We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holland House Residence Old Town
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Great Location & Staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We booked this hotel due to the reviews on TA. We were not disappointed staying at this hotel. The hotel is on a beautiful square. We were lucky enough to get a room with view of the square. The room was large, comfortable and has free internet. The staff was excellent. The hotel is not easy to find in the square, but we called the front desk to ask for directions to the hotel. The front desk person came outside to look for us to make sure we were walking in the right direction. The hotel is above a restaurant. There is an elevator to take your luggage up to the rooms. We ate at the restaurant for lunch and the food was good. We did have the hotel breakfast and the food was okay. There aren't many choices to go to for breakfast in the square, so it was fine to have the breakfast at the hotel. It was easy and beautiful to walk around this part of Gdansk. We hope to return and when we do, we will stay at the Holland House.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    142
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
132
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I travelled here with my fiance in February- we decided to get a taxi from the airport as we arrived at night, this cost about £8 (then we got the bus on the way back). The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location on the main street, with gorgeous decorative buildings. The staff at the 24 hour reception were really friendly and helpful. The room was pretty spacious and had gorgeous decor.
My partner found some of the food on offer for breakfast a bit unusual (herring, frankfurters and gherkins...) however there was plenty of choice with cereals, yoghourt, pancakes, various cakes... I found the price really good value though we did get this hotel through a web site that offered a cheaper deal so didn't pay the full price. Would highly recommend, and overall our trip to Gdansk was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paintpot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The hotel room was fabulous and spacious in a modern boutique style. We had a great view onto the main street and the beautiful buildings.
Never got to eat or drink in the hotel bar as it was always closed when we got home late. Didn`t bother with the breakfast as it was a bit expensive and the breakfast area on the first floor did not look very welcoming
Apart from check in and check out we never really saw or spoke to the hotel staff so cant really comment.

Room Tip: The hotel front door was left unlocke some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DiddlydeeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Recently stayed in HHR with a few friends during March. The stay was fantastic. The hotel made the trip. The staff were friendly and very helpful. 24hrs front desk was very convenient and allowed us to get a late flight and check in at 0100. The rooms were spacious, clean and warm. The location was spot on and about as central as you can get. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gdansk.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcartey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Having arrived in Gdansk with 8 inches of snow on the ground we were directed to our hotel by our taxi driver, who was unable to make the last 100 yards. We turned the corner onto a most beautiful square and was delighted to learn the hotel was situated on this market square. Entrance was through a door which lead into the restuarant and then up a flight of stairs to reception. The staff here were excellent and couldn't help enough. Having arrived at 10.30 a.m. we were quite expecting our room not to be ready, however, they had pulled out all of the stops. The room was fabulous and spotlessly clean. Our staff here was brilliant and the food in the restaurant was superb. Breakfast was enormous and even on the day of departure the staff put together a picnic for us to take to the airport, which far surpassed any airport food and was enough to feed 4 people. Would recommend this wonderful hotel which also very affordable. Will go back to this charming residence.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

This hotel was a real find. It’s situated in a pair of old merchants’ houses right on the main pedestrianised street, Dlugi Targ. It is directly opposite an international chain hotel which, when I booked, was charging double the rate I paid here. The hotel is accessed through a door on the right-hand side of a restaurant called the Flying Dutchman [Latajacy Holender] and the reception is on the first floor. There is a lift.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful and the rooms modern, clean and bright with big windows and high ceilings. The public areas too were tastefully decorated throughout with details from Hans Memling’s masterpiece ‘The Last Judgement’ dotted around the hotel - giving a very local flavour to the hotel. [The painting itself is on permanent display at the Gdansk branch of the National Museum, ten minutes walk from the hotel].

Stepping out of the hotel you are a Zloty’s throw from the Neptune Fountain and the waterfront. There are numerous bars and restaurants close by on Dlugi Targ itself and in the surrounding streets. It’s about a 20 minute walk to the Monument to the Fallen Shipyard Workers and the next door Roads to Freedom [Solidarity] exhibition but everything else you might want to see is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. If you want to travel further afield the main railway station is about 10-15 minutes away. It seems there is also a ferry in summer that will take you over to Westerplatte if you’re a Second World War history buff.

All in all a great little hotel in a superb location. Great staff on the 24 hour reception who arranged for me to collect a packed lunch instead of breakfast on the day of my very early morning departure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I was placed in this hotel by Staypoland as my first choice was fully booked. What a result !!! This is without doubt one of the best and friendliest hotels in Europe. I was there on business and the help from the staff in getting me to and from appointments was great. The young man in charge on the day I arrived was exceptional. Room was both clean and spacious and the bathroom 5 star.
Slap bang in the city centre and the staff could even understand my rather broad Glaswegian accent. You must also try the Gdansk fish soup.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieDog_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Artus
Hotel Artus
#28 of 84 in Gdansk
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.5 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#27 of 84 in Gdansk
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Residence Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Residence Old Town

Property: Holland House Residence Old Town
Address: Ul. Dlugi Targ 33/34, Gdansk 80-830, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#15 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holland House Residence Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is situated in the heart one of the most beautifull cities that is situated on the coast of Baltic Sea. Located on the main street of the Old Town of Dlugi Targ Street, next to the fountain of Neptune. When You will open window You will feel a unique atmosphere harbour city and Old Town that is living his own life.Holland House Residence is a place where modern times are connected with historical past. This special place allow us to grant all wishes of our guests that come to Gdansk in touristical or biznes purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holland House Residence Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland House Residence Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing