We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but limited comfort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amber
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great staff but limited comfort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Visited in summer when outside temperatures are pleasant. Unfortunately the hotel has no ventilation whatsoever, no fans and no air conditionning. If you enjoy sleeping in a sauna, you will love this hotel in July/August (our room tempetature at 2am was 26c...outside it was 17c). Hot nights means open window, means moskitos and a lot of outside noise! No coffee/tea making facility and no ironing facility in the room. No languages other than polish on TV.

I stay over 75 nights per year in hotels worldwide and unfortunately I cannot recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    49
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
26
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Outside of Old Town Gdansk but still within a walkable distance, about 20 minutes. Quiet neighborhood. Supermarket across the street. Clean, quiet rooms, some with a balcony. Nice breakfast buffet with several Polish dishes including fish dishes and sweet items. Friendly staff. All in all a very good hotel for a tourist who does not want to spend a fortune on a room but wants to sleep and eat decently.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Screenname1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This location was very central. The room was lovely and spotless with complimentary water and cherry vodka. The staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast is lovely, everything you could want. A lovely place to stay which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1234568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We used the hotel for business travel, it was important to be outside of the old town, but close enough to important places. The hotel has a big parking lot, it is situated in a quite district close to a forest, but not far away from main city life. There is a supermarket across the street. It took us 20 min. to get to the old town by feet.
The best part of the stay was the breakfast. The buffet had such a wide choice of hot and cold, savoury and sweet dishes, that I found it impossible to try everything even on a two night visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel has some great facilities, clean - modern rooms, I good quite setting not far from city centre. The spa is a great and has good quality equipment. Would certainly recommend this hotel for the business traveller or tourist.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank foxberance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Normal hotel, rooms are not big. We lived in the room on two, a room was rather small. There was 2 beds for one person, table, wardrobe and it was all. The bed closes were enough old, you can find spots from previous guests. But don't be afraid all is not so bad.
The hotel is not near center, so we bought ticket for public transport which cost 28 zl for 3 days and transfer ourself to center and to the sea. Baltic is sea so beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBedronka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had 3 nights at The Amber with no problems at all. The food in their restaurant is excellent & good value. The staff are lovely & helpful. Our room was large & clean, downsides were lack of drawers & pillows not good. We were there for a wedding which went on till 3.30 am Sunday morning! Apparently they have a lot of weddings so if you aren't invited to one & don't like noise late at night, then you should check beforehand if there are any.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G00nerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#47 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beethoven
Hotel Beethoven
#36 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Impresja
Hotel Impresja
#35 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#16 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
GryfHotel
GryfHotel
#34 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gotyk House
Gotyk House
#26 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amber

Property: Hotel Amber
Address: ul. Powstancow Warszawskich 45, Gdansk 80-165, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amber 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing