We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the very heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holland House Residence Old Town
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Together, with my sister and our respective husbands, we love to have quality time together, whenever we can,especially that we live continents apart, Australia/Europe.
This time we chose the Tricity. We drove to Gdansk by car (4hrs aprox from Warsaw) and booked this hotel via internet, well, my sister did to surprise my Dutch husband.
The first impression was great, it was the location, the second impression was great as well when we walked into the lobby with a friendly service, and the third impression was "wow, what a beautiful room"
We had a family room, but understood, it was two bedrooms with the door separating the rooms, but it wasn't the case, or though still reasonably private.
The only little thing, if you're with friends, maybe the shower/toilet challenge, as it is only in the main down stairs area, where the bedroom nr 1 and living area is situated, mind, the shower and toilet facility are separated.
If you're fussy about toiletries, I suggest you buy at the local shops, as there is just a hand soap and shower gel, all in one kind of thing, but towels are nice, thick and clean.
There is no AC, and I believe it's because of the historical value of the building, but once the windows are open, you'll get great sea breeze, you'll need a fan (which is provided by hotel) in the upper bedroom, as the ceiling is fairly low.
The interior of the hotel and the rooms are dark antique wood and very elegant and clean.
If you've booked the hotel with breakfast, there is a nice selection of cold cuts, eggs, bread, cereal, juices, etc, even take away coffee after breakfast, before you get on your way.
Our room was with the windows to the back of the hotel, and while the windows were open, one can hear the late party goers, but that's what you get for loving the "centre of attraction" and it is a full of life and fun place, with many cafeterias, restaurants and entertaining attractions.
Make sure to have a meal in the " Flying Dutchman" in the hotel, and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Difficult, considering the location, but not bad, once the windows are closed. This room has two la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grazyna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights in April, and enjoyed it very much. It is quite central, which is very convenient, and has a nice atmosphere. The staff is very friendly. There is some sort of discotheque down the street (and a Hard Rock Cafe is about to open), which can create some noise, but it didn't bother me. If you close the windows you'll hardly hear it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My mom and I stayed here 3 nights. The hotel occupies a set of antique homes and is just lovely. The location couldn't be better. It is in the heart of the old town and in walking distance to all the sights. Our view (room 305) was to the back of the hotel and the view was not fantastic, but it was very quiet. The windows are kind of neat because they can open vertically and horizontally. The room itself was good sized and clean with hard wood floors, and attractively decorated. The smallish bathroom was clean. The sun rises about 4am in the summer so it was very helpful to have nice thick curtains that blocked the early morning light. We walked from the train station to Holland house and it was a very manageable walk even for my mom who is 90. Of course she is in great shape and she says "90 is the new 70". The hotel smells just fantastic. There is a very good restaurant downstairs and the smells wafting up are delectable. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was delicious. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 305 doesn't have a great view, but it is very quiet. It has 2 twin sized beds in a good siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingShasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My parents have stayed in this hotel before, but on this trip to Gdansk we just went for an evening meal. The food was delicious, there was plenty of it and the service was great. Some people left the table next to us and even though we were close, the next time I looked across the table had been cleared and reset an we'd not seen any of the staff there, impressive!

We only had a main meal and drinks (with complimentary appetiser & liqueur) and it came to about 250zl (£50) for 4 of us.

Lovely meal and atmosphere, would return again if in Gdansk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sherbet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My mom and I came to Gdansk for 3 days and stayed at the Holland House hotel. It is in the heart of the old town of Gdansk. No cars allowed on the street in front so it's full of shops and outdoor restaurant seating. The view is spectacular. Rooms are spacious and affordable. It does get noisy at night but I wore earplugs and it worked out great. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and the stay was faultless. Staff were friendly and helpful from booking the room and airport transfer right through to check out.

Room was large, clean, and had the most beautiful view of Dlugi Targ, like opening the curtains to a fairytale every morning. Extremely comfy bed, only the stunning view got me out of it! Spacious bathroom too with great shower.

Breakfast plentiful and tasty, just right to set yourself up for a day's strolling round the city. No doubt at all that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th Floor rooms have the best view, worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took a long weekend here in April and I'm very happy that we chose Holland House Residence. The location is fantastic being right on Dlugi Targ which is itself a lovely place. The hotel is traditional yet modern with both an indoor restaurant for more formal eating and an outdoor veranda for lunch or a snack.

Our room was on the fourth floor and on the front of the hotel which I personally loved. It was a triple room and amply sized for three people. It was also kept impeccably clean. Sure there is a bit of noise from the street - both in terms of night-life and also general street bustle but for me this didn't in any way interfere with my stay. Indeed I found it nice to be immersed in this vibrant town and to throw open the window and watch the world go by was an experience that many hotels simply cannot match, certainly not in that price range.

The river is a short walk away, as is the rest of the old town which is well worth a walk around. If you are travelling further afield the number 100 bus passes right by the hotel and gives you access to the rest of the bus and tram network for 12 PLN for 24 hours.

I would struggle to suggest any way to improve this hotel. Very happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#6 of 85 in Gdansk
690 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#10 of 85 in Gdansk
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#9 of 85 in Gdansk
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Residence Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Residence Old Town

Address: Ul. Dlugi Targ 33/34, Gdansk 80-830, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#15 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £38 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holland House Residence Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is situated in the heart one of the most beautifull cities that is situated on the coast of Baltic Sea. Located on the main street of the Old Town of Dlugi Targ Street, next to the fountain of Neptune. When You will open window You will feel a unique atmosphere harbour city and Old Town that is living his own life.Holland House Residence is a place where modern times are connected with historical past. This special place allow us to grant all wishes of our guests that come to Gdansk in touristical or biznes purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holland House Residence Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland House Residence Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing