hotel later in the week I noticed that the rail was switched off so perhaps this was an oversight on the part of the staff).
The hotel is smart and very well appointed but i was irritated by the necessity to request a new password and internet user name vevery 24 hours. However, it was an excellent connection, enabling us to use our netbook every evening.
We ate twice in the hotel in the evening. Food was very well presented and competiviely priced but I was disappointed by a pudding of melon cooked in honey, a strange combination that didn't really work for me. I would have preferred a more traditional Polish dessert, just to have the experience. If you like fish then go the Fish Markt restaurant near the Hiton Hotel: the food is excellent.If you want something cheaper, then there are plenty of places in the main areas but you might end up with chips.
Walking into town from there was a pleasure: under the underpass and across the next bridge. Also, we took advantage of the free boat rides available from the rear of the hotel: this is a wonderful way to get a view of the waterways and the shipyards!
Gdansk is full of charm, despite the hordes of Polish and German sightseers who throng its streets. I must admit I fell in love with it.See it now before the British get there too! If you like History, then you will be in your element but even if you aren't then visit for the shopping and bring home some beautiful Baltic amber. And If you don't take your camera, you'll kick yourself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.6 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qubus Hotel Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qubus Hotel Gdansk

Property: Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Address: Ul. Chmielna 47/52, Gdansk 80-748, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Qubus Hotel Gdansk 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qubus Hotel Gdańsk offers richly equipped, luxurious rooms with a stunning breakfast, free internet access and unique view of the Motława River and the Gdańsk Old Town.While the elevation of the building emphasize its rich history, the interiors display, above all, modernity, comfort and attention to outstanding details. Each room is equipped with broadband Internet connection, Wi-Fi, an LCD, satellite TV, a radio and a phone.Qubus Hotel Gdańsk also offers a fitness centre with a perfectly fitted out gym, sauna and an exceptional relaxation room. The Restaurant incessantly entices with excellent, aromatic cuisine, and lobby bar encourages tasting outstanding wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qubus Hotel Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing